We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Tranquil Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at English Harbour

Save Saved
You added The Inn at English Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in English Harbour
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Class Tranquil Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The junior suites were fabulous - our preference is the upper floor because of the vaulted ceilings. The food and service was tremendous and the hospitality of the staff was exceptional!
This was a getaway with my wife for our 25th, and the hotel is pretty much dominated with couples getting away from it all.
Shirley Heights best view of the Harbours - English and Falmouth is spectacular and Sunday Nights live entertainment should not be missed. It is a short 5 minute taxi ride. We danced the night away to a great band - eat early at the hotel and head up as it ends around 11PM.
Christina arranged for us to participate in the Extreme circumnavigation of the island on a powerboat with a stopover at Stingray City - great day. Lunch on Green Island and the stopover at Runaway Bay were the true highlights. Seeing the Island from the water really shows its beauty.
On Friday night, we decided to forget dinner at the Inn and go and party with the locals and tourists at "Seafood Fridays" at Nelsons Dockyard. The food and music were great and then ourselves and another couple headed off to Abracadabra and danced until 2 AM - as they played all the hits from today and the past. Really enjoyed ourselves.
The Inn entertained the Prince and Princess of Monaco for 11 days at the New Year and they coined a drink after there stay - and thoroughly enjoyed "The Prince".
Great sheltered Harbour for swimming, walking the beautiful beach and tranquil to catch up on a good Read. The library has ample books to choose and we left a few for you on your future visit.
Well lite tennis courts, although I must say never got around to it.
The desserts look awesome, although not my fancy because "I am sweet enough". The wine list certainly was well represented and the starters and mains were very nicely prepared and presented - with most of the vegetables locally grown.
My passion is snorkeling and the Harbour is home to a massive sea turtle with many catching a view of him. I saw his head and top of his shell as he came up for breath, although never got a chance to see him underwater.
The Pillars of Hercules (see pictures) right at the entrance of the Harbour has some of the best snorkeling around and it is worth the walk, swim or paddle over. If walking make sure you have at least flip-flops with you.
Highly recommend this for couples, looking to celebrate and re-connect after all our busy lives.
We have spent a lot of time in the Caribbean and this Island with the English influence and the tremendous friendliness of the Antiguan people make a stay at "The Inn" as it known throughout the island a tremendous getaway.
I cannot speak enough about the staff!

Room Tip: Junior Suite second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    33
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
155
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want exclusivity and pure relaxation this is the place to stay. Excellent hotel, excellent facilities, excellent food, excellent service, just a top place to stay.

The beach is perfect as is the pool. This is a small and exclusive hotel where you can just relax and rest without interruption. The food is very good although a bit more variety at dinner time would be good.

We will be back that is for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed at the Inn for a week
the food was excellent with some of the freshest salad i've had (they have an organic garden)
the restaurant does a good variety of food, with changing special menus nightly
for lunch the choices are a bit more limited, but its not difficult to take the boat across to sample other restaurants for variety.
we spent the whole week relaxing by the pool, the beach
The room we stay in is of good size and has good air cons, it misses a bit of the luxurious feeling due to lack of bath however i can understand that hardly anyone would use a bath in the hot weather, we pretty much showered twice a day it was that hot outside
It's a relatively small resort but that gives to its intimacy and quietness (apart from the two nights where loud music can be heard in the bedrooms - they're from other places out of sight of the hotel but the music echo through down to the valley of where the hotel is). for those night, light sleepers will need ear-plugs. it's not something that the hotel has any control on.
we were quite badly bitten by mosquitoes so strong repellent is recommended!
the staff is lovely and friendly but they are not trained in a way you would expect at a high end restaurant so there's some improvement on the level of table service if they want to elevate themselves to one of the best restaurants in the area.
we really enjoyed the hospitality of the managers and staff there. the variety of evenings they've put on have made the week go past without too much boredom (we normally get bored after a few nights)
overall we'd recommend a stay of 3-4 nights here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ok, there's always room for improvement but why let that get in the way of a good strapline, that fact is that we found the Inn at English Harbour to be a thoroughly charming and idyllic place to stay for 7 nights in July this year. All the staff, in the Terrace restaurant and Reef bar were thoroughly welcoming and courteous, we were met with cold flannels and cocktails on arrival and felt that the half board plan offered excellent value. The breakfasts at the Reef restaurant on the beach were so relaxing, their locally produced coconut yoghurt and the French toast were delicious, as were their excellent mojito's and dacquiri mulata's. The location was also excellent, offering great access to the wonderful beaches the South West of the island is blessed with, and the free boat shuttle to Nelson's dockyard is also handy if you want to do a little light shopping.
We left the Inn with heavy hearts and would unreservedly recommend that anyone thinking of going to Antigua stay here, being a smaller resort and not accepting young children means that you're guaranteed plenty of space on the beach or around the pool and a peaceful, tranquil experience. we had a junior suite which was immaculate, spacious, and had a large veranda overlooking the sea. A wonderful property.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite upstairs as you'll have a veranda with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hants
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to relax and we certainly succeeded. Perfect location, excellent food well-appointed rooms (we had a cabana), and delightful staff. Any gripes are minor (the evening's musical entertainment springs to mind).

