We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise for the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas at Sunset Lane to your Saves list
The Villas at Sunset Lane
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise for the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything in the previous reviews is spot on. Many of the hotels in the islands are spotty with the usual problems. This is a small boutique hotel, but it is my number one choice for Antigua. Jackie has put a great deal of thought and hard work into making this an excellent place to stay. Her attention to detail shows in every aspect of the hotel. As a business traveler, the wi fi signal is strong, and it does not fade. Jackie is an accomplished chef, and she uses fresh, local ingredients in her dishes. Her salads are especially memorable because you can tell all of the ingredients are fresh -- as opposed to the wilted vegetables you find at so many island hotels. Ryan is "Johnny on the spot' when it comes to anything you need. Thanks again, Jackie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
78
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at The Villa's in April, part of a split holiday for a special Birthday, returning there (after a week in Tortola) for a couple more days - before flying back to the UK and coming down to earth with a bit of a bump after all the pampering we'd received at Jaquie's hands! Nothing was too much trouble for this wonderful host who is truly (as a previous reviewer said) "gracious". Jacquie is The Heart of The Villas, a practical, highly capable and professional lady - yet someone who thought nothing of, on her knees, personally anointing my 2nd day sunburn gently with aloe vera juice from her garden. Initially we were met at the Airport by Ryan (and also for the infamous LIAT flights for the Tortola part of our holiday) and took us wherever we wanted on the island, recommending best places. He served us delicious rum punches on the terrace every evening, followed by wines and Jacquie's wonderful home-cooked food every evening - and again at the splendid breakfasts. Off the dining room is a comfortable sitting room, but we barely used IT as there was always something else to enjoy. Jacquie had designed the dining room itself strategically, for guests to be able to enjoy the panoramic views and evening sunsets (some of which were glorious!!). It has several sets of french windows that open onto the terrace and, depending on the weather etc, we could sit at either place. One memorable evening we enjoyed some wonderful fish that a fellow guest had caught that very afternoon! Ryan also took us to various local restaurants and wonderful beaches with sparkling waters, pointing out and answering questions about places of interest en route (making the best of Antigua’s roads!). We also enjoyed peacefully wallowing in The Villas' spotless pool, and had wonderfully relaxing massages in an adjacent room. Our bedroom was really sumptuous and airy, and had excellent air conditioning – with a walk-in closet (plenty of space for our clothes and clutter) and a huge ensuite bathroom – all spotlessly maintained by discrete yet helpful maids. We cannot recommend The Villas enough, and really wish to return to this happy oasis of civilisation and calm, surrounded by pleasant gardens - all of which Jaquie masterminded and had built into the hills to enable its wonderful views. It doesn't do The Villas justice to say "It felt like Home" because it was obviously SO much better/different, but we hope this review gives readers a flavour of what we mean... cosy yet spacious, homelike yet luxurious (but not commercial or pretentious), comfortable and welcoming with congenial yet professional service, a unique place with an informal and relaxed ambience which met all our needs!
Hazel & Richard Beckley

