We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, feel very ripped off, dont stay just visit to see dock!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Admiral's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Admiral's Inn to your Saves list
The Admiral's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5% OFF IF YOU BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service, feel very ripped off, dont stay just visit to see dock!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We decided to pay a little extra and have one night at a nicer hotel in Antigua before my fiance started back at work on a yacht again.

I regret ever having spent the money which is very sad, I walked into the hotel and it does have a nice setting but we were told that there were only superior rooms left. We had to pay upfront and then were taken out to what they call 'the annex' basically an add on to the main hotel. The rooms feel FAR from superior, dusty and there was a dead lizard on our window sill which had been there for a long time. There were also two single beds, when I asked for a double room and they were promptly pushed together, not ideal.

It said on the website the only upgrade to a superior room is air conditioning and a phone, we had no phone and we came back from a night out and the air conditioning after a long time trying just blew out hot air. There was no one around and no phone to ring to correct this. After an uncomfortable night on a lumpy hard bed, no hot water for my shower in the morning and a very slow and average breakfast (not included and very expensive) we approached the desk staff about the air con, she said no discount can be given as the manager was not in, but come back tomorrow - no apology. We came back the next day, the manager would not even come and speak to us and she offered a 10% discount.

If this was a fair and respectable hotel they would have given me a refund to a basic room price. They also said the remote to the air con was broken but this did not help us the next day!! We spoke to the lovely manager of the anchorage inn down the road and she said one of her employees used to work at the admirals inn and the air-con frequently didn't work and they were dishonest about it to customers.
My advice DO NOT stay here just go for a walk round and drink to enjoy the view, then leave, as you may end up paying a lot for very little, sadly the people running the inn are ruining what is a beautiful and historical place just to make a bit more money, and they have taken away all the charm!!
I really wish things had turned out differently and we could have enjoyed our stay, and even just an apology would go along way.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room is in the main building because if it is not dont pay as you may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
70
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our stay at the Admiral's Inn was a great way to end our Antigua/ Barbuda vacation. We stayed for one night in superior room number #1 which looked right out upon Nelson's Harbor and the dockyard. The room was comfortable and we could not have asked for a better location. The staff also provided great service, especially when it came time for our departure. We had planned to have a preflight lunch at Cecilia's Cafe. The staff arranged for us to arrive at the airport at the earliest check in time and then suggested that we pay our departure tax before heading to lunch. It was a great idea because we had a delicious and relaxing lunch and didn't have to waste time sitting in the airport.

The inn also provides a complimentary boat shuttle which we used to go to Catherine's Cafe for lunch. This is an absolute must, but reservations are essential.

We also walked the 15 minute trip to the fort, toured the museum and took a taxi for the Shirley Heights view. All in all, a great way to end our trip.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a corner room in the old building with great views. It's can be a little noisey, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night out of our 5 days in Antigua in mid January. We wanted to explore southern part of the island on day 1 of our trip for which we chose to stay here. I read some negative comments about the inn on Tripadvisor so was doubtful about how the experience is going to be. But we took a chance since this looked the most promising out of the choices near English Harbor. We had the day kind of planned out so wasnt worried much about the hotel for that day. But to my pleasant surprise Admiral's inn charmed us from the time we arrived to the checkout. We felt instantly at home when we arrived. After we checked in we cancelled some activities and stayed in instead. We got Room #1 ($220) which is situated above the reception outlooking the marina. The hotel is truly beautiful inside and out. The room was cozy, comfortable, airy(dont need AC), and transports you to the colonial era. The building is historic and the location is superb. Its a photographer's delight. Its 15 min drive to Shirley heights($8 entry fee) which is a must see place. The restaurants in the little market place outside Admiral's inn are worth a try. Good local flavors and are cheaper than the onsite restaurant menu.

My husband and I stayed the following 3 nights in the best available suite in Galley Bay resort ($900/night). Though Galley Bay had all the luxuries we could ask for, we'd prefer to stay at Admirals inn next time we are in Antigua. Its great value for money.

