We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Antigua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in English Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Antigua
Save
You added Blue Moon Antigua to your Saves list
c/o Galleon Beach Resort | P O Box # 1003, St. Pauls, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We don't usually do sun & beach vacations, but after staying at "Blue Moon Antigua", we may make it an annual event. We were looking for something a bit different from a resort holiday, and certainly found it by staying at Shonnie & Mike's rental villa.
We took advantage of Shonnie's airport pick-up, as well as having her arrange the car rental, both of which I would recommend. It just made arriving & leaving the island care-free & relaxing.
The villa (we stayed in the upper villa) was fantastic! It was clean and spacious, both inside & out, with all the amenities you would want. At the risk of sounding like "Goldilocks & the 3 Bears", the bed was very comfortable....not too firm, not too soft, but just right! The private outdoor shower was great, and the huge deck made it hard to leave each day.
The view from the villa was amazing...a very tranquil caribbean harbour scene, with Montserrat on the horizon.
The beach was a short walk downhill...uphill upon return, but that only meant you could indulge in one more blended fruit drink, guilt-free! The water was calm throughout our stay...perfect for swimming/snorkelling (although Antigua is better known for it's offshore snorkelling, you can swim with turtles from this beach).
A car will definitely add to your experience, especially if you like to explore the island, as we do, but the area around BLUE MOON ANTIGUA (English Harbour, Falmouth Harbour) is accessible via water & land taxi, and offers an amazing choice of great restaurants.
I think equally important, is Shonnie & Mike's invaluable information & recommendations regarding where to eat & things to do while in Antigua. For us, this gave us the amazing island experience we were looking for.

Room Tip: Upper Villa has more steps, better view & more privacy. If you are interested in sailng/windsur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene Valley, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just got back to the Adirondacks from a week at Blue Moon to celebrate my 60th birthday. What a wonderful trip. Whenever I go some place new it usually takes me a day or two to adjust. Not at Blue Moon. We settled in so fast it was scary. Shonnie and Mike, as everyone has previously said, make the experience. From taking us up to Shirley’s for the sunset and bottle of Prosecco on my birthday to Shonnie coming to save us from a long day of hiking, just at the right time. It was hard to leave.
Our routine started every morning with a swim amid the boats and turtles. Then it usually went to a hike or snorkeling right out the front door (snorkels provided by Mike). We never rented a car and really never needed one. Sometimes after a hike we would catch a boat to Nelson’s Dockyard and eat lunch at the Hot Hot Spot and watch the boats being repaired. Other times we would swim and catch a quick bite at Pigeon Beach, or take a picnic to Rendezvous Beach and climb Signal Hill to be greeted by goats at the top. We met so many interesting and fun people of all ages and nationalities just around English and Falmouth Harbours, many of them either working on the boats or going to college in Antigua. The restaurants are excellent. The owners, who know Shonnie and Mike well, made you feel right at home. The villas are the best part. For people who like to be active, we relished just sitting watching the activity below us (boats) or the ever changing volcano on Montserrat, which seemed to be quite active while we were there. It is a very peaceful spot. The villas are everything you could want and more. They are beautifully built and exquisitely furnished.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've just returned from almost a week in the lower villa. It exceeded all of our expectations. Immaculately clean and airy, it had everything we needed, in the kitchen area (including an ice-maker), in the living area with comfortable chairs and space for a PC (and WiFi), in the bedroom with a bed protected by mosquito netting, and in the bath, especially the outdoor shower. We had breakfast each day on the veranda overlooking the harbor, marveling at the view. The villa was open with large screens in the front and on the sides so that it stayed comfortably cool during the day. Shonnie could not have been more helpful, and we greatly enjoyed the good company of her friendly (and polite) dog Chloe. Situated above the Galleon Beach resort villas, we had privacy and a superior view, but we were still close enough to the beach to walk there in less than five minutes. Although the walk in the other direction, up from the beach, requires more energy, it provides an excellent way to get exercise. Shonnie provided food and beverages in the refrigerator to get us started; we had a rented car and bought additional supplies as needed from a grocery store (Bailey's) about 15 minutes distant. We look forward to our next stay there, and to seeing Shonnie, Michael, and Chloe again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattaroy, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days staying here. It was nice to have our own private accomodations, but the owners made us feel like we were family, even having us for Thanksgiving dinner! We feel like we made lifelong friends.
They had plenty of gear to borrow (snorkles, flippers, dvd's etc.) and many great ideas about what to see and do on the island.
Would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The views and setting were so perfect that it seemed like it had been staged. This is the archetype of a Caribbean sojourn. Shonnie and Michael are connected and know the ins and outs of the island. Follow their lead or explore on your own. Did I mention fly fishing for giant tarpon or sporting clays shooting? Both available and the guides supply all essentials. If you have never had a 40lb tarpon on the end of a 9 wt. fly rod, you haven't been fishing. The only down side is that we had to come home. Loved it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful. You will need some sound legs for the stairs. How else to look down o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a beautiful villa with gorgeous views and an owner who'll take great care of you. I'm apparently the only person not to give this place 5 stars, but I think it's important for readers to know what they're going to have and what they're not going to have.

