We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in English Harbour!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Antigua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in English Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Antigua
c/o Galleon Beach Resort | P O Box # 1003, St. Pauls, English Harbour, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Burton on Ttrent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A real gem in English Harbour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A huge thank you to Shonnie, Michael and Chloe for their warm welcome when we arrived, despite our extremely late arrival thanks to LIAT! The top villa was immaculate and had everything we could have wished for during our far too short stay. Facilities are great at the villas including the jacuzzi and barbeque, plenty of seating and sun loungers with spectacular views over Freemans Bay and English Harbour on our private terrace. We had the bonus of views of the super yachts in Falmouth Harbour too, thanks to the position on the hillside. The beach was quiet which almost gave us the feeling it was only for us! Shonnie was always available if we needed anything or any advise, and she had great knowledge and lots of guidance whatever we were looking for. If you looking for a busy loud resort, this is not for you but if you are after a quiet, scenic and location with stunning views and a convenient base for the most beautiful part of the island including Shirley Heights, English Harbour, Nelsons Dockyard and Falmouth Harbour with a villa to match, then this superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent 10 days at this wonderful villa in November. It is well appointed and has beautiful views and amenities. The real Gem at this Villa is Shonnie the owner and her husband who live in their own home close by. I chose not to rent a car and Shonnie picked me up at the airport as well as offered me rides in to town and to local restaurants and sites. She made many suggestions and recommendations on places to visit and restaurants to eat at. She WAS the gem here!

I recommend this Villa to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway and is not afraid of a few stairs!

Room Tip: Both villas have excellent views but the upper villa would be my next choice. Renting both is also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My friend and I needed to get away from it all and Blue Moon was just the remedy. Beautiful villa overlooking the picturesque bay, steps away from Galleon Beach, pure relaxation! The villa was immaculate but the outdoor shower was my favorite.

The view from the villa is just remarkable and when we weren't resting we were hiking, kayaking and swimming around the island. I highly recommend half moon beach. I can't wait to book another week (or two) there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just got back today from a magnificant vacation. What did we do??? nothing, and it was amazing. On our other trips were jam packed, we went to all of the historic sites, the beautiful beaches and the stores. This time we wanted to pick the best place to stay and just enjoy the reason we wanted to get away; and that was to relax and let the beauty of the island sink in. We picked Blue Moon because to us after seeing all of the beaches, hotels and sites this was by far the best for us. Shonnie picked us up at the airport, took us to the grocery store and baileys for food and drink and we were on our way to paradise. You will read all of the reviews about Shonnie but they can't really express what a lovely person she is. Truly a great host. Just read the reviews they are all accurate, spot on. We had breakfast on the verandah, fixed a small iglo full of pinacoladas and headed for the beach to wade in the water and relax. Then in the evening a glass of wine to toast the beautiful sunset and on to one of Shonnie's suggestions for dinner which by the way were all wonderful. I could go on, but you've already heard it all. After many times around the island this is truely a place where you can catch up with yourself. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had a wonderful week at Blue Moon Villas, we rented both of them, they are both really lovely, clean and spacious with everything you need supplied.
The beach is great and only a 2 minute stroll down the hill. We would recommend hiring a car to get about easily, English Harbour is just around the corner with all the restaurants you would need.
Shonnie and Michael are very friendly and helpful hosts.
Enjoy the wonderful views and have a great holiday at Blue Moon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I spent four beautiful days in one of Blue Moon Antigua's beautiful villas. Our villa was charming, with all the amenities you would want and offered the most spectacular view of the bay any and the southwest exposure our sunsets were beyond compare! Galleon Beach is quiet and clean and provides easy access to great restaurants in nearby English Harbor and Falmouth Harbor. If you want privacy, comfort, beauty and relaxation, then you need to check out Blue Moon Antigua. Galleon Beach is just down the hill and offers only one place to eat, but you can take a water taxi over to English Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Blue Moon villas are wonderful! The first thing you will notice are the incredible views from your verandah. Most husband and I are go, go, go types of people and we can honestly say that we would have been happy if we had never been allowed to leave the verandah. We made a sugar water concoction and the little birds happily cover over to our table and had breakfast with us each morning. The outdoor shower is spectacular...showering oustide under the stars is magical! An image we won't soon forget.

The unit has everything you could want...2 coolers, blender, coffee pot, toaster, microwave, small refrigerator, etc. We stopped off at Gourmet Basket which is located right outside the airport and stocked up on cereal, milk, juice, lunchmeat, cheese and then supplemented with yogurt (Yao is made on the island and is delish!!) and fruit from Bailey's. We made our breakfast each morning and then packed lunches and brought it in the cooler to the various beaches around the island.

Dinners out were wonderful. I highly recommend Abracadabra for authentic Italian, OJs for the whole red snapper and sunset (saw a green flash!), and Trappa's (MAKE A RESERVATION). Very reasonably priced and delicious.

Mershon is incredibly helpful and was able to book us on the EcoTour through Antigua Adventures that takes you on a boat tour around the island and allows you to climb Hell's Gate (thrill seekers only!), snorkeling, a little hiking, etc. It was a wonderful day. Mershon is always available (their house is located right below the villas) to answer questions, provide beach and/or restaurant suggestions and help with any other detail.

Don't look any further. There is no way you would be disappointed at Blue Moon. If it's available, book it now!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Moon Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Antigua

Address: c/o Galleon Beach Resort | P O Box # 1003, St. Pauls, English Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in English Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two one bedroom villas completed in 2006 have all the extras including king-sized beds, cable tv, microwave, ice-maker, Bose stereo/cd player, dvd/vhs player, Jacuzzi and wireless Internet.The villas sit above the Galleon Beach Resort in English Harbour-home of Antigua Sailing Week. Excellent restaurants and amble nightlife can be found in Falmouth Harbour-a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Antigua English Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Antigua to your Saves list