We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing amazing ..... Oh.... Did I say Amazing?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Save Saved
You added The Villas at Sunset Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Villas at Sunset Lane
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Anniversary Special
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in St. John's
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing ..... Oh.... Did I say Amazing?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I am still here and I don't want to
Leave!!! The
ambiance is extremely serene and beautiful. Jackie is so attentive and genuinely excited about her guests and more than invested in ensuring that they have an excellent experience. This place is perfect for a relaxing retreat and I can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
61
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are a young couple from Europe who spent an unforgettable week in January 2013 at this really beautiful boutique hotel! Jackie -the owner and an excellent chef as well!- is really exceptional! Everything is perfect : the hotel has a marvellous view on Dickenson Bay , the rooms are big and so clean, the food is excellent and Jackie's rum punch rocks! Ryan is a great guy and he will drive you everywhere you want to! Don't hesitate to ask him for the hot spots of the island : he 'll give you the best addresses! We even celebrated New Year on the beach! Great memories ...if you're thinking of visiting Antigua , this is definitely THE place to stay!!!

Some tips : Rent a car and discover the island - it's a real fun!!! (ask Jackie to organize the car rental for you!) - Don't miss to visit Barbuda (the sister island of Antigua - REAL PARADISE!!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As stated in other reviews the Villas is about a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach. It does get busy when the cruise ships are in so try to go on non cruise ship days if you prefer a quieter time.

Jackie organised a car hire for us (delivered to the villa) which we'd thoroughly recommend. It was great to cruise around the island finding some quieter beaches and seeing some of the towns and other attractions.

Stars of the show at this place are the staff, in particular Jackie and Ryan. Jackie is incredibly welcoming and the heart and soul of the villas. Every day she serves up wonderful food on the balcony overlooking Dickinson bay. There's no menus and no need for them. Jackie is a wonderful cook and ensures all her guests needs are catered for, listening to their likes and dislikes and being sure to cook everyone happy. She took great care to cater for my vegetarian wife, going so far as not to serve cheese that she wasn't 100% sure was vegetarian.

Ryan is an unsung hero. Happy to drive you into town, down to the beach or take you elsewhere he was full of interesting insights and useful advise about the island.

After a day exploring the island Sunset is the perfect place to come home to. Excellent home cooked food, rum punch, friendly chats with the other guests and staff and a view of the sunset to die for.

J&L

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villas for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we arrived, Jacqui made us feel so very welcome.
This is an all-inclusive hotel, but nothing feels regimented. Relaxation and comfort are certainly key in the hotel's philosophy.
Our room was very comfortable and all facilities were very clean and fully functional. Jacqui's staff were always polite, courteous and helpful. The food is amazing - Jaqui's cooking is of the highest standard and is a major feature of this hotel.
If you are looking for a place to stay that benefits from feeling like a home-from-home, then we would thoroughly recommend the Villas at Sunset Lane as the perfect place to stay in Antigua.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for the big resort hotel on the beach with all the guests and amenities including beach umbrellas and wait staff outside your room; then, you missed your turn at the end of Sunset Lane.
This is like having a private villa with a great chef and your own driver.
Jackie and Ryan were wonderful. The food is excellent and cooked to order whenever you want it. Home cooking too. The conversation with Jackie is as wonderful as the food. Get Ryan to give you a personal driving tour around the island if you want to know more about Antigua.
I took a chance and set up a massage. They had a lady come out just for my spa treatment. It was wonderful, one of the best I have had.
Quiet, peaceful, great food and someone to take care of your every need.
That beach with all of its umbrellas and bar tenders is only about a 10 walk.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms below are very nice. But they do not have as good a view and they have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abeche, Chad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there out of season so at one stage I was the only guest. Fantastic room, very spacious, quiet, pool to myself. It was my birthday and Jackie made me a cake and showed me around the kitchen. Very well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I just spent four days at this hotel and we were both thoroughly pleased. The hotel itself is impeccably clean as well as beautiful with its bright colours and tasteful decor, however, it was the attentive and warm service that really impressed us most. Jackie is very accommodating to any dietary needs and prepared delicious gourmet meals for us. Ryan drove us anywhere we needed to go and did so with a smile. By the end of our stay we felt we were saying goodbye to old friends. I would most definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish
Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Nestled on a hillside above one of the most scenic beaches and with an ever-present view of the tranquil turquoise Caribbean Sea, this 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Sunset Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.