We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo hot spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Heights

Shirley Heights
English Harbour, Antigua
268 460-1785
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$71*
and up
Round Island Tour
Type: Historic Sites, Lookouts, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hills overlooking the Dockyard on the east, named after the governor who built the fortifications.
Flushing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Photo hot spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nelsons Dockyard is a historical British Naval base. If you are into history or sailing this is the place for you. We have visited several times and there is always amazing boats docked near the small bar. You can have lunch or hang at the bar and just watch. Don't forget to sign your name on the ceiling. Very relaxed atmosphere. Shirley Heights is a historic fort. Well worth the $8 fee for both sites. It is great for learning about the island history but also a fabulous place for photography. If you are a shutter bug this is a "can't miss"! It over looks many harbors, the ocean and even Eric Clapton's house. On Sunday afternoons a band and bar-b-que is at "the lookout". Also stop into the Salty Dog between Nelsons and Shirley Heights. Relaxed bar with music and a great view of the harbor. And on your way back stop into Falmouth Harbor to check out the home of sailing week. This is where the big boys live!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    174
    76
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great view and fun short hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We hiked up from Galleon beach (I think the trail was called the Edmund trail). It was a fun and slightly challenging short hike on a fairly narrow trail. What a view at the top! We got to the top in mid-afternoon on a Tuesday and the place was basically empty. Fortunately the restaurant was open as we were hungry. Unfortunately, the chicken burger was terrible - but we were hungry enough it didn't matter.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“'Shirley' You Avoided Sunday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I didn't want to give this less than an average review because I could tell this would have been a nice place to visit. We got there (10-15 minute taxi) at near sunset, well into the rain, and well after several hundred people took the fifty seats and shelter available. The views were incredible. The music sounded good as well did the food. Unfortunately, after five minutes of bumper-to-bumper people in total darkness on a cliff-top, we decided to taxi back to the harmony of a strip of restaurants. If I can go again, I'll go during daylight.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shirley's Heights, Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great music, good food and wonderful views. Hopefully it won't be cloudy so you can see the sunset. Stay for the steel drum band and then the local band afterwards.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hazey sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Shirley's hieghts was a very nice look out, unfortunately the Sunday night we went it was a bit hazey so the sunset wasn't that spectacular (no fault of the location, mother nature is what it is). The steel drum band was nice but after about 5PM it became very crowded and the picnic table seating is a bit limited but all in all a worth while trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Heights also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Shirley Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.