We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
English harbour
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very French great position an asset to antigua . Everything is fresh . charming fun waitresses . Consistent better than anything I have been to in Barbados

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    139
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Water Side lunches/dining at Catherines on Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited Catherine's many times during our stay- for the stunning waterfront location on English Harbour, the best lobster risotto we've ever tasted (all the food we tried was superb), an excellent french rose and the warmest of welcomes from Catherine, Guillaume and the girls. It is exceptional in every way- a must if you are on Antigua.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We always make a point of having lunch here on regular visits to Antigua and it never disappoints. The food and service is excellent, and the location exceptional - though the addition of bar next door does distract. Main surprise for a waterfront restaurant is that there are more meat dishes than fish on the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryanblaw
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, pretty good food, INCREDIBLY slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Definitely worth a visit just for the location. The food itself was pretty good, but not overly memorable. We had 2 appetizers, 4 main dishes, and 2 desserts and nothing was either amazing or bad. The lunch did take about 3 hours though. While in part due to us relaxing, our waitress would disappear for long stretches of time (we noticed other tables looking around for their servers, as well). Should give it a try. We went for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited Antigua for most of October and November last year, and this was my favourite restaurant.
There was no reason in particular for this. It was a lovely combination of the very personal service, fantastic food, and gorgeous scenery that made it such a special experience every time I dined there.
Guillaume, Claudine and Natasha remembered me from my voice when I called asking for directions, and every time after when I called to make reservations. They were always very friendly and attentive with the service, without being overbearing.
The food... everything I had was lovely. The fish of the day was always excellent, and don't get me started on the passion fruit creme brulee.... Divine!
The place is not cheap, but it is worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Mamora Bay, Saint Paul Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.