We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel in the heart of the old Dockyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Admiral's Inn

Save Saved
You added The Admiral's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Admiral's Inn
Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% OFF BOOK DIRECT
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Character hotel in the heart of the old Dockyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pros: Great location and character hotel. Surprisingly good food. Friendly staff.

Cons: Rooms perhaps a little tired (depending on your view could add to the character!)

For a mid-price Carribean hotel this offers a great location in an absolutely charming character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard.

The rooms are what you would expect for the price. The food in the restaurant (we were one of 2 couples dining at end of season) was actually really nice - they created a menu for us and did a great job of drumming up some lovely food from what was left in the stores I think!

Staff very friendly.

If you want a convenient location, character building in the heart of Nelsons Dockyard for a mid-range price I don't think it could be beat.

Room Tip: Some look out over the harbour (rather than the road) so I'd request a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
44
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Admiral’s Inn was a warm and welcoming place as soon as I arrived to the premises. From the Security staff at the front gate to the guest check-in everything is very organized but in a laid back sense. Typically that would mean inefficiency any lengthy processes but not here; it was chill, efficient and pleasant. The entrance of the site has a “market” that is selling T-shirts and knick-knacks and the check-in counter is located in the restaurant/bar area. That is a wonderful place to hang out, grab a drink and socialize.

The rooms I booked was a wonderful spacious loft which had a common sitting area and mini-kitchen (fridge, kettle and sink). The room was very nice, had high ceilings, bug net over the bed and a beautiful washroom. The hotel also has free wifi, which is always great for us travelers that want to connect our cellphone and laptops. The docks on the compound are also full of sailing yachts and you get a real sense and connected flavor of the people who are here. A very welcoming group!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had 2 nights at the end of our holiday in Antigua and stayed at the 260 years old Inn,For something so old the bedrooms were comfortable but basic,The Staff were very friendly and couldn`t do enough.The restaurant was excellent and worth a visit even if you are not staying there.Great position in the historic Nelsons dockyard with wonderful boats and surrounded by good restaurants.The hotel is always looking to improve,its not flash but very nice

Room Tip: room 1 a corner room with good views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My last experience (3 years ago) was of two full days with no running water, only huge plastic containers and using a plastic glass to shower. This 4 night visit made up for it, and more! Telling of my past experience we were instantly upgraded, landing us in a spacious elegantly furnished room very up-to-date, and with a lovely bath. The restaurant offered some fine dining: when you go, try the chef's tasting menu! The location is excellent, you need to walk a bit to get to Pidgeon Beach, my favourite, but when you see it, and amaze at the lack of people there..Needless to say, yachts are all around you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here so much that we came back a second evening. The setting is lovely, among the old buildings of Nelson's Dockyard, the service was attentive and the delicious, Asian inspired food was memorable. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at Loft 3. It was perfect! Most of the time I had the entire house just for myself!! There is a huge dining area and very comfortable living area with couches and tables. The view from the terrace is stunning! It overlooks the Harbour. The room itself is quite spacious, cozy and clean. Free wifi with good speed is available almost at any area including the room.

The location is very nice. It's beautiful and historic, a bit far from the best beaches, but it's not a big problem if you rent a car. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within the walking distance.

The staff was extremely helpful,especially Kemlin. Whenever I needed smth I got it in a moment. And I needed a lot, because of some business emergencies.

The only thing I did not like was the menu in a restaurant. It's not vegetarian friendly. The only vegetarian dish is a garden salad. But the cook can prepare almost anything you'd like off the menu.

The atmosphere was just right. Everyone looked happy and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent five days / four nights at the Admiral's Inn. It was a GREAT experience and we cannot wait to return. Here are all the pros and cons of the entire experience: PROs: (1) the Admiral's Inn is perfectly located on the water in English Harbor. It's a quaint old building which feels more like a B&B than all of the mega resorts on the island. Tons of charm. Not at all cookie cutter. (2) the service was FANTASTIC. The entire staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Anything we needed was promptly attended to (reservations, arranging water taxis and excursions, directions, coffee, etc). Kemlin (one of the women who mans the front desk) was particularly helpful. (3) at ~$200/night, our room (room 1) was a fantastic value relative to the mega-resorts which cost +$1,000/night. (4) they're constructing a pool nearby which will be a great addition overlooking the harbor when complete. CONs: (1) there aren't any windows, only screened-in shutters. This did not bother us at all (AC still worked great) although light sleepers won't like the noise on a Saturday nights when some of the neighboring restaurants play music later in the evening (2) the beds and the bathrooms could be upgraded, but then they'd probably charge a lot more (3) you can get to two very nice nearby beaches easily enough, but you'll probably want a rental car to get around the island.

Overall, we would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Admiral's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral's Inn

Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
The Admiral's Inn Antigua/English Harbour
Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Admiral's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Admiral's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.