We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploration, adventure, great snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Antigua

Adventure Antigua
Dickinson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
268 726 6355
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locally owned and operated, educational, adventure company guiding to little islands and secluded bays off the beaten track. Tours have themes of history and ecology mixed in with the best snorkeling and sightseeing. All of the crew are passionate about the island and it's unique coastline and their goal is to make sure your day spent on one of their boats is the best you will experience while in the Caribbean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exploration, adventure, great snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Eco Tour - In the beginning we were a bit worried that the trip might be a disaster. It was raining all the way to our first stop and the crew wasn't very talkative as we passed by things.The rain let up by the time we reached Hell's Gate. At the actual stops: Hells Gate, Bird Island, Mangroves, etc. the crew was more talkative/informative.

Hell's Gate was fun to explore, walking through the cave and on top of the bridge. Bring water shoes (the rocks are sharp). You have the option to snorkel or explore Hell's Gate. Do the latter. The main snorkeling location is later on in the trip. The mangroves were beautiful. The snorkeling location was fantastic with tons of coral and fish. They had an advanced group and a beginners snorkeling group, so you could swim as close or far from the boat as you wanted. They provided snorkeling gear, including flippers.

Safety was always a priority for the crew: They provided life jackets for those that needed them, helped with finding footing during hikes, getting in and out of the boat, and provided snorkeling lessons to first timers. Bird Island was beautiful from the top, definitely do the hike rather than stay at the beach. I got some beautiful panoramics! Lunch was very good: pasta salad, lettuce salad, fried plantains, baked chicken, fruit juices, rum punch... and there was plenty for seconds!

It was a great tour and I would recommend it to other first time visitors. It could be improved by talking more about Antigua itself or some of the formations we passed. When things were talked about it was only loud enough for select parts of the boat to hear. A mega phone would be a nice touch so that everyone can hear.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    37
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We went on the Eco tour today. We had a wonderful time. Got a nice tour of interesting parts of Antigua. Enjoyed Hells Gate and finished with an hour of snorkeling. Nice time and excellent crew.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hell’s Gate and Plenty More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

During our stay at the lovely Galley Bay resort we wanted to do a water excursion. We selected the Eco Tour based on previous excellent reviews and the number of hours (6) fit into our day perfectly. We had to walk to a neighboring resort for pick up, due to the fact that the beach at our resort was too rough for the boat to come in. It also gave us the opportunity to see another resort in the area. We had a wonderful day. The three hands on deck were knowledgeable, fun and very accommodating. Trevor was the main source of information, and the leader of most of the tours off the boat. A very good speaker, and very informative, we learned a great deal about the history and important aspects of the island, as we made our way through the waters on the northern leeward side of the island.

We made three stops. The first was at Hell’s Gate, a magnificent limestone rock formation surrounded by the Caribbean Sea on one side, the Atlantic Ocean on the other, with a large whole between the two. We had the opportunity to get off the boat and explore the caves within and climb up and walk along the top. We were given water sox, which were perfect for the swim and the climb. Flip flops would not have worked! What an amazing experience!!! The footing was a bit troublesome, but it was worth every nerve-racking minute!! When everyone was back on the boat, lunch was served, and it was delicious! Roasted chicken, salad, pasta salad and banana bread, which all tasted home cooked!! Finger-likin' good!! The next stop was an uninhabited island. We got off on the beach and climbed to the top of a mountain which gave the most breathtaking views!! We then boated to a reef area on the other side of the island to snorkel, in two groups: beginner and advanced. We went on the advanced tour, which was manageable. There was a good amount of coral formations and some colorful fish that were mostly on the smaller side. Then it was time to head back.

An awesome day on the water!! Highly recommended!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Antigua Classic Yacht Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We sailed with Noel and David on very calm seas and had a very relaxing day. The tour starts and ends at Jolly Harbour with 5 hours at sea on the Caribbean side, anchoring at Carlisle Bay for lunch. Great views of Monserrat. We had 2 snorkelling stops at Cades Reef (the best snorkelling) and David came in the sea with us to guide us to the interesting parts. This trip is very professional, with courteous staff and with eco-tourism in the foreground rather than "booze cruising" although a rum punch is on offer.

The food/lunch was very tasty with great home-cooked banana cake.

Tip: If you book online you will receive a discount - however, that discount will then be taken off in a different way - we then had to pay our own transportation fees one-way because we had an online discount. It's a shame that this is not disclosed any where on the web pages and this was the only bad experience we had - the tour itself was wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The nice thing about this tour was that it not only included some wonderful snorkeling, but also the ecology and history of the area. It was fascinating to climb over the volcanic archway at Hell's Gate and stand with the Atlantic on one side and the Caribbean on the other. A wonderful lunch was served along with plenty of rum punch.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Antigua also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Adventure Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.