Room Tip: There are a great selection of rooms/suites, to suits different needs, and priced accordingly - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gracious Indeed! Jackie and her staff, especially, Ryan, are all about customer service. We stayed for 5 nights and used a Groupon, which made our stay extremely affordable. The resort is well-kept and less than a 10 min walk from a public beach. Jackie's food is much better than I've had at other resorts int the Carribean and she is truly interested in your palate. Although driving in Antigua is challenging, it is great to get to see the island. The locals are extremely friendly and help with directions. Jackie can arrange for a car. It is worth it, just have some patience. Don't think twice about staying here - you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are few places one visits and comes away 100% completely happy with everything - but this is one of those. We stayed on the recommendation of some very good friends and so glad we did. Jackie is so lovely, we felt like we were at Auntie Jackie's fabulous house in the tropics. Everyone was so accommodating, nothing was a problem, everything just relaxed and wonderful. Jackie has an impressive kitchen and she knows how to use it! I wandered up one morning and poked my head in the kitchen. We ended up chatting while she cooked, it was such a nice way to start the day. All the meals we're delicious, casual, fresh, creative and homemade. The beach is nearby and more busy if you need a change from the tranquillity of the pool. We found a number of things to be included that other resorts would charge for so value for money was very good. That adds to feeling good when your wallet isn't constantly under attack. It was my x0th birthday and there was not only flowers arranged but the most amazing cake! Oh, when we arrived, were greeted by Jackie and a nice hug. It was so sweet :-). When we moved on to a big resort for the second week, I was standing in the large open air, modern, polished reception, all the staff stayed behind the long wooden desk. I felt like I wanted hug to say welcome, but they were all too busy. :-) Jackie, you really won us over and we won't forget our blissful week in your resort(home). Thank you!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in September with Jackie at the Villas. We have been to B&Bs etc before but have never had an experience as gracious as this. Coming home to the Villas after a days excursion was like visiting a favorite Auntie who just happens to be a gourmet chief. We were greeted like family from the time we stepped onto the beautiful grounds of the Villas. My husband likes to cook and even joined the kitchen staff to teach them how to make his favorite Cajun Gumbo. I have dietary restrictions and Jackie and her staff were very accommodating to my needs. Any day trips you care to take, talk to Jackie she can arrange it all. Ryan is her right hand man and we really learned a lot about the island and local customs just from talking to him.
The beach views from the dining area are amazing. We especially enjoyed watching the humming birds and other colorful birds in the lush gardens surrounding the property. If you are a bird lover bring your binoculars. We even enjoyed the walk to the beach as it gave us time to stop and examine tropical foliage, lizards and birds we had never seen before.
I had one of the best massages ever in the spa, with the open air and birds chirping in the trees who needs music.
One day we took a taxi tour with Barry. It was a very enjoyable and informative day indeed. We are farmers and at our request he did some research and brought us to a Talapia fish farm along with all of the usual spots of interest.
Just go to the Villas you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Well , what a lovely place to stay . We recently spent our honeymoon with Jackie , Ryan and the team .
Firstly the people , Jackie leads a team who can't do enough for you and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive
The rooms are lovely and we had room 3 on the first terrace overlooking the pool , after a week we had an air con problem and rather than wait for an engineer Jackie moved us immediately into the premier honey moon suite . She really knows how to spoil you , champagne on arrival and on my wife's birthday all complimentary .
Ryan is a star and will do any ting ya want !!
Antigua highlights for us apart from staying at the Villas were , Shirley Heights on Sundays , round the island boat trip ( beware the rum punch) and a day trip to Barbuda
However the very special star was Antigua , Sun , Rum and the people are so friendly . Do hire a car and get around I'm sure you will meet everybody on the island
Can't wait to return

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the first moment we were picked up at the airport we knew we had made the right decision in choosing to spend our honeymoon at The Villas at Sunset Lane. Ryan was the first person we had the privilege of meeting, he was extremely polite and made us feel comfortable immediately. As soon as we arrived at the beautiful boutique hotel, Jackie was ready to greet us and settle us into our suite- a light lunch was quickly provided which was so delicious! We had only been there for a short few hours and already we felt at home. Jackie, Ryan and the whole team stopped at nothing to make our stay special. On our 2nd or 3rd day there we were given a complimentary boat tour... that took us around the whole island of Antigua, stopping at a beach for snorkeling and lunch. We were so grateful for that gift! Another surprise was when we came back to our room after a day at the beach (5-10 minute walk to get there) to find rose petals all over and our hot tub filled to the top with bubbles and complimentary champagne! It was so thoughtful.

The islands beauty stands on it's own but Jackie and the whole team made it so much more remarkable. The food, the accommodations, the view and the staff was beyond our expectations. If you're looking to stay at an intimate, relaxing and beautiful place look no further, you will not regret staying at The Villas on Sunset Lane!

David & Cristy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Sunset Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.