We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutey Charming and Relaxing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galley Bay Cottages
Galley Bay Beach, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
new hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutey Charming and Relaxing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed in the Breeze Cottage and loved it. During the evenings we dined and/or just sat outside enjoying the quiet, peaceful, relaxing admosphere. Luckily, unlike major resorts the lighting outside is not too bright thus attracting bugs. I just read in the most recent review that the lights were not working and they had to use candles. The lights were more than adequate, and in fact romantic. It is a very short walk to the beach where we found our ourselves a quiet area, brought our picnic lunch, books and just relaxed for the entire day. You can walk the beach and visit the more populated area but we justed wanted to spend time alone. We did make it into St, John's and English Harbor and of course Shirley Heights. If you are looking to become relaxed and refreshed from a busy life filled with telephone calls, emails, computers, distractions, I truly recommend Galley Bay Cottages. Thank you so much Natalie and Peter - your place was a godsend! Looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This was our second visit to the wonderful Galley Bay Cottages. After a great trip last year, we decided to come back for a longer stay this year, and we're very glad we did. Once again, we were enchanted by the secluded and lush setting and the amazing views. Hosts Natalie and Peter were as charming and helpful as ever, going above and beyond expectations to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The cottages are perfect for those who like to cook for themselves and are not seeking ultra-luxury accommodation (and prices). If you are looking for excellent value, privacy and charm, it's hard to do any better than this choice.

On this visit, we had the opportunity to visit more of Antigua's beautiful beaches -- Half Moon Bay, Deep Bay and Darkwood are especially recommended. We also loved the local tropical fruit and vegetables, and sampled fantastic jerk pork and chicken in St John's. If you like fancy boats, the yacht club at English Harbour is unsurpassed. We were fortunate to be there during the RORC 600 ocean race, and enjoyed being caught up in the excitement.

All in all, another memorable and fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Independently owned Galley Bay Cottages are in no way affiliated with the luxurious all-inclusive Galley Bay Resort, although they are situated on a hill above the resort and have access to the same beachfront. We enjoyed our week-long stay in the rustic but artfully decorated Breeze cottage, although there are a couple of things that could be improved upon.

Firstly, the good things: the Breeze has a great balcony (and yes, the view is stunning, but the light fixtures on the balcony aren't up to par and if you plan to eat outside in the evening, you'll have to depend on candles) ... the bed is comfortable and there is ample living space in the cottage.

On the down side: there is no wifi access -- although owner Natalie told us we could walk up the hill and connect to the Internet outside her home, that's just not convenient for checking email, etc. (and even when we were able to log on by going further up the hill, the connection was just too slow for it to be worth it). Another inconvenience: you can't reserve by credit card -- sending a bank draft just isn't as easy as sending a credit card number.

The guests who had been staying in our cottage moved to another cottage when we arrived, and took many of the kitchen utensils with them. When we brought it to Natalie's attention, she brought them back (the utensils, not the guests), but that was just one of the small things that made this vacation lacking -- it was also difficult to get hand towels (we had to ask several times). And while the rustic decor in the bedroom and living room are charming, the rustic aspect of the bathroom hardly is: the plumbing needs some work and a couple of simple things such as towel racks, better lighting, a good shower curtain and a larger mirror would go a long way towards making it more comfortable.

Some of the reviewers mentioned that a car is indispensible -- we didn't rent a car but probably should have ; we asked for a taxi to be sent to the airport to pick us up but he was a no-show, and the taxi we reserved for our return flight showed up at the cottage 10 minutes late... there is good bus service on the island and if you like walking, there are many beautiful places in the vicinity to explore (Half Moon Bay, Hideaway Bay, Hermitage Bay to name a few)

A note on the beaches: many look lovely in photos, but Hermitage Bay Beach, for example, is disappointing because of the mass of broken seashells at the edge of the water, making it almost impossible to go into the water without cutting your feet). Quite a few of the beaches, including the one just below the Galley Bay cottages, are steep, making for uncomfortable beachcombing and less than pleasant swimming.

