We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night of music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Heights

Shirley Heights
English Harbour, Antigua
268 460-1785
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Shirley Heights like an insider
Top Rated
$71*
and up
Round Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hills overlooking the Dockyard on the east, named after the governor who built the fortifications.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
541 helpful votes 541 helpful votes
“Great night of music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We travelled 45 minutes from the Halcyon Cove to Shirley Heights to see for ourselves what everyone was talking about. When the mini-bus taxi drops you off you have to pay a small admission fee to enter. Once inside we experienced a big crowd enjoying spectacular views of English Harbour and Nelsons Dockyard. There is plenty of BBQ food on offer and prices are very reasonable. Drinks are a plenty and are also priced about right. Once the sun set at 1800 the music dominated the area and the steel bands and reggie bands really entertained. We loved our evening at Shirley Heights and we can now tick it off our "bucket list".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    244
    104
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorgues, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An Antiguan essential!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

You will witness one of the world's greatest sunsets! The steel band music playing live is always a reliable treat, and it's hard to fault the rum punch. We've been here before on previous visits, and this time the food was tasty, but a little over-cooked.
Still! The views over Antigua, specifically Falmouth and English Harbours, is breathtaking!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“spectacular view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view down to English Harbour and Nelsons Dockyard is great. The sunday evening spectacular has great bands, but the drinks prices were inflated and seemed only to have Beer, wine or canned drinks. They did not seem to want to make up other drinks or give soft drinks

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday night fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Worth doing for the rum punch & steel band however this is purely tourists shipped in by most hotels on the island! It's fun but expansive for local food & drinks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Live music and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Like a ritual we go to the well known Sunday night of live music, food and drinks at Shirley Heights every time we visit Antigua. It never gets old especially with the music like steel drums and Reggae and the views are amazing. Plan on getting there by 5pm to relax, watch the sunset and famous "green flash". After all it is a small island to look for new entertainment every time even if it seems like a tourist trap. The drive is scenic as you get up the hill but does take an hour from other areas on the island if you are not staying locally. Get a cab if you plan to drink but the drivers may limit their wait to 3 hours and charge 40+ USD. We usually drive ourselves but always get lost once and get friendly local help but I would not advise this for the less adventurous if not familiar with island driving. Also, watch the road for potholes and hazards as we also got flats many times (reminder to carry flashlight and check spare and tools).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Heights also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Shirley Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.