We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, great location, friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bolney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great location, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We returned to Catherine's Cafe for the first time in 3 years. Greeted like long lost friends. Excellent food - fresh Mahi Mahi always good, as is Salidou mouse. The Rosé 'Minuty' great value - perfect for a leisurely lunch.
Can't fault it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hard to know what to say, really, other than this restaurant deserves a Michelin star. Quite exceptional in all respects.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss at Nelson's Dockyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

"This is a happy restaurant," my wife said. "Everybody is very happy here!"
We were strolling on the quay, gawking at the trophy yachts when we got to Catherine's and yes, every table seemed to be having a very good time. Catherine is in the middle of it all, going table to table with the menu on a chalkboard and plenty of Gallic charm.
Menu has the French bistro standards with generous helpings of Caribbean spiny lobster--lobster soup, lobster cakes, lobster salad. The soup was creamy and foamy with excellent flavor. Tartiflette is a little individual version of quiche with a layer of gratin potatoes beneath the eggs and bacon, again excellent. You see where I'm headed, lots of reasons to be happy at Catherine's.
Loved the tarte tatin, the true classic, crunchy puff pastry and warm apples topped with vanilla bean ice cream.
A big storm broke out while we were eating, torrential rain pounding the bay but by the time we were done the sun was back out and we headed for the beach. It's never bad for long around here it seems.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

So it may have been that we were on our last night, but honestly I think it was the best meal we had during our stay! Lobster risotto, yum! Only downside was the extremely long wait for our check at the end of our meal while they experienced a rush. Certainly not enough to keep us from returning though!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just returned home from having a delightful Sunday lunch at Catherine's. a truly memorable meal.
Starter of Prawns with a stunning Mango dip..Mains Lamb Shank....delicious. Pud was a Choc Volcano....amazing... Washed down with a bottle or two of Rosé. Stunning location.. Overlooking the Super Yachts in English Harbour what more can a girl ask for....
It lives up to its reputation. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.