Room Tip: We had a cabana which was perfect for us though might have been not so good had the hotel been full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having been to the Caribbean many times, this was our second visit to Antigua and our first to The Inn at English Harbour. The kids have grown up now, so my wife and I were looking for a very relaxing holiday as a change from our otherwise hectic lifestyle. We could not have found a more idyllic place to spend 12 glorious nights.
Our Junior Suite was large with a good sized bathroom, stocked with quality products. It was spotlessly clean and regularly serviced by the the housekeeping staff. A large private balcony overlooked the beautiful well kept gardens towards the sea.
All of the public areas were very comfortably furnished, including the Library, complete with large TV and internet access.
Being there after the busy part of the season, we found it particularly peaceful - and the other guests seemed to be enjoying that too. The beach was very clean and private with plenty of loungers, hammocks and shade when you needed it.
The food was of a very high standard, with good variety from day-to-day (particularly in the Terrace Restaurant for dinner). Chef was extremely accommodating with regard to special dietary needs.
And so to the staff.........There have been many glowing reports here - and rightly so. Although I could reel them all off, it would be unfair to pick out individual names at risk of taking the spotlight away from the others. Everyone was extremely caring, attentive (the Caribbean pace is what makes it all so relaxing), friendly and good-humoured. Apart from enjoying the service, we really enjoyed their company. Our thanks to them all for making our holiday so special.
This has to be one of the best hotels on the island, with a very individual feel. We look forward to returning to the Inn to re-charge our batteries again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, TN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a seven night visit (June 6-13) at The Inn, and we feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to spend time there. The only other experience we have had in the Caribbean was at a more commercial resort on another island. We felt like The Inn was on a completely different level in all aspects. First of all, there are only 28 guest rooms (our suite was immaculate) making for a much more intimate setting. Couple that with the most amazing beach, superb service, great breakfast and dinner (both food and ambience) and you are in for a real treat! I almost wonder if a previous reviewer even stayed at the same place. The beach was the most tranquil beach I have ever been to. There is another small hotel a good ways down the beach, but during our entire 7 night stay I didn't see a soul there. I even wondered if it was closed altogether. The only other people we saw on the beach were people from the sailboats getting themselves on the shore for a little while. By the way, the sailboats in the bay just add to the tranquil setting. The water taxi is awesome. Come mid afternoon after you can get away from the beach for a while and go walk around Nelsons Dockyard. There are some very good lunch restaurants there if you don't want to eat at lunch at The Inn everyday. Vere, the guy who runs the water taxi, is AWESOME! Another great perk we found about the beach: No beach peddlers trying to sell you cheap crap...not a single one the entire time we were there, which was not the case at the other resort I mentioned earlier. There is also plenty of other stuff to do around the island. Christina found us every morning to ask us if she could arrange any activities, but we just couldn't pull ourselves away from the beach. Another couple that was there told us they did a great sailboat tour of Antigua which Christina helped them set up. Finally both breakfast and dinner were much better than the other resort we stayed at. Since they are only preparing food for a handful of people, rather than hundreds, the quality is much higher. The Reef Restaurant where breakfast is served by the beach is a perfect way to start your day, and the Terrace Restaurant is a great way to end it. Also, if you have a special occasion during your visit like a birthday or anniversary, you can call the front desk before your arrival to make special arrangements.
I could go on and on about The Inn, but the bottom line is this: We will be returning, although next time instead of 7 nights we are staying 10 nights. 7 just wasn't enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suites which like I said are immaculate, and large. But the beach cabanna, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Escapio, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at English Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.