We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's very difficult to be original about this restaurant as it's all been said in the reviews that I read prior to going. Nothing to fault it and the food is simply wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    28
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved the location on the Antigua Slipway. You are sitting right on the water and there's a gentle breeze. Add to that an excellent French menu, and I was happy as a clam. The Salad Nicoise was very, very good -- warm, grilled, fresh tuna -- none of that canned stuff.

Our service was also great, very attentive. The only glitch, which is actually pretty funny in retrospect, is that we got there a little early for lunch. The ad we saw said that they opened at 11:00 for lunch. We arrived about 11:30. There was a large table of people out front who were eating when we arrived. They turned out to be the wait staff. We were seated right away, but the manager said we couldn't order until 12:00. It was not a problem because it was such a lovely place to just sit and watch the boats, but it seemed kind of silly that we had to wait for the restaurant to feed the wait staff before we could order.

I recommend you try it -- after 12:00!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A real treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent food - particularly fish, and great grilled lobsters. Claudine and Guillaume are great hosts. Good wine list. Overall, not cheap, but not over-priced. Perfect for either lunch or dinner. Best to book as it gets very busy. Get a water taxi over from Nelson's Dockyard., though you may need to check whether it is running when you are there. Apparently the restaurant is moving at some stage from English Harbour to Pigeon Point, but that should not prevent you from seeking them out...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location - amazing food - service with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the best waterside locations in the Caribbean! Food is fantastically French - absolutely delicious. Great buzz and charming staff - well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed near by at Galleon Beach and came to Catherine's for lunch twice and dinner on the Wednesday jazz night. The place is in a fantastic position opposite Nelsons Dockyard with boats of all shapes and sizes coming and going. Food was fantastic - all four of us enjoyed every course. Staff however make the place. Attentive, fun ready to chat if you want to. A real asset to the place.

Sadly we heard they may need to relocate soon. Hope they find a good location and we will follow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.