We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn La Galleria

Save Saved
You added Inn La Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn La Galleria
Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Nags Head, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I originally picked this place based on price, but I return because I love it. It's quiet and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast is wonderful and the view is spectacular. Each room has it's own personality. Most are quite large. The rooms and baths are always clean. The room with the outdoor kitchen is great if you're with a group. The nearest beach is Deep Bay, which I love for it's wide beach and gentle surf. This is a family run place and it feels more like a home away from home than a hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    6
    1
    10
See reviews for
4
22
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The best feature of this hotel is the spectacular view from the open air dining area and the lower level terrace. It was exhilirating for meals and meetings, as I was there with a group for a small conference. My room was just up from the inside lounge area, and it was spacious with a lovely view but there is quite a mix of rooms. Bedrooms are air-conditioned but the main dining and meeting area is not; overhead fans helped. This is basically a large bed and breakfast place so it does not have the amenities of a real hotel; beds are not great and towels and pillow low standard. However, the staff are very accommodating, the cost is reasonable, and there is free wi-fi all over the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms with a view of the Caribbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I recently stayed here with a friend, and we shared a room with 2 beds downstairs. I agree with some views that some of the common areas of the hotel are quite dowdy and a bit dusty/old. The room itself however, I was pleasantly surprised. They were quite clean and neat. True the sheets were thin, the pillows not fluffy, and the towels old. We were skeptical at first but I have to say there were absolutely no complaints as to the CLEANLINESS of the room as that really was our biggest concern. It was spotless. The rooms are all airconditioned and have a TV (although we didn't use). Our bathroom was VERY spacious.

Pros:
- very clean rooms
- even the common kitchen area was spotless (but there were not many ppl staying there at the time)
- FREE FAST wifi!
- rooms are cleaned every day (much to our surprise)
- VERY friendly staff. customer service a plus. For this reason alone I would stay here.
- there are great views from the upstairs eating area and there is a beautiful downstairs open patio area with amazing views

Cons:
- a bit out of the way location, but very do-able by car (we rented)
- place felt a bit old
- you should probably bring your own towel
- electrical outlets in the room scarce
- would not want to stay in the room we got (no. 12) downstairs near the kitchen, as the room is DIRECTLY outside the common kitchen area and you hear everything someone is doing. We were lucky because not many people were staying there at the time so noise was low.

Summary
You aren't going to get better than this for the price. Also Gregory is very pleasant and accommodated our needs and requests. When staying at a place fancy or basic, customer service and cleanliness is the biggest concern for me and this place scored both.

Room Tip: Do not choose room no 12 near the kitchen if the guest house is busy as it gets very noisy with kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I am Antiguan and I chose this quaint lil Inn based on the fact that I wasn't planning to spend much time in the room w/ my bf as we had a lot of activities planned to tour the Island. The pictures looked nice enough on the website and the price was pretty decent so I was sold. Oh what disaster! The cobwebs, the filth was OH MY GAWD awful! When you walk up the reception area there was a table a little way over that was just flat out DIRTY! I could not imagine why no one thought to clean it. The sheets on the foam bed were paper thin and the pillows - oh the pillows! We had a double bed w/ an additional single bed placed awkwardly in the room. The curtains were mildewed. However the bathroom was nice and clean so I must give them that. No toilet paper were in there tho :o Breakfast was lovely. I cannot take that away from them but no matter how many times my bf said, "as long as we are together it doesn't matter" I could not stay there longer than one night. The next day I called Gregory into the room and showed him the picture on the website and told him that the room looks nothing like it and so he agreed to refund us and have us leave. I saw some pics here of other rooms so they probably do have much nicer rooms but they surely can clean up the place a little bit man!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week here at the start of April 2012. We had a fantastic time. The hotel has a fine outlook (sunsets) with nice green surrounding garden. It is located very close to what is probably the most beautiful and deserted beach on the island (Deep Bay - complete with the opportunity to snorkel around a sunken ship).
The room was basic but clean and bright (perhaps the mattress was a little saggy). The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
If you want top-end luxury, then possibly its not the place for you, but if you want somewhere more relaxed and friendly, then it is exceptionally good value.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window. Someone said that not all rooms had them (although we never saw such a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

the hotel is reached via pitted driveway that matches the fading condition of the whole place. everything is a bit shabby and worn. odd that they don't provide meals other than breakfast. we ate at the hotel down the road and it was dreadful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just v
came back from a 2 week vacation in Antigua. We booked the Inn La Galleria for our first few nights with intentions of finding another place. After several days, we just couldn't leave. Mr. Gregory and Patricia treated us like Royalty. We had the Island View room and the view from our room was really an, "island view". We were able to watch the cruise ships coming into port every morning from our little deck which had a table and 2 chairs. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The air-conditioning was more than adequate. Mr. Gregory actually took us on a tour of Hawksbill and several other places one day. The owners will also book taxis's, rental cars and day trips for you. This is definitely not a new building and at first site we were just a little nervous because the building really needs a little attention. By our third day, it really grew on us and we loved it! The balconies in the common area had breathtaking views and it was peaceful and quiet. The best beach on the entire island is within walking distance of the INN - very calm, clear waters. We are not first time travelers and have been to the Caribbean many, many times to numerous islands and can definitely say that this is the friendliest island that we have ever been to. The value for this accommodation is great. We never really spent much time in the room anyway, always on the go, but this room was very conducive to sleep and relaxation!

Room Tip: We really loved the Island View room. Small, but clean and comfortable with the best view in the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn La Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn La Galleria

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn La Galleria is an intimate and small hotel located in five Islands on the North West Coast. The views are spectacular overlooking Deep Bay and two lagoons. We offer a friendly and personalized service to all our guests and are happy to spend time directing our guests to the hidden treasures of Antigua. an ideal base for groups, couples or families looking to discover Antigua at their own pace, at great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn La Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn La Galleria Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn La Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.