We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Update restaurant details
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A wonderful setting in English Harbour beside the water with the odd yacht 'parking" to drop folks off for their meal. Owned by friendly Guilluame and Catherine who buy their veg in the farmer's market (saw Guilluame there) and they are beautifully cooked. French and antiguan cuisine. Great choice of food , beautifully cooked to perfection, good service and good value for quality food. One of the best meals on Antigua. Love the decor and whilst the clean toilet is round at the side it is surrounded by beautiful flowers and plants. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    128
    23
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently had lunch at Catherine's. The menu was a mix of French/ Antiguan offerings.
I had a lobster salad that was beautifully presented with tons of fruits & veggies under the lobster pieces. We also enjoyed a croque monsieur and duck breast- both delicieux!
The wait staff was warm, welcoming and informative. We will definitely dine at Catherine's next time we are in Antigua!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place to eat on the island jazz nights are fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Food is terriffic. views are the best . Service first rate

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a place...setting, food, great wine, but the TEAM looking after you make it so special...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Went here for my beloved's Special 40th Birthday lunch....right from the minute I booked our table of four people the feeling was 'special'...not flash, not overbearing 'special' is the best word..!!! Staff great, setting just stunning, food was fresh, beautifully seasoned, perfect portions, lovely variation and some of the best Cotes de Provence Rose I have ever had....the birthday girl had a magical time culminating in the WHOLE place clapping and singing Stevie Wonder 'Happy Birthday' would recommend this gem to all who take the time to head out of the 'All Inclusive' rut you can easily get stuck in...a trip here will absoloutely make your holiday and fill you with the emotions you crave from a great holiday...thank you to Catherine's for the memories 'Special'

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is amazing, the Lobster Risotto has been mentioned in a number of reviews - for good reason. fantastic!!!!
Do make the effort to visit, it is an amazing place. The food is amazing, the owners and the staff make you feel very special and the location is one of the best on the island. Do book, I think it is only open in the evening on Wednesday & Friday, but do check. Worth returning to Antigua for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.