We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a great lunch here - it was small (we only had salads), but they were incredibly well done with all kinds of fruit and veg and it was obvious a lot of time and effort had gone into them. I had the parma ham (delicious) and my partner had the lobster, which was also very good.

It's in a great spot, right on the water (getting a water taxi to drop you off at the restaurant is a fun novelty!) and it's easy to sit here and enjoy the views and ambience over a few drinks, as we did. There's also a beach right around the corner, which you can take a water taxi to for 5 EC and it's beautiful.

The service was great - everyone was super friendly, welcoming and chatty - almost like they were hosting a dinner party rather than running a restaurant! Our waitress even hugged me goodbye!

Day on the beach plus lunch at Catherine's....perfect afternoon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    26
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Doesn't happen often but this was an occasion where I would not have change a thing about my meal.
Every course was just perfect, size, flavours, quality of the ingredients and just the right amount of seasoning.
The owners greet you as if you are old friends with genuine warmth and great attention.

A real treat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Catherine's cafe was recommended by every single person we asked and they all said it was the only place to go! The setting is very attractive and we were all delighted with our food choices. My starter of asparagus with a crispy egg was unusual and yummy. I had lobster risotto and they don't scrimp on the lobster, but the chocolate volcano for dessert was very special....be sure to try it if you visit this restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was laid back. Prices were fair for the high standard of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A certain Je Ne C'est Qois”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a complete gem of a restaurant that even with wonderful food, friendly staff, superb location and charming owners still delivers more than the sum of it's parts. The owners, Catherine and Guillame even remembered us from one visit back in February! We were there just before the season really gets started and didn't have to book but I imagine that from this weekend you will need to....don't miss out as sadly this may be their last season due to problems with the landlord. This will be a terrible loss to Antiguan cuisine and we can only hope that they find an alternative location for our next visit. Merci beaucoup et Salut.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The scenery, the food, the ambiance, the service - what more could one say. The menu is relatively small but everything superb, this is a visit to remember.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Mamora Bay, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.