We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at English Harbour

Save Saved
You added The Inn at English Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in English Harbour
somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband Glen and I stayed for 8 nights at the Inn at the end of June to celebrate his 50th birthday and treat ourselves to a second honeymoon.

From the moment I made my first enquiry via email I was impressed by the level of customer service. The delightful Sherma answered all my questions promptly (and I asked a lot of questions) and helped me decide on the package that would best suit our needs.

We opted for the all inclusive package because we were in need of total rest and relaxation, which for us means not having to worry about restaurant reservations and endless taxis.

We made a good choice. The standard of food at both the terrace and Reef restaurant were incredibly high and the settings so magical that it would have been a wrench to tear ourselves away for a moment!

On arrival we were offered cold drinks on the restaurant terrace whilst enjoying stunning views of the resort and beach below, I was utterly entranced by the beauty of everything.

Sadly Sherma was away and unable to check us in, but she had left us a wonderful surprise in the form of an upgrade to a deluxe room!

Glen and I have travelled extensively and stayed in some iconic hotels, but this was the most sumptuous room we had ever seen. It combined colonial style with modern day luxury, and if the beach hadn't been so inviting we might have spent the whole holiday in the four poster bed! My favourite part of the room was without doubt the balcony. It was huge and the perfect place to admire the grounds and the gentle curve of the beach.

Following a delicious relaxed breakfast by the waters edge we would retire to a comfortable bed on the beach and contemplate when it would be acceptable to order our first cocktail (it got earlier each day!) and whether or not we should opt for the Pina Colada or the Mojito!

The beach was a quiet oasis, no music blasting here, no children, no locals selling their wares, just the sound of the waves....... bliss!

What sets the Inn head and shoulders above other hotels in the Caribbean is the staff. All were, without exception friendly and helpful, but I would particularly like to thank Misha, Shelley and Neil for making Glens' birthday so special, and Christina for organising a sailing trip on his big day that he will never forget!

The Inn is Italian owned and run, meaning guests get the best of both worlds: the Antiguan hospitality combined with European style and attention to detail. Fabio the general manager seems to have perfected that difficult blend of being seemingly laid back whilst ensuring he has the respect of the staff, who go out of their way to make every guest feel special.

The Inn isn't cheap, but it is great value for money. The eight blissful days passed way too quickly and though I returned home relaxed and invigorated, with a treasure trove of magical memories, it broke my heart to leave. We have vowed to return again because once you have had a glimpse of paradise its hard to settle for anything less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    33
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
156
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here during the last week of August 2013, just prior to the hotel closing for the off-season. What a fantastic place! The setting is beautiful, with a white sand beach with azure sea and excellent snorkelling opportunities, spectacular views of the bay, and immaculately kept grounds and tasteful rooms and amenities.

Food- really excellent, with a varied dinner menu (we did not have lunch but instead chose to use our half-board option for breakfast and dinner) which was wholly impressive. During our stay, we had not one but two different head chefs, both with different styles. Food is generally Italian influenced, with a great variety of meat and fish dishes. If there was one suggestion we could make, it would be to default to serving ground coffee at breakfast - sometimes we received instant; perfectly acceptable but not quite the rocket fuel that two coffee lovers need!

Staff- excellent as well, very attentive and really nothing was too much trouble. Of particular note was the service from Wesley - a real gem who made our stay very special. We had the pleasure also of the company of the general manager, Fabio, and the marketing manager as well, both of whom were welcoming, cordial, and enquired every day whether everything was to our liking. Fabio, please pass our best to one of your jewels in the crown staff, Wesley!

Rooms- we opted for a junior suite, which it should be noted was not a suite, but rather one very large, tastefully decorated and furnished haven with a lovely vaulted ceiling. It became an additional place of serenity and peace for us. Everything was really lovely and we can thoroughly recommend one of these rooms.