A more general comment about Antigua (over which the Galley Bay cottage owners have absolutely no control): you wait forever to go through customs after getting off the plane, and the arrival area is highly disorganized, compared with some other Caribbean islands where the processing is quicker and smoother... just a little detail, but one that helps me decide which islands I want to return to...

p.s. I tried adding some photos but ours were all over 5 MB and I wasn't able to upload them... I'll try to figure out how to add them later...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Fantastic views, short stroll to several beaches, friendly hosts - what more could you want? We had a lovely few days staying in Spice Cottage in January. Natalie and Peter were extremely welcoming and full of useful information and tips. Natalie even appeared with a teapot and some teabags the first morning as she knows that English people can't survive without tea! We were staying in Spice cottage but also had use of a second double bedroom with bathroom (and tree frogs!) which is actually attached to Calabash, at no extra charge, as there was no one else staying there and Natalie thought we would be more comfortable with the extra space. The only down side to Galley Bay Cottages is that as there is nothing much within walking distance (except the sea) you need to hire a car but the drive into St John's is easy, there is a handy supermarket with plenty of parking near the fruit and veg market and you get to spot the cow with the tyre round it's horns on the way!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenzenberg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Again Breeze Cottage was the perfect place to escape from the European winter. This cottage is not luxurious, but you will find all you need. The hosts Nathalie and Peter are wonderful people. St. Johns is not far away (but you need a car) . And the million-dollar-view from the cottages is absolutely unforgetable! If you are looking for a quiet place close to one of he best beaches for a reasonable price that´s where you have to go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Week after we come back from in Galley bay,we are steel talking about it!
This is the best sign what a good time we had! We did not expected the best,but we were pleasantly suprised with informal,nonchalant,well organized life style.
We like natural beach( which is hard to find in resorts)so we spend every day there,not on the pool(which is nice with good temperature)
Food was very nice,staff tried to please us in any aspect!
Cottage is charming and pleasant ,bed very conformable,pool is fun,since is so private!
Only one thing was bothering me all the time . It was the damp smell in the sleeping part of the cottage.Windows can not be opened(AC) andI goes there is not isolations when they were build.
I spoke about it with with competent people,and they are aware of this.
This is not a crititizam,it is open discussion how to make this place even more beautiful!
We are looking to go next year for two weeks with our friends!
Thank you Galley bay staff!
Vesna aad Vladimir

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Galley Bay Cottages are a great place to spend time in Antigua. The view from the SeaBreeze cottage is breathtaking and it’s only a few minutes’ walk to the beach at Galley Bay. The cottages are a short drive from St. John’s. The road to the Cottages has recently been fixed.
The SeaBreeze cottage is clean and comfortable; the decor is attractive and the kitchen has everything you could need. The French doors which open out onto the deck and many windows mean that the cottage maintains a nice temperature.
Natalie and her family were welcoming beyond expectation, with everything from advice on good cafes in St John’s to allowing me to use their internet.
I am looking forward to my next visit to Antigua and Galley Bay Cottages!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galley Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Cottages

Address: Galley Bay Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galley Bay Cottages are four charming Caribbean cottages and a mediterranean style Villa located hillside, just steps from the beautiful white sands of Galley Bay beach on the northwest coast of Antigua. Built into the natural landscape of the hill, winding stone paths and steps lead through the property and take you to each of the four gorgeously secluded cottages. Wooden gingerbread cottages each with an ocean view, cool breezes and open layouts allow you to experience a uniquely Caribbean vacation.The shabby chic colonial interiors have been indiviudally decorated and furnished with an eclectic mix of European antiques, renovated finds and Caribbean art. Wonderful details like locally fired and hand painted tiles and face basins, four poster beds and wooden painted shutters are a delight for your eyes daily. Each unit is self contained with a fully equipped kitchen and all have amazing sea views, with private galleries perfect for relaxing day and night. Watch cruiseships entering and leaving St. John's Harbour and catch stunning sunsets while enjoying drinks and dinner al fresco. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galley Bay Cottages to your Saves list