Note: If you rent a car and plan to drive from the airport, set aside atleast 1.5 hours to drive from airport to this hotel. Not Admiral's inn's fault. but there are no road signs. The traffic near airport was very bad at 3:30pm plus, we had to ask for directions every half kilometer, took a few wrong turns. No complaints though. The people on the streets are very helpful and warm. Loved driving and exploring along the way. If you are a cricket fan, you can catch a match at Viv Richards Stadium which is 3-4 kms from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was the third time I had stayed at the Admiral's Inn after a sailing trip but the first since the refurbishment and. I think, new management. I had booked a Superior Room without realising this was not in the main building....this turned out to be a mistake. Within minutes of entering the room I had a number of mosquito bites on the lower legs and asked for the room to be sprayed which in fairness was done quite quickly.

In the light of the morning, I relised the room was very dusty and couldn't have been used for sometime...obviously encouraging insects. On checking out I mentioned this to the guy on Reception and to my amazement he said "It was clean when you occupied it yesterday".

Unbelievable but I still like Admirals Inn...it is very comfortable, previously the staff have been great and a long lunch outside overlooking the quiet end of the marina is a good experience.

Room Tip: Get the best room in the main building as the Superior rooms outside are definately not superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night after 2 weeks in the British Virgin Island. We were looking for a small charming residence, rather that staying in an airport hotel - we will choose the airport next time.

After arranging all the details with the hotel we thought that all should go smoothly - how wrong we were.

There was no collection at the airport and when we arrived their was no receptionist either. On arrival we were handed an envelope by the maintenance man (who was very pleasent but seemed embarassed by what he was doing). Inside the envelope was information on where we were able to get breakfast, lunch and dinner - we were hoping to eat at the hotel.

We had arranged for a room with easy access, but had to go up 12 steps? to get to ours and inside the room there was only a jug of water, no other drinks facilities. The bathroom was very small and difficult to access. The bedroom was clean and spacious but very old and in need of renovating desperately.

We went out for both lunch and dinner and on our arrival to the residence there was never anyone available apart from the maintenance man.

We did meet the manager the following day at 2:30pm who made no effort to apologise or advise us on why the restaurant and bar were closed with all the furniture piled high and she didn't seem interested when we complained about our transfers that she should have arranged.

The rest of the facilities and people around the area were charming, just not The Admirals Inn. We have stayed at hotels where they were renovating but were informed prior to our booking. If we had known the Inn had no facilities or staff we would not have booked and would not have been dissapointed. We feel sorry for Antigua as this type of service will make other travellers choose other islands.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Anyone with the slightest penchant for romance, nostalgia, the atmosphere of times past will love the Admirals Inn. I last was here in 1987 and little has changed. A new sweet efficient and welcoming recoptionist - Sasha. Some improvements to bathroom. Otherwise same gorgeous inn I have always loved. Grand Hyatt it is not. Bedrooms good size but vaguely reminiscent of university halls. Unique position and great food - German chef who cooked at Kronen Halle in Zurich.
Visit in November just the best, quiet, perfect temperature with a breeze just sublime

Room Tip: No pool but beaches all around you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

On arrival no reception,bar or restaurant throughout the last two weeks of October 2011.
No hot water the first week and intermittent cold water accomodated in the 'loft'
Told on arrival that the hotel was nominally closed but reservation had ben accepted, a building site for renovation work commencing around 0600 each morning including Sundays and garden machinery. Spoilt what should have been a memorable stay with general indifference apart from the chamber maids efforts. One of many trips when it was nice to leave even returning to inclement weather.

Room Tip: the late season apparently starts the first week in November, facilities in October rather sparse th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Admiral's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral's Inn

Address: Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Admiral's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral`s Hotel Nelson`s Dockyard National Park
The Admiral's Inn Antigua/English Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Admiral's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.