We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages to your Saves list
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Newberg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 7 nights in this beautiful retreat. From the moment we arrived, Gabriela and Douglas are helpful and gracious. They helped us find groceries and spent lots of time with us to orient us to the island, activities, restaurants, best beaches etc. The cottage (we had a 1 bedroom) was delightful. It was quiet and private. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped with blender, cuisinart, plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. There is a large BBQ on your porch too. Watching the fishing pelicans from our porch each morning while enjoying coffee, laying in the hammock reading a good book, the short walk to Yepton beach - all perfect! Highly recommend dining at the neighboring resort - very good food and value - Gabby will set it up for you and you can walk to it! All in all, the island is beautiful and this is the perfect place for people who do not want resort crowds and are somewhat independent and like to do some of their own cooking.

Room Tip: All 5 cottages are lovely and private. We had a 1 Bedroom and it was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
233
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed for just 5 nights during a brief holiday before spending Xmas in the UK, but we were able to immediately unwind and relax from the moment we arrived in Antigua, thanks to the help of Gabriela and Douglas and the accommodation at their Yepton estate. From help with arranging a rental car to await us at the airport, to grocery shopping and advice for sightseeing and getting around the island, everything was set up perfectly whilst allowing us all the time and space needed to do as we please. Antigua has plently to offer, and Yepton is ideally equipped and located for the independent traveller to explore the island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have recently returned from 4 wonderful weeks in Antigua. We had never visited Antigua before and wanted to stay in a quiet relaxing location away from the large all inclusive resorts. We found that and more at Yepton Estate Cottages. The cottages are in a lovely tranquil setting, exactly as shown on the web. Yepton is the ideal base for touring the island or for lazing by the pool or gently swinging in the hammock on the verandah. The cottages are extremely comfortable (especially the huge bed) and well equipped; all cottages have excellent views of the lagoon and its numerous inhabitants.
What makes staying at Yepton so memorable (apart from the stunning location) is the care and attention given by Gabby and Douglas. I know all the reviews mention this, but you could not meet two more caring people.
Their attention to detail is second to none. From the booking (which went without a hitch), to the arrival (greeted with a cold beer - just what is needed after a long flight - and given a bottle of wine as a welcome gift), to the trip to the supermarket and tour around St John’s, to the car hire arranged for us, to all the information on beaches, restaurants and places of interest, to the sad goodbyes on departure day. Gabby and Douglas were always on hand (but never intrusive) to help and to make sure we had everything we needed for a perfect holiday – and it was perfect.
For anyone visiting Antigua make Yepton your home, you will not be disappointed
Transport is essential if you want to visit the many beaches, although there a two within walking distance, also to go to one of the many restaurants you will need transport.
Thank you once again Gabby and Douglas for a wonderful holiday, also thank you Sharon for keeping our lovely cottage clean and tidy during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were making our first visit to Antigua and made the decision to stay at the Yepton Cottages based upon reviews here. We were not disappointed. The cottages were beautifully well equipped; the setting next to the lagoon, populated by all sorts of birds (including numerous well-fed Pelicans), was tranquil and quiet but also only a short walk to the beach. The best part of our visit, however, was the hospitality of Gaby and Douglas - they took hours out of their schedules to take us to the supermarket and advise us on the best local produce, and to explain all the local roads and the best ways to navigate the island and find its hidden gems. We only spent five days in Antigua and if we had stayed at an big resort I don't think we would have seen much of the island, but thanks to Gaby and Douglas's suggestions we feel like we explored in every direction. I couldn't imagine returning to Antigua and not staying at Yepton again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

What an amazing stay in Antigua. From the outset Gaby and Douglas were helpful. My emails were always responded to and car hire was arranged for us with no hassle whatsoever.

The cottage was lovely with so many of the features that are useful when catering for yourself. The cool box and tupperware boxes were so handy for taking lunch to the beach and the BBQ was amazing for our evenings in. The cottage was clean and tidy with a lovely bed and a great shower room.

What really helped us was all the advice and directions Gaby and Douglas gave us. We toured some amazingly beautiful beaches that were away from the resort crowds. Without their wealth of experience we just wouldn't of found these places. They booked us into a couple of recommended restaurants that were outstanding. Sunset cocktails and dinner at the Sheer Rocks restaurant was amazing. I would advise navigation of some sort as the paper map is not that detailed. I downloaded a free offline sat nav app to my phone called OsmAnd that helped us no end. Douglas even told me he had a hand in the islands mapping!

I really hope we can visit Antigua again soon. If so we would most definitely stay at Yepton Estate Cottages.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a beautiful place. Charming well-equipped cottages. Peaceful location, away from the crowds. Coconut Beach is 5 minutes walk. Deep Bay, a little further away, became a daily pilgrimage for us, swimming and dozing and basking in blissful forgetfulness of a northern hemisphere winter. Gaby and Douglas have created a haven of tranquility here. They are genuine, generous and welcoming people but they know when to leave you alone too. A perfect balance. They are also hugely knowledgeable about the island which we found very helpful. When we go back to Antigua, we will definitely stay with them again (if they're not booked up!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had the most beautiful holiday Gaby and Doug gave the best service one can hope for when holidaying you sure can't get that type of personal great service at a hotel our home anytime we are in Antigua.

Room Tip: All are grat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Address: Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.