We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is my balcony?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
Anchorage Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Anchorage Road | P.O. Box 249, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Where is my balcony?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

According to the website of the hotel : "Each room has a private balcony". Well, mine had no balcony, as I think half a dozen of their rooms.
Room was quite small, with a large king size bed occupying most of the room area. Not a lot of space remaining for storing my stuff. When coming back from the beach, I always had difficulty to find a place to let my towel dry. The missing balcony didn't help. The room was clean. One problem of that room is that you have no privacy when the curtains are open, as all people of the other rooms pass right in front of the room's window to access theirs.
Location of the hotel is not bad, but you are a little bit in the middle of nowhere, near a large pond with a lot of birds. Take some time to look at the pelicans fishing there, it is amazing.
I went to the beach by foot, either to Runaway beach (by going around the pond clockwise) or Dickenson beach (around the pond anti-clockwise); something like a small half hour to go to either one. But be warned, the road is a little bit dangerous for pedestrians, as the drivers in Antigua drive very fast. If you stay for more than a couple of days you should consider to rent a car to be able to see more of the 365 beaches of Antigua.
Room had a fridge and a microwave (which was doing a terrific noise as the mechanism of the rotating table was broken). If you want to self-cater, one of the biggest supermarket of the island (named 1st Choice) is 10 minutes away by foot (on the left when leaving the hotel).
Free breakfast is composed of fresh fruit salad and a choice of either toasts and marmalade or pancakes, all freshly prepared for you on demand.
There is a good Internet connection (wired) in the room for free.
Taxi to/from the airport is USD16 and takes something like 15-20 minutes.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    11
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
13
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Johns, Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We visit Antigua every year but wanted somewhere to stay near St Johns before going on to Montserrat. We checked out the reviews and nearly didn't book because of 1 or 2 dreadful ones (although all the other reviews are very positive).
What we have found is a truly honest, safe and secure, excellent-for-value gem close to the capital, and we wish we were staying longer! The staff have all been more than helpful, the room spotlessly clean, the bed exceptionally large and comfortable and the continental breakfasts that we elected to have, wholesome, fresh and very tasty.
We travel a lot in the Caribbean and we wish that all the places we have encountered would come up to the traditional Caribbean atmosphere and high standards that the Anchorage Inn sets.The hotel is quieter than the management would like but we will definitely be returning! We booked directly with the hotel. Truly excellent value for money - we can not recommend it highly enough.
Ian and Mandy Maple

Room Tip: Excellent view of the lagoon and towards the sea at the front. Traffic did not present a problem noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent hotel and lovely location near beaches, restaurants and out of town.
Staff are lovely and at tentative to your needs, even let us use a room for showering after check out. Would def stay here again and I recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have no regrets for staying at the Anchorage Inn in Antigua.It is affordable, comfortable, clean, tranquil and a quiet family owned hotel which made our vacation a most memorable one. The building, decor and environment continue to maintain the history of the island and exudes a tropical feeling. The Anchorage Inn is idealy located within walking distance from the beach, deli/supermarket, just outside the main town of St Johns and close to the airport. The staff is very helpful and cordial. These qualities made us feel welcome.They enquired regularly about our well being and were always prepared to do all in their powers to make us comfortable and happy. If you want to experience a dream vacation, one that is comfortable, affordable and memorable then we suggest you stay at the Anchorage Inn.

Room Tip: "Room overlooking the pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena N, Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind comments on this forum. We hope you continue enjoying your stay with. Any thing we can do to make your time with us more comfortable, please just ask.

Thank you once again from Anchorage Inn "Your home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bourg mulatresse
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Anchorage in August of this year2011 and it was most relaxing , My afternoon swim in the pool before dinner,The courtesy and willingness of the staff made my stay even more refreshing to my mind,The staff was ALWAYS willing to assist in wharever my request was, and I mean this even down to the handyman....Thank you Charles Thank you all.

Room Tip: look for a room overlooking the pool, most refreshing on an evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Anchorage Inn was a delightful place to stay, ours was a last minute decision to vacation and we had to stick to our budget.
The staff couldnt have been more accomodating, nothing was too much trouble, it was quiet and peaceful,the food was good, bar well stocked and located close to all amenities and beaches and the golf course which my Husband was thrilled about ( I am not a golfer and the beach with my children is my way of relaxing)....being close to both was very convenient we were able to hook up for various meals together.
The ambiance at the hotel was wonderfully Caribbean, made me feel I was really on a tropical island far away from my normal cold miserable hometown....we will definately stay there if we go back to Antigua . The rooms are clean and well serviced, the price is right and it was great value for money.Would reccomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: book early, call and explain your needs so as to get exactly what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Anchorage was a really great place to stay. Its location was just outside of St. Johns, although you had to take a bus or taxi to get around. There is a deli/supermarket just down the road and the beach is walking distance if you like to walk. Anchorage is especially nice when you compare prices of other hotels to what they offer. A pool, bar and restaurant on property for under US100; plus free hi-speed internet (you can stream videos) :).
The staff there are warm, friendly and ensure that your stay is quite comfortable. The place to stay in Antigua!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: Anchorage Road | P.O. Box 249, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel St. John`s
Anchorage Inn Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.