We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased we chose Yepton Cottages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages to your Saves list
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“So pleased we chose Yepton Cottages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed just 6 nights but felt very impressed at the hospitality shown by Gabriella & Douglas. They were so helpful with any request and provided everything we could possibly need in the cottage. The setting was very peaceful and beautiful with a variety of birds and animals to watch. We had BBQ's every night. The cottages were close to the capital St Johns with two nice beaches within walking distance. All in all a great place to stay and one we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
247
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Maybe Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages is just my paradise; but at least it is the best place what I would reccommend YOU to stay in Antigua. We stayed here already in 2007 and from the very first moment when we arrived at the cottages Gabriela and Douglas reminded me immediatelly, why we came back. Because of (beside of this beautiful island with amazing beaches and all other scenic attractions):

1. The hospitality and perfect management of the owners Gabriela and Douglas,
2. The beautiful cottages (fully equipped, you don't miss anything),
3. The perfect service at all and the cleanliness of the cute cottages,
4. The proximity to the nature,
5. The quietness and relaxation.

We stayed there for three weeks but the days flushed away like only 2 days... Gabie anticipate our every wish (someone said, she must be a fairy - that's true), Douglas is very charming and a living encyclopedia of Antigua and had for every day an insiders' tip where to go and what to visit, they were always top friendly and managed our stay from the very first day until our departure in a just perfect way. At the end, you can do what you want, but you won't resist: you will leave the both as friends... Yepton's Estate Cottages has for us the 'definitely come back factor'.

I truly can confirm all other positive replys. Gabriela and Douglas did everything that our stay became unforgettable. They showed us all essential and useful places for a comfortable stay at the cottages (shopping center, local markets, tax free shops, restaurants - even the best fish&chips on the island - and much more) and made all reservations for our day trips. All together, I always had to remember, that we stayed in a self catering cottage - and not in a 5-star hotel!

Room Tip: If you are a bit interested in nature, I would suggest a cottage directly at the pond or the big (be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just Back From Yepton for the 3rd Time. Best place to stay in Antigua for a relaxing stay.

Great Relaxing Holiday. Good base for getting arround this lovely island.

Great Hosts Gabriella And Douglas cant do enough for you.

Immaculately Clean.

Nice beach just a short walk away.

Our Favourite place .

Room Tip: All rooms Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside toronto ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

You could not pick a better place to stay at to see the real Island of Antugua...Five star service, spotlessly clean and tasteful bungalows with full kitchens, dining area, bedroom, air conditioning, wrap around porch, view of the lake and the beach beyond, barbeque and a hammock swinging on your very own porch. Gabriella and Douglas pay attention to every single detail and will rent you a vehicle, give instructions, give you a cell phone to use in case you get lost. I cannot go on enough about this gem on the island. This couple and their estate cottages are real ambassadors of the island. If you want a taste of Antigua and want some peace and natural surroundings this is the place. Five star hotels are over rated as far as I am concerned....this was the best experience we have had and just so comfortable. Plan your day trips with the help of Douglas....and Gabriella is there for any little thing you may need....it's win win all the way! If you want reservations they know where the best places are and will arrange that personally. Getting married....they do weddings too. Family get together, celebrations such as honeymoons, anniversaries...they do those too. Unbelievable service from lovely people. Gabriella will take you grocery shopping to aquaint you with the stores...and Douglas is so informative about every little detail of the island including how to drive down the main street to not get stuck in any traffic.....the whole vacation was a breeze. We travel regularly......I never had less to do than when we came upon this location. They even have a cell phone that belongs to the cottages you can take with you until you find your way around......which is pretty simple to navigate. Just a wonderful place! I expected this island to be similar to the other Caribbean islands but it is not...pure natural beauty and not at all commercial! We woke up every morning to coffee on the porch watching the lake and all it's beautiful birds...pelicans crash landing in the water....hummingbirds, yellow birds and tiny lizards....like being on Gilligans island! Then off in the car for your day trips...or one of the 365 totally unspoiled beaches....if your snorkel or dive take your gear and your under water cameras......you will find a beach you can snorkel at or Gabriella or Douglas will find you a boat that is going to the wrecks or coral reefs....Zip lining through the rainforest, they have that too....the list is so long I could go on and on but your first step is to rent this place, email Gabriella...and you are on your way........

