We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The scenery, the food, the ambiance, the service - what more could one say. The menu is relatively small but everything superb, this is a visit to remember.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    34
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location, food and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Recently back from a wonderful holiday in Antigua and whilst there had occasion to have lunch at Catherine's Cafe. Had read about beforehand and we were not disappointed.
This is a gem of a place. We arrived by water taxi and were given a lovely welcome by the owners.
The food was to die for and would probably be worthy of a Michelin star in the UK. It's pricey but worth it. We had 3 courses, 2 bottles of wine and 2 bottles of water for approx £100.
We were there during Antigua sailing week and spent a wonderful 2 1/2 hours watching the yachts going in and out and also the pelicans diving for fish.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good Lunch...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went here for lunch one afternoon as we were out touring the island. We decided to go here as we did a tour the previous day and they mentioned how good the place was. I also looked them up on TA to confirm so we put it into our planner. We walked up at about 12:10 and asked the girl if we could have a table for 2. She looked at us and asked if we had a reservation and I said no. This is a fair enough question, but when she looked at us blank stared and then kind of fumbled for a sec, then went in to talk to someone about it, it put a sour taste in my mouth. Why? Because there was only 1 person in the entire restaurant. She came back and said she could seat us (I hope so! but benefit of the doubt, maybe they have 100 people coming in half an hour). We sat down and ordered some drinks and took a look at the menu which they had written on a chalk board (cute). We placed our orders. I had the Lobster salad which was excellent. It had melon balls, some vegetable and a large piece of fresh lobster tail on the top. Very, very good. My partner had the Quiche of the day which was salt cod. It too was excellent. Even the side salad that came with it was very good. The prices where reasonable for what you received. I believe we paid about $80US for 2 glasses of wine, sparkling water, two entrees with tax and tip.
As we ate there was about 2 groups that were seated about 6 to 8 per group. They were loud, but seemed to be regulars as they knew the owners. I watched as a few more couples or small families walk up and ask for a table and they as well, not having a reservation got a bit of a snooty look but were also seated. I make a point of trying the best restaurants at every place I travel too, but this was the first time I felt like I was inconveniencing someone. Though, maybe it was just an off day. If you enjoy good food with a beautiful view of the fort, harbor and some amazing boats, I would recommend but hopefully it doesn't come with a poor attitude.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A wonderful setting in English Harbour beside the water with the odd yacht 'parking" to drop folks off for their meal. Owned by friendly Guilluame and Catherine who buy their veg in the farmer's market (saw Guilluame there) and they are beautifully cooked. French and antiguan cuisine. Great choice of food , beautifully cooked to perfection, good service and good value for quality food. One of the best meals on Antigua. Love the decor and whilst the clean toilet is round at the side it is surrounded by beautiful flowers and plants. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently had lunch at Catherine's. The menu was a mix of French/ Antiguan offerings.
I had a lobster salad that was beautifully presented with tons of fruits & veggies under the lobster pieces. We also enjoyed a croque monsieur and duck breast- both delicieux!
The wait staff was warm, welcoming and informative. We will definitely dine at Catherine's next time we are in Antigua!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.