Overall, perfection for us. We can't commend this small, tranquil place highly enough. With excellent staff and attention to detail even on the very last day (when we were pretty much the last guests there), this place deserves a visit from any discerning holidaymakers who want to experience the best mix of location, food, service and luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The junior suites were fabulous - our preference is the upper floor because of the vaulted ceilings. The food and service was tremendous and the hospitality of the staff was exceptional!
This was a getaway with my wife for our 25th, and the hotel is pretty much dominated with couples getting away from it all.
Shirley Heights best view of the Harbours - English and Falmouth is spectacular and Sunday Nights live entertainment should not be missed. It is a short 5 minute taxi ride. We danced the night away to a great band - eat early at the hotel and head up as it ends around 11PM.
Christina arranged for us to participate in the Extreme circumnavigation of the island on a powerboat with a stopover at Stingray City - great day. Lunch on Green Island and the stopover at Runaway Bay were the true highlights. Seeing the Island from the water really shows its beauty.
On Friday night, we decided to forget dinner at the Inn and go and party with the locals and tourists at "Seafood Fridays" at Nelsons Dockyard. The food and music were great and then ourselves and another couple headed off to Abracadabra and danced until 2 AM - as they played all the hits from today and the past. Really enjoyed ourselves.
The Inn entertained the Prince and Princess of Monaco for 11 days at the New Year and they coined a drink after there stay - and thoroughly enjoyed "The Prince".
Great sheltered Harbour for swimming, walking the beautiful beach and tranquil to catch up on a good Read. The library has ample books to choose and we left a few for you on your future visit.
Well lite tennis courts, although I must say never got around to it.
The desserts look awesome, although not my fancy because "I am sweet enough". The wine list certainly was well represented and the starters and mains were very nicely prepared and presented - with most of the vegetables locally grown.
My passion is snorkeling and the Harbour is home to a massive sea turtle with many catching a view of him. I saw his head and top of his shell as he came up for breath, although never got a chance to see him underwater.
The Pillars of Hercules (see pictures) right at the entrance of the Harbour has some of the best snorkeling around and it is worth the walk, swim or paddle over. If walking make sure you have at least flip-flops with you.
Highly recommend this for couples, looking to celebrate and re-connect after all our busy lives.
We have spent a lot of time in the Caribbean and this Island with the English influence and the tremendous friendliness of the Antiguan people make a stay at "The Inn" as it known throughout the island a tremendous getaway.
I cannot speak enough about the staff!

Room Tip: Junior Suite second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want exclusivity and pure relaxation this is the place to stay. Excellent hotel, excellent facilities, excellent food, excellent service, just a top place to stay.

The beach is perfect as is the pool. This is a small and exclusive hotel where you can just relax and rest without interruption. The food is very good although a bit more variety at dinner time would be good.

We will be back that is for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed at the Inn for a week
the food was excellent with some of the freshest salad i've had (they have an organic garden)
the restaurant does a good variety of food, with changing special menus nightly
for lunch the choices are a bit more limited, but its not difficult to take the boat across to sample other restaurants for variety.
we spent the whole week relaxing by the pool, the beach
The room we stay in is of good size and has good air cons, it misses a bit of the luxurious feeling due to lack of bath however i can understand that hardly anyone would use a bath in the hot weather, we pretty much showered twice a day it was that hot outside
It's a relatively small resort but that gives to its intimacy and quietness (apart from the two nights where loud music can be heard in the bedrooms - they're from other places out of sight of the hotel but the music echo through down to the valley of where the hotel is). for those night, light sleepers will need ear-plugs. it's not something that the hotel has any control on.
we were quite badly bitten by mosquitoes so strong repellent is recommended!
the staff is lovely and friendly but they are not trained in a way you would expect at a high end restaurant so there's some improvement on the level of table service if they want to elevate themselves to one of the best restaurants in the area.
we really enjoyed the hospitality of the managers and staff there. the variety of evenings they've put on have made the week go past without too much boredom (we normally get bored after a few nights)
overall we'd recommend a stay of 3-4 nights here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ok, there's always room for improvement but why let that get in the way of a good strapline, that fact is that we found the Inn at English Harbour to be a thoroughly charming and idyllic place to stay for 7 nights in July this year. All the staff, in the Terrace restaurant and Reef bar were thoroughly welcoming and courteous, we were met with cold flannels and cocktails on arrival and felt that the half board plan offered excellent value. The breakfasts at the Reef restaurant on the beach were so relaxing, their locally produced coconut yoghurt and the French toast were delicious, as were their excellent mojito's and dacquiri mulata's. The location was also excellent, offering great access to the wonderful beaches the South West of the island is blessed with, and the free boat shuttle to Nelson's dockyard is also handy if you want to do a little light shopping.
We left the Inn with heavy hearts and would unreservedly recommend that anyone thinking of going to Antigua stay here, being a smaller resort and not accepting young children means that you're guaranteed plenty of space on the beach or around the pool and a peaceful, tranquil experience. we had a junior suite which was immaculate, spacious, and had a large veranda overlooking the sea. A wonderful property.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite upstairs as you'll have a veranda with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hants
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to relax and we certainly succeeded. Perfect location, excellent food well-appointed rooms (we had a cabana), and delightful staff. Any gripes are minor (the evening's musical entertainment springs to mind).

Room Tip: We had a cabana which was perfect for us though might have been not so good had the hotel been full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Escapio, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at English Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.