We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great food, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently had lunch at Catherine's. The menu was a mix of French/ Antiguan offerings.
I had a lobster salad that was beautifully presented with tons of fruits & veggies under the lobster pieces. We also enjoyed a croque monsieur and duck breast- both delicieux!
The wait staff was warm, welcoming and informative. We will definitely dine at Catherine's next time we are in Antigua!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    139
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place to eat on the island jazz nights are fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Food is terriffic. views are the best . Service first rate

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a place...setting, food, great wine, but the TEAM looking after you make it so special...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Went here for my beloved's Special 40th Birthday lunch....right from the minute I booked our table of four people the feeling was 'special'...not flash, not overbearing 'special' is the best word..!!! Staff great, setting just stunning, food was fresh, beautifully seasoned, perfect portions, lovely variation and some of the best Cotes de Provence Rose I have ever had....the birthday girl had a magical time culminating in the WHOLE place clapping and singing Stevie Wonder 'Happy Birthday' would recommend this gem to all who take the time to head out of the 'All Inclusive' rut you can easily get stuck in...a trip here will absoloutely make your holiday and fill you with the emotions you crave from a great holiday...thank you to Catherine's for the memories 'Special'

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is amazing, the Lobster Risotto has been mentioned in a number of reviews - for good reason. fantastic!!!!
Do make the effort to visit, it is an amazing place. The food is amazing, the owners and the staff make you feel very special and the location is one of the best on the island. Do book, I think it is only open in the evening on Wednesday & Friday, but do check. Worth returning to Antigua for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, amazing food, charming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Vital to book here, but so worth a visit, beautiful location right on the water, you can arrive by boat, really charming staff who are fun a friendly and make you feel relaxed and at home.

I had the lobster risotto which was really delicious, and the tarte tatin was the best I have ever had (and I have had a few!!!) The place just has a lovely feel and intoxicating after a glass of very good wine, it was full of people enjoying it as much as we were!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Mamora Bay, Saint Paul Parish
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.