We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre visit review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Save Saved
You added Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pre visit review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have our tickets & reservation, but we have to wait till the due date comes. We are going back to the Wonderful Yepton Estate Cottages! Yes we have been there before, it is one of those places where once or twice just isn't enough. We will find Douglas & Gabriela waiting for us at the office, while we sign in Douglas will deliver our bags to our cottage then join us for a cool drink. What are we going to see on the island of Antigua, we will go to Valley Church beach, Half Moon Bay, St John's shopping, and sit on our porch watching the humming birds in the trees & others on the lagoon.
When we venture out Douglas will check to see if we need a freshener on directions and Gabriela will talk to us about special places for lunch or dinner. She always takes us to the grocery store our first morning before the car she has arranged is delivered. For us it like our special island home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
228
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect base from which to enjoy Antigua then you won't find any better than Yepton Estates. When my partner and I were first researching accomodation on Antigua we would read the reviews on here for Yepton and think "surely it can't be as good as everyone says it is? they must be exaggerating or made up?" but no. It really is as wonderful as everyone says it is. Firstly the hosts, Douglas and Gabriela; no doubt you will have read lots about them on here as we did before we booked. I can only tell you that what everyone else is saying is true; they are wonderful hosts that are not only exceptionally kind and welcoming but very very good at what they do. Nothing is too much trouble for them and when you leave you really do feel as though you will miss them! I would recommend taking Gabby up on her offer of taking you to the supermarket when you first arrive. She will guide you around, give you some insider tips on what to look out for and help you to feel settled and confident in your new environment. Also Douglas takes the time to go through a map of the isalnd and point out all the bits you really must see. A car is recommended so that you can explore the island and Gabby is more than happy to arrange this for you.

The accomodation is fantastic. We have never stayed anywhere before that so well appointed. It has everything you need from towlels, hairdryer, iron etc to every possible kitchen item you will need. Everything is clean, modern and comfortable. We stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage by the lake and would personally recommend it if you are looking for the prime postion - the view is wonderful. However we did get the opportunity to see the interioirs of the studio apartment also during our stay and they were exactly the same high standard and attention to detail as the 1 bed just more compact; both are lovely. Most nights we grilled food on the big bbq on the porch and sat there enjoying it whilst the sun went down. Some nights you see the cruise ships suddenly appear over the tops of the palm trees as they are leaving the island and it is quite a sight. Included in your cottage is a cool box and fold-down seats to take to the beach - we used these most days and they were really handy to have. The cottages all get wi-fi and satellite channels which is a nice touch.

In terms of Antigua itself, we both believe we have found the perfect holiday destination and it is an island we hope to visit many more times over the years. Before going there we had a slight reservation about safety as we had never been to the caribbean before and didn't know what to expect. As soon as we got there however we felt safe and confident almost straight away. There is a very low crime rate compared to other caribbean islands and the people are warm and friendly. Whenever we needed directions we would ask whoever we saw and everyone was helpful and keen to hear if we were enjoying our holiday. We went to a variety of different beaches when we were there but would particularly recommend Half Moon Bay - it is truly the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. Be advised that the water can get quite rough at certain points around Half Moon Bay so if you are looking for a place to bodysurf then go there. We would really recommend that you go sailing if you get the opportunity. Douglas very kindly arranged a place for both of us on a 40ft yacht and all we had to do was take along some beers - needless to say it was one of the best days of the whole trip!

All in all, Yepton Estates was the perfect place to stay and it made our holiday perfect. Gabby and Doug if you are reading this we will back again soon :)

James and Louise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed there 2 years ago. After staying a couple other similar places on other islands I have decided to write a review on how amazing this place was.

The cottages were perfect, quiet, yet simple.

The owners were so helpful, informative, welcoming. Our fridge was stocked with some food and drinks upon arrival. She even provided a meal to make that first evening. She took us to a grocery store that next day. They both were so helpful and giving island information and arranging dinner reservations.

I would definitely like to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Yepton is beautiful, quiet, clean and Gabriel and Douglas go out of their way to make you feel at home and get you settled on the island. Each cottage is quaint and stocked with good kitchen supplies and this is the perfect place for people who want to do a combination of eating home and eating out. The king size bed is super comfie, and you'll love sitting on the porch looking out at the lagoon. The closest beach is a 5 minute walk away, and it is lovely - but make sure to rent a car so you can explore the island and see all of the wonderful beaches Antigua has to offer. Totally recommended! A true escape from life! Yepton is about one thousand times better than a regular hotel!

Room Tip: two of the cabins directly face the lagoon, so you may want to ask for one of those if you want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Yepton and was again everything we wanted.

Excellent, faultless and very relaxing stay overlooking beautiful salt water lake and well maintained garden area and small pool, only at the very most a ten minute walk to a beautiful quiet beach.

Cottages are immaculately clean and owners and staff are very helpful, informative and go out of their way to make your stay as memorable and comfortable as possible.

We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay @ Yepton very much, Gaby & Douglas were very helpful, Gaby took us to a very well stocked supermarket when we arrived, arranged a car rental, and was never too busy to answer a question, Douglas offered advice about where to go on the island, best beaches, restaurants etc and was especially helpful when a tyre blew out and was unusable he arranged a replacement.

The cottages have a very pleasant view over the lake, and it was a relaxing comfortable few days which we would like to repeat, and would have no hesitation in recommending to others

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were looking for a quiet and private place where we could relax, away form the crowds (we live in NYC...) and we found it at Yepton estate, where we took advantage of a last minute cancellation. The property is very private yet close to St John and some large resorts if you feel like going to a restaurant or bar at night. Gabriela and Douglas are the perfect hosts: very discreet yet always available to provide helpful insiders' tips. A half an hour tutorial by Douglas set us up to handle the local road system...with its lack of proper signs and abundance of potholes. He gave us several recommendations for local restaurants (we really liked Papa Zhou) and beaches (Half Moon Bay and The Nest our favorites).
Gabriela made the reservation for a car for us and we had a nice RAV 4 delivered to the estate in the morning of our first day.
She also gave us a local cell phone so that she could be reached at any time if we needed her...and it was another thoughtful and highly appreciated gesture...
We had a studio cottage which was very well equipped and spotless clean. The grill in the porch was so clean that we were hesitant to use it! The internet connection worked perfectly and it allowed us to stay in touch.
Thank you Gabriela and Douglas for such a restful and pleasant vacation and for allowing us to get to know the beautiful island of Antigua in just 6 days! Oh, one last thing...the cottages are perfectly priced, actually a really high value for pricey Antigua.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottages have an extra room but if you are a couple the studios still have a fully e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages

Address: Yepton Estates, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yepton Estate Cottages is an award-winning private property on a bird sanctuary that hosts the rare West Indian Whistling Duck and other birds from many continents. Yepton Beach is within a 6-minute walk. All cottages have king beds, fully equipped kitchenettes, Cable TV, DVD player with free movies, electronic safe, FREE WIFI and much more. The cottages are ideal for the all-inclusive-weary and nature lovers who like to explore the island and all her wonderful beaches and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua`s Yepton Estate Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.