We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hazey sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Heights

Shirley Heights
English Harbour, Antigua
268 460-1785
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Lookouts, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hills overlooking the Dockyard on the east, named after the governor who built the fortifications.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hazey sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Shirley's hieghts was a very nice look out, unfortunately the Sunday night we went it was a bit hazey so the sunset wasn't that spectacular (no fault of the location, mother nature is what it is). The steel drum band was nice but after about 5PM it became very crowded and the picnic table seating is a bit limited but all in all a worth while trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    141
    63
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great views over Nelson's dockyard and Falmouth, unless you like large crowds avoid the Sunday evening trip, although the Bar BQ was not bad, difficult to find a seat, there were long que's for drinks, go during the week and you have the views almost to yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The view alone is worth it! It's very warm up there - take a hat! We were told there is a great gathering every Sunday evening with bands, etc, but we couldn't make that work with our schedule. Maybe next time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The view is spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only made it for sunset once and it was quite crowded and the sunset was blocked by clouds. We did return here during the day and the view is spectacular. The restaurant serves good bbq chicken (not on the menu but if you order it, they have it). It was a wonderful spot to sit and relax and have a meal. I think I would have prefered the quieter Thursday party had I known Sunday wasn't the only option. Fee is now $8 US for entry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can go on Sunday or Thursday. Sunday is crowded but great fun. Thursday is quieter but just as wonderful. You will always remember the sunset and the rum punch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Heights also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Shirley Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shirley Heights to your Saves list