We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas at Sunset Lane to your Saves list
The Villas at Sunset Lane
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Extravaganza!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
GreenLeadersGold level
High Peak
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place, it's staff, location and the unique experience it offers is mind blowing

Having read and researched this place, we had high expectations that were well and truly delivered. Jackie is the most amazing host and chef and makes this place what it is. Our only disappointment was that we didn't stop longer ! The Villas started our extended trip to the Caribbean perfectly and having travelled across the globe extensively, The Villas offers something very special with service with a capital S !
We will definitely visit again as well as recommend this place without hesitation - in fact we already have !!

Thank you Jackie, Ryan and Leah and the rest of the team for making our trip so special

Room Tip: Ask upfront or check the website as all the rooms offer a different experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
85
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Villas for a week in February, and it was a wonderful experience. Jackie and her staff are most hospitable and attentive, the cuisine is excellent and adapted to individual tastes, there are many unexpected treats, and the ambience and the views from the hotel are superb. We had a large and very comfortable room with a first rate en suite, we enjoyed both the swimming pool and excise room, and we could not have had a better base from which to explore this beautiful island. And to cap it all Jackie gave us a delicious cake to take with us when we left. This is a superb hotel, with the huge advantage of easy conversations with Jackie, Ryan and the other staff, so that one has a real sense of belonging. Many thanks to all of them for looking after us so well and making our visit such a unique experience.

Room Tip: Talk to Jackie by email or phone to let her know your wishes. All the rooms have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane is a true find. This is a hotel for rest and relaxation. Its small size allows you the freedom to set your own schedule. It is place to be pampered and spoiled by someone who treats each guest as a most cherished friend. Jackie, the owner, makes the entire experience remarkable. Her service is comparable to none. My husband and I travel extensively. Yet, have never come across anything comparable to the Villas at Sunset Lane. If I could live somewhere forever, it would be here. When you go, you are truly leaving paradise. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the last week of January. We stayed in suite # 4 which was spotless and very comfortable.

Jackies incredible warmth and hospitality are mentioned in most reviews but allow me to elaborate on just how far she goes to ensure her guests are happy:

1. Our flight was several hours late and Ryan still managed to pick us up quickly.

2. One piece of our luggage was lost and Jackie literally offered me clothes and sandals out of her own closet.

3. When my husband didn't feel his best she produced wonderful homemade chicken soup and continued to ensure the following day that he was on the mend.

4. Wonderful treats for my husbands birthday included complimentary massages for BOTH of us, a phenomenal dinner of beef shanks and red velvet cake to top it off!

5. We were sent off to the airport with not only hugs and smiles but chicken salad sandwiches " just in case" we got hungry.

6. Finally, I absent mindedly forgot my sweater in the car as we left. Jackie immediately let me know they had it and that they would mail it to me.

The Villas is a very unique intimate boutique hotel. You will be well cared for.

Many thanks, once again, to Jackie and Ryan for everything.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane is exceptional. The Villa itself is comfortable, but what makes it exceptional is the service, and the food.

It is in a residential area. There are no live bands, or pool staff trying to get you to dance, or play poolside bingo. It is very quite here, probably too quite for some. The entertainment is whatever you derive from interacting with the staff and your fellow guests. It is like living in a private villa, in which you are a guest. And that, I sense, is intended.

The rooms are clean, well appointed, and they look like new. The best view is from the patio off the dining room – every guest gets that view.

A tip for wine lovers: As stated, the food is exception. But the included wine is not, and there is no choice. If you enjoy decent wine with an outstanding dinner, then get Ryan to drive you to the liquor store (the Villa will drive you wherever you want to go, and like the food, it is included in the room price). Then give your wine to the Villa. They will serve it to you, white wine in an ice bucket at your table, the whole nine yards.

The Villa is not on the beach. But Ryan will drive you, and pick you up. My wife preferred to walk down (less than 10 minutes) and have Ryan drive her back. Personally, I found the beach stuffed to the high-tide mark with cruise ship passengers, hauled in by the bus load. I preferred the Villa’s pool, with a cold Wadadli in hand, and a sense of having arrived.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We searched and searched for the places we wanted to stay for our holiday to Antigua. We wanted a bit of luxury and a bit of authentic Antigua so first we chose Villas at Sunset Lane for the authentic part as we could see that we would experience the real island feeling as well as learn where to go/not to go from Jackie and Ryan. First mistake, we got all of what we expected at the Villas but the luxury was here also and despite going to "The Inn at English Harbour" for the second " luxury" part of our trip, after Jackie's cooking and overall hospitality of Jackie and her team we were never going to top this experience. I could go on and list all of the fantastic food we enjoyed and talk about the best Rum punch on Antigua but everyone has already said that and more. This is friendliest, cleanest, most welcoming hotel we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world and we have travelled a lot of places and paid much higher rates to stay at a lot less comfortable hotels. Food, we have never tasted food which makes your mouth go "zing" and "pop" and all those other superlative words that cooking critics come out with. We felt "smug" that we had been able to enjoy this superb food hosted by the wonderful Jackie.

Room Tip: Jackie has 2 rooms with lovely big beds and jacuzzi hotubs which are probably the ones to go for but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the moment we began planning our trip to Antigua, Jackie treated us like treasured members of her family. She advised us on our plans, arranged for a charter boat excursion and made sure that our Antigua experience was beyond perfect! Ryan met us at the airport with some paperwork that we needed and took us anywhere we needed to go - and even got us into exclusive places that tourists don't generally get to see! Evelyn took care of us with great warmth and good humor - getting us a cold drink or a sandwich before we even knew we wanted it!

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with spacious baths and lovely views. The air conditioning is individually controlled in each unit, but we always slept with the (screened) windows open for the wonderful night breeze.

The beautiful beach is about a 5 minute downhill walk, and a 10 minute walk back up the gentle inclined hillside - but Ryan is always available to give you a lift if you are feeling lazy. There are chairs on the beach for reading, nice little bars for a cool drink and we were never hassled by anyone on the beach! Everyone was friendly and eager to help us have the best experience.

Ryan took me into St. John's to shop one afternoon and I had a great time exploring the little touristy shops and street vendors. Without exception, the vendors were friendly and never pushy. I felt totally at ease shopping alone for little gifts for friends at home. Ryan also took us to the other side of the island one afternoon for a great lobster lunch on the beach. We felt comfortable, safe and welcome wherever we went.

But the star of all Antigua is Jackie! There are almost no words to express how warm, welcoming and wonderful Jackie is! She made sure we wore the right shoes for the adventure of the day, packed sandwiches for our lunch at the beach, gave us a cooking class, reminded us to apply mosquito repellent (although the mosquitos are worse in Wisconsin than in Antigua!!), filled our tummies with gourmet meals, and filled our hearts with happiness.

We wanted to stay forever! Thank you Jackie, Ryan & Evelyn for taking such good care of us. We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Your slice of paradise awaits you with open arms along with Jackie, who can't wait to personally welcome you to the Villas at Sunset Lane tucked away on a hillside overlooking one of Antigua's most scenic beaches - Dickenson Bay. This 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. From the time the first sunbeam shimmers on your face to the last sip of your final cocktail, you are guaranteed to have the perfect relaxing Caribbean vacation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Sunset Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.