We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bambula

Cafe Bambula
Lower High Street, St. John's, Antigua
268 5626289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 77 restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe BamBula is a resto-style garden situated in the heart of St.Johns offering a wide selection of French-Mediterranean cuisine.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Absolutely incredible food! Six of us visited in September, everything we ordered was amazing! I think we shared just about everything on the menu. It was all excellent. So glad we left the resort to have a day in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    66
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome cafe in downtown St. John's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

You almost can't believe that such a gem of a restaurant lies down this alley on a main street in bustling downtown St. John's. In fact, unless you really look hard, it's easy to overlook the entrance to Cafe Bambula from the street!!

Walk down the alley, and you'll pretty much enter a culinary paradise!! French chef, Hugues, whips up amazingly simple yet delicious dishes (fish soup, beef carpaccio, baked escargots, etc...) in a cozy and welcoming atmosphere while hostess Ellen takes care of your every need with a lovely smile and a lilting Irish accent.

The menu changes daily, but anything you order will be delicious and fairly priced.

Give it a try...you won't be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We read good things about Cafe BamBula on Trip Advisor and even though our place was all inclusive, I wanted to try it. We visited during Carnaval and it was a nice quiet place to get away from all the noise. We were promptly greeted and ordered a rum punch because someone said they serve the best one. It was different, but I liked it because all the others I had were fruit punch with an overload of rum. The decor was very nice. My husband had a caesar salad with blackened shrimp and I had a yummy steak with fries. The food was really good. The price was way more than I ever would have spent back home - but we were on vacation!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Succulent fresh seafood dishes made by a chef who cares, great staff, beautiful little spot tucked away... Cafe Bambula is fabulous!
We happened upon the cafe while walking to another more known place but thought Cafe Bambula looked cute, so we went in for what was supposed to be a quick cocktail and ended up staying for hours, trying everything on the menu and hanging out with the chef and staff. We died and went to heaven when trying the conch ceviche and conch steak... incredible.
Cafe Bambula is a gem, don't miss out on it when in St. John's. Merci Chef Hugh!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We normally go to Hemingway's for lunch when visiting St. John's, but having seen the reviews thought we'd try it; very glad we did! Good variety of freshly cooked food (from Lobster salad to homemade burgers) and a great welcome. It really is central and worth seeking out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bambula also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Cafe Bambula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bambula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.