We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at English Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at English Harbour to your Saves list
The Inn at English Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our first trip to the Caribbean - and I think we've been spoilt! The location is, quite simply, stunning. The view from the Terrace Restaurant is great, but perhaps even better is that from the Beach Bar - where breakfast is served every day.
The grounds are immaculate - even though we were there during a drought and the lawns were very dry and bleached - and the Garden Tour is definitely worth joining.
Our room was spacious, clean, and plenty of nice touches. Mosquito nets and machines most effective - we didn't have any problems at all.
The shuttle service between the main area of rooms and the restaurant is very useful, and the water taxi service round to Nelsons Dockyard is excellent. That's certainly a trip worth making.
Sadly, we found the food in the Terrace Restaurant didn't quite match the description of "international fine dining" but we understand that owners/managers are well aware of this and changes are to be made. However, having said that, the staff were excellent, and we felt that the food in the Beach Bar was more appealing.
Overall, though, an excellent week which left us wanting to come back here. As the sign in the Beach Bar says - Just another day in paradise.

Room Tip: The cabanas are right on the beach - might not be to everyone's taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
182
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutely incredible holiday. My Boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2012 and were absolutely blown away by the hotel and island. When we arrived we were greeted with cocktail and got to take in the views down onto the bay. Then we were moved to our room but unfortunately we had an ant infestation which the hotel dealt with very quickly and upgraded us to one of the larger rooms with a massive four poster bed on the ground floor. The room was huge and the bed was very comfortable.

The food at the hotel is great. Breakfast every morning was served down on the beach which was a beautiful setting. No kids are allowed at the hotel so perfect for is you want a relaxing peaceful holiday. A complimentary boat is run from the dock of the hotel over to Nelsons dockyard by Vere and we took this a couple of times to go and explore. Unfortunately due to the time of year we went Nelson dockyard was like a ghost town with not much open and not many people around. We had planned to go to a few lunch spots around there but unfortunately they were closed

Dinner at the hotel was good and the views over the bay was lovely. We went out a few nights for dinner to Sheer Rock and to Clogys which was nice for a change. At Sheer rocks we met the Chef and had a lot in common so ended up going out with this to an Antiguan party with over 2000 locals there! Great fun and didn’t get in till 6am

Lunch was good at the hotel however it would be great if they had a bit more variety on the menu. The location of the hotel is also excellent. Being on the south side the waters are very calm and it is where all the best lunch/dinner spots are.

Overall the holiday was the best I have every been on and my only recommendation would be to go earlier than May as a lot of places were closed however on the plus side it was very peaceful and quite. I would also like to try a room on the beach next time- which is cheaper than the room we were in but was booked up for that week.

Vere, Neil, Christina and Wesley are all amazing and made our holiday perfect.

This year we are trying out Barbados as got an great deal on the Fairmount hotel so will be interesting to see how it compares.

I would love to return to this hotel and hopefully will do in the future

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn garden city
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for the last six nights of our twelve nights stay in Antigua. Stayed at sugar ridge for first part see separate review. Made to feel very welcome on arrival our room wasn't ready as we arrived at noon so we were taken down to the beach restaurant for lunch wow what a great setting right on the beach it's a lovely bay with calm clear water with lovely boats anchored just of shore. After lunch we were taken to our beach cabana because our last hotel wasn't on the beach we decided on the cabana over the other rooms we did view the other rooms and although they are much larger and more luxury we made the right decision for us the view we had was priceless . The setting for dinner is beautiful and the staff were all very pleasent. The food was on the whole very good as others have mentioned you do need to eat early to get best tables but that didnt really bother us there wasn't really a bad table. What we liked about this hotel was how relaxed we felt after just a few hours of arriving it was like you were on your own little island, but with the added bonus of hopping on the water taxi into nelsons dockyard and within five minutes you were in another unique place. No hotel is perfect and for us the dinner was a little inconsistent from excellent to average but this would not stop us from returning and you can swop dinner for lunch and eat out for a change. All in all we had a great time and hope to visit again but only if we can get a cabana room. Georgie28

Room Tip: If you like the beach go for cabana room right on beach lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Inn for two weeks at the beginning of February. Having stayed in Antigua previously, The Inn is simply the best property in terms of accommodation, privacy, quiet and particularly, the outstanding service.
I want to take this opportunity to thank Cristina, the guest care manager and Mr Giorgi, the general manager for their kindness,they have really set up a great standard in delighting their guests! I was completely blown-away by the experience....
The service was exceptional with a wonderful warmth and graciousness. They managed to strike that delicate balance of being friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
The food was great both at The Reef restaurant right on the beach and at The Terrace where we had dinner under the stars with a stunning view of the bay.
Our room was large and beautiful (we've stayed in a Deluxe) with a four poles bed a sitting area with a sofa and two armchairs and a big bathrooms with his and her face basins.The style is English Colonial with some italian touch( the owners are italians), very sophisticated..
The room's terrace was also amazing with two day beds where we've relaxed at sunset sipping the famous"Prince" cocktail made by Neil the head bartender, for Price Alberto of Monaco when he stayed at the hotel last Christmas.
What else I can say about this great resort, well after two weeks we felt so reinvigorated that we've decided to come back next February!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe, just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarratt, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have never written a review before but to read two, what I would regard as totally false reports from two very sad individuals, I just had to respond.

In February we revisited The Inn for the 15th year running, it is such a relaxing, friendly and beautiful holiday destination that the dozens of guests who return every year try to keep it a secret!

Most of the staff have been with the hotel for years and are so personable and attentive. The food has improved every year and the breakfast location on the sea front is unsurpassed. The gardens are stunning.

The beach is never crowded and is cleaned daily. You can be served drinks at your sunlounger and just lazily watch the boats sailing in and out of English Harbour.

We have visited almost all of the Carribean islands staying in some of the top hotels - how do we rate The Inn experience? - we are already booked for 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Inn at English Harbour is a top class hotel in Antigua. The private beach and pool are a perfect place to unwind and relax. Grab a bite to eat at the beach front restaurant for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just for a cool cocktail. The mojitos are especially refreshing. The rooms are done in a dark wood and are very good sized along with the bathrooms. The views from the main restaurant at the top of the hill are breathtaking and the bar serves the most delightful baked coconut as a treat while you drink. It's quite expensive, but deals can occasionally be done if you give them a call, especially out of season.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach are actually the smallest. The ones near the pool are actually the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our recent visit to The Inn proved again to be a fabulous and relaxing holiday. The staff remain the same & comfort & enjoyment for the guests remains paramount. The accommodation is 'colonial' with large airy rooms tastefully decorated & well equipped, set in stunning grounds. There is an air of peace & tranquility & great feeling of spaciousness.
The choice & quality of meals has much improved - thanks to Chef Dean and his team who listen to guests input. The Inn now boasts an organic vegetable & herb garden ably cared for by Kente & his team as indeed are the magnificent gardens & grounds. He even has hives of bees to supply honey.
The Manager Fabio Giorgi & indeed the hotel owners are very 'hands on' & more than happy to discuss any ideas with their guests.
This is a 5* hotel in probably the most interesting location on the Island and I have no hesitation in recommending The Inn as a first class destination.

Room Tip: Cabanas are right on the beach and my choice. Smaller than the suites, not quite as luxurious but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's bay | St John's, English Harbour, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at English Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.