We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Save Saved
You added The Villas at Sunset Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Anniversary Special
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Farnham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent small boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went to Antigua in the first week in March and stayed 6 days at this hotel. We wanted a quiet, clean, and well run hotel and that is what we got.. The hotel is small with only a few rooms but is impeccably clean and the view of the sea from the balcony outside the dining room is stunning. We did not know it at the time but the location of the hotel so close to St Johns was far more convenient for us than being stuck on one of the larger resort hotels many of which are situated on more remote parts of the island. There is a beach only a few minutes walk away if you wish to swim or sunbathe although the hotel itself has a beautiful pool of its own. The food cooked by Jackie was excellent and we only had to ask to be provided with a drink be it soft or alcoholic.Ryan (Jackie's "aid de campe") was freely available to take us to St Johns, local supermarkets, on an island tour, or to pick us up or drop us at the airport and was always willing to go that "extra mile" for all of the guests. Jackie was attentive and a wonderful host and obviously has a drive to provide a truly excellent experience for her guests. The remainder of the staff were attentive but discrete. If you want dancing and loud music at night or wish to carouse noisily around the pool this is not the place to come. If you want a quiet retreat in which to relax you could do no better than book in here. Although we did not come to Antigua on business I find it difficult to believe that you could make a better choice than to stay here. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
70
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Villas offers a truly one of a kind all-inclusive experience. We stayed for a week in February and couldn't have been more pleased. The stunning pink and white exterior stands out and yet blends into this Caribbean Paradise. Situated on a hillside above Dickenson Bay, 10 minutes from St. John and also from the airport, 5 minutes to the beach, it is in an ideal location.
The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, as are Jackie and Ryan. The food is indescribably better than most all-inclusives, and Ryan is a can-do guy who is willing and able to transport guests to the beach, airport, boat docks, out of the way shops, and common tourist destinations as his time and duties permit.
We really coudn't have done all we did that week without him, as we did not have a rental car. We blended easily into a wonderful ever-changing group of guests but could have also stayed to ourselves.
And I can't remember when I've had a more pleasant massage experience than with Barbara on property in the spa room. Absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend her. Jackie you are a gem!

Room Tip: Room 5 is right off the main floor and has an ocean view. No stairs to climb for those fabulous meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent.This is the only place that I will stay at when I am in Antigua. I have stayed at other locations and this is, by far, the best place on the Island.
Jackie and Her staff are incredible and Jackie's food is delicious.

I go to Antigua on business. Nice to finally have a comfortable place to stay.

Superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place, it's staff, location and the unique experience it offers is mind blowing

Having read and researched this place, we had high expectations that were well and truly delivered. Jackie is the most amazing host and chef and makes this place what it is. Our only disappointment was that we didn't stop longer ! The Villas started our extended trip to the Caribbean perfectly and having travelled across the globe extensively, The Villas offers something very special with service with a capital S !
We will definitely visit again as well as recommend this place without hesitation - in fact we already have !!

Thank you Jackie, Ryan and Leah and the rest of the team for making our trip so special

Room Tip: Ask upfront or check the website as all the rooms offer a different experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Villas for a week in February, and it was a wonderful experience. Jackie and her staff are most hospitable and attentive, the cuisine is excellent and adapted to individual tastes, there are many unexpected treats, and the ambience and the views from the hotel are superb. We had a large and very comfortable room with a first rate en suite, we enjoyed both the swimming pool and excise room, and we could not have had a better base from which to explore this beautiful island. And to cap it all Jackie gave us a delicious cake to take with us when we left. This is a superb hotel, with the huge advantage of easy conversations with Jackie, Ryan and the other staff, so that one has a real sense of belonging. Many thanks to all of them for looking after us so well and making our visit such a unique experience.

Room Tip: Talk to Jackie by email or phone to let her know your wishes. All the rooms have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane is a true find. This is a hotel for rest and relaxation. Its small size allows you the freedom to set your own schedule. It is place to be pampered and spoiled by someone who treats each guest as a most cherished friend. Jackie, the owner, makes the entire experience remarkable. Her service is comparable to none. My husband and I travel extensively. Yet, have never come across anything comparable to the Villas at Sunset Lane. If I could live somewhere forever, it would be here. When you go, you are truly leaving paradise. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the last week of January. We stayed in suite # 4 which was spotless and very comfortable.

Jackies incredible warmth and hospitality are mentioned in most reviews but allow me to elaborate on just how far she goes to ensure her guests are happy:

1. Our flight was several hours late and Ryan still managed to pick us up quickly.

2. One piece of our luggage was lost and Jackie literally offered me clothes and sandals out of her own closet.

3. When my husband didn't feel his best she produced wonderful homemade chicken soup and continued to ensure the following day that he was on the mend.

4. Wonderful treats for my husbands birthday included complimentary massages for BOTH of us, a phenomenal dinner of beef shanks and red velvet cake to top it off!

5. We were sent off to the airport with not only hugs and smiles but chicken salad sandwiches " just in case" we got hungry.

6. Finally, I absent mindedly forgot my sweater in the car as we left. Jackie immediately let me know they had it and that they would mail it to me.

The Villas is a very unique intimate boutique hotel. You will be well cared for.

Many thanks, once again, to Jackie and Ryan for everything.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Nestled on a hillside above one of the most scenic beaches and with an ever-present view of the tranquil turquoise Caribbean Sea, this 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Sunset Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.