Room Tip: Any cottage at Yepton is a good cottage. All have a view of the lake and further is the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are a young couple who went for our honeymoon. Gabriela and Douglas the owners really made the experience. They are very professional and courteous helping out guests in any way possible with tips about the island. Our plane arrived late due to weather and they offered us a free frozen pizza and Coca-cola the first night of our stay because we were tired from traveling. They also gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our new marriage, and then took us to the grocery store the next day and supplied shopping tips and tips about exploring the island. The inside of the cottages are very clean and well furnished. Gabriela and Douglas obviously take pride in keeping all of the amenities in prime condition. The outside of the cottages are beginning to show some weather wear, and the mosquitoes and biting flies in the evenings prevented us from enjoying the outside as much as we could have, but the setting is truly beautiful. The pictures are accurate that there are lovely flowering bushes all around the property that are in constant bloom and there are many varieties of birds that come and visit the flowers including a beautiful hummingbird we once saw. The beach is a short, five minute walk through the Coconut Beach Resort. Beach towels are supplied along with beach chairs and a cooler to pack drinks or lunch. Gabriela and Douglas helped us arrange renting a car and we had fun exploring the island. This is an excellent base for anyone who does not want an all-inclusive resort, and is instead looking for a way to learn more about the island as a whole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is always hard to convince others how good it really is! Yepton Estate Cottages have now been open for 6 years, we know as this was our seventh stay there. To celebrate Gabriela put us in the brand new #3 Cottage, wheelchair accessible which Douglas was bound & determined to accomplish. Spacious & exceeding well laid out, this cottage adds to the charm of the Yepton Cottages now numbering six, two studios, three one-bedrooms, one extra space. This can be used as a second bedroom or stand alone single. The cottages form an arc looking out over a brackish lagoon separated from the ocean by a sand beach. The lagoon teems with birds & fish, pelicans, egrets, whistling ducks, moor hens, frigate birds, above and tarpon & others below. The tropical breezes come down the valley behind the cottages or in from the sea making sitting out very comfortable.
Gabie & Douglas always go out of their way to be sure their guests have all their questions answered, their reservations made, their excursions planned. We get asked why to we keep going back to Antigua, we still find new places to visit or old to revisit, a beach, a restaurant, a church, a fort, a craftsperson; we also find the people of Antigua very friendly; we have a delightful place to stay, run by Gabriela & Douglas wonderful people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the first email enquiry to Gabriela until we left after our wonderful 2 weeks, we felt very comfortable. We normally do not stay on the big Caribbean islands, but when we did some research we came across this very unique wonderful spot. Much has already been said in previous reviews that we wholeheartedly agree with.

Gabriela and Douglas are truly wonderful, the standards are set and maintained high. A 5 cottage site (soon to be 6) by the shallow (full of bird life) lake is superb.

But not for everyone. I suggest this works well for couples who wants a combination of relaxation and in relatively easy reach of beaches, and there are 2 within easy walking distance. It is a very quiet spot, although there are times when you can hear typical Caribbean (heavy bass) from Millers which is actually a long way (across the sound) from the property and you do occasionally hear the sound of large cargo boats and the cruise liners that come in for the day. But this is a minimal disturbance, and quite fascinating to watch these monster boats go past.

There are allegedly 365 beaches on Antigua. I would suggest the best is by a long way Half Moon Bay, although that is between 45-60 minutes drive to the other side of the island. But worth the effort, as the beach is truly wonderful, and excellent for snorkelling.

We stayed in a studio cottage. We did get the opportunity to view the 1 bedroom one as well, which in our opinion is much better without doubt. Cottages are equipped for all you need in terms of self catering, wifi is good, mains power is 110V with US plugs (I believe there is 220V as well, although I did not spot it).

If you are a bird lover, then I hope you get a visit from the West Indian Whistling Ducks, they are endangered, unusual and very charming.

You need a car in reality, especially if you are planning on self catering. It is a quiet and remote spot, and therefore somewhat hard to get to without transport.

Be prepared for the prices at the supermarkets - they are typically very high, sometimes by 300% on UK prices.

Simply a wonderful spot, especially with Gabriela and Douglas permanently on hand to assist, and their wonderful local knowledge comes in very handy. If we do return, we are for sure going for the 1-bedroom version!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Address: Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.