We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Mauro's Pizza

Famous Mauro's Pizza
Cobbs Cross, St. John's, Antigua
(268) 460-1318
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 83 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Block Island, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you have a craving for pizza while on vacation in the Caribbean, this is the place to go. I have never seen so many pizzas being made at one time with every topping imagineable. Fresh as can be. They have a small wine list and soft drinks as well. Seems they also do a fantastic take out service. Oh yes, huge salads. Don't miss this spot.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Michaels, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spicy Oil Sauce!!! YESSSS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went in with a party of 14 for their opening day, so they still had some logistical things to work out. But, once we got our food it was pretty amazing. Their ingredients are fresh, and nothing beats wood-fired pizza. The atmosphere is nice, and there is a Foosball table to play while waiting on food. Overall, a great experience and I would recommend. Definitely LOVED the Oil Sauce they served with the pizza.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Antigua
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Still great pizzas, but looking a bit tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love Famous Mauro for pizza, and have been going there for more years than I can remember. Sadly, on this last visit, I found the service less than stellar and the whole place was looking pretty tired.

Shame, as the island finally has a couple of other decent places to get pizza, so there's a bit of competition, which should have made them up their game a bit.

Still can't beat that wood oven though - and breads are great too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent pizza, ambiance and service need help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I tried Mauro's last night on the advice of an Antigua-based friend. We were impressed right away when we saw the brick oven as we walked in.

The food we had was fresh and very flavorful. We split a Caprese salad -- great tomatoes and mozzarella -- and then chose two pizzas (prosciutto with olives added, and quattro formaggi) from the long list. The crusts were thin but chewy, with tangy tomato sauce and a perfect amount of toppings. Highly recommended.

But the ambiance and service could use some work. The restaurant is a large open space, with run-down tables and chairs...typical Antigua budget decor. There was no music on when we arrived, and then when they did start to play something it sounded like some local radio station...didn't really fit an Italian pizza place.

And the service? Not stellar. With only 3 tables of people, the waitress who took our drink order and delivered our drinks said she couldn't take our food order. Huh? Apparently the Italian waitress was the only one qualified for that job. Oh well....once we got our food order in the service was okay, not super slow like it can be here.

The quality of the pizza is great though, and it's worth it to come here just for that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good for Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stopped by this pizzeria after a day at the beach and it was very good by Antigua standards. Don't expect authentic Italian pizza or New York style pizza, or you will be disappointed. I think it's one of the better places on the island to grab some pizza. It's cooked in a brick oven which gives it a nice crunch. The ambiance is really cute and people are friendly. Overall, it was a nice dinning experience. One thing to beware of is one of the bathroom doors doesn't have a lock... you might want a door guard or someone might walk in on you, as I did... good times! Also, the water wasn't working to flush or wash your hands... thankfully I had hand sanitizer handy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Mauro's Pizza also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Famous Mauro's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Mauro's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.