The good stuff is that it's a beautiful 4-room villa. It has everything you can think of for amenities, and if something is missing Shonnie will get it for you. I've never stayed at a place that was so well furnished. The views from the balcony are spectacular. Chloe, the resident dog, is friendly and lovable and if you take her with you down to the beach, or walking some of the trails, she'll be your BFF (best friend forever, for those of you who don't text).

There are some things that you need to consider, however. This property is not within walking distance of restaurants or attractions. There is a cafe down at the Galleon Beach Resort, but it's only open five days a week at lunchtime. So, if you're interested in a vacation where you cook in and walk down to the beach each day, you're in luck. It's perfect. We prefer to be a little more centrally located, but that can be overcome by renting a car. The roads, especially in and out of Galleon Beach are atrocious, so it's a matter of driving an obstacle course.

Secondly, this is NOT a bed and breakfast as it's shown on TripAdvisor. This is a vacation rental. Breakfast is not included, but you have a full kitchen in which to cook whatever you like for breakfast.

And lastly, we stayed in the upper villa which is 108 steps from the road. The lower villa is probably more like 80 steps. It doesn't sound too bad, but it can wear on you, especially when you're toting your roller bags, or you get down to the car and realize you forgot your sunglasses in the villa!

Great place, especially if you like privacy!

Room Tip: There are only two choices -- the upper or lower villa. Upper villa has more steps, but the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 days in Antigua and we are so grateful that Trip Advisor led us to Blue Moon!! It was the best part of our trip and made our entire stay in Antigua magical! We stayed on the upper villa and the views are to die for. It's tempting to just hang out on the veranda all day!
Shonnie, Michael and Chloe are true gems. We felt like we were staying at a cool relative's house they make you feel that much at home. We took Chloe hiking a lot and we still are talking about how much we miss her!! Shonnie is very sweet and has so many great recommendations about what to do on the island. She let us borrow a few snorkels and we hiked to some fabulous snorkeling! It was our first time and we are so grateful for her generosity. She was nice to bring us into town and to places on the island several times. You can also take a boat for free into English Harbor if it's during the day.
The villa literally has everything you could want. It has a satellite radio, a blender, a fridge and stove. The entire villa is open with screens to the outside so you can hear the waves coming up while you sleep. The outdoor shower was quite an experience as well!!
We didn't rent a car, but we will next time and I would recommend it. Getting taxi's wasn't difficult, but it just made going in and out of town more of a project. English Harbor and all the restaurants aren't far away. It took us awhile to figure out how to use our cell phones internationally so calling the taxis was a hassle sometimes.
Everyone keeps marveling at our pictures, they are so beautiful. It was a very private, relaxing, and romantic place and we attribute that to this beautiful piece of paradise that Shonnie and Michael have created. I really think what they charge is an incredible bargain! We felt guilty when Shonnie wouldn't accept some money we tried to give her when we left as thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Antigua

Address: c/o Galleon Beach Resort | P O Box # 1003, St. Pauls, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two one bedroom villas completed in 2006 have all the extras including king-sized beds, cable tv, microwave, ice-maker, Bose stereo/cd player, dvd/vhs player, Jacuzzi and wireless Internet.The villas sit above the Galleon Beach Resort in English Harbour-home of Antigua Sailing Week. Excellent restaurants and amble nightlife can be found in Falmouth Harbour-a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Antigua English Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.