We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Sunset Lane

Save Saved
You added The Villas at Sunset Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villas at Sunset Lane
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Anniversary Special
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Villas at Sunset Lane is exceptional. The Villa itself is comfortable, but what makes it exceptional is the service, and the food.

It is in a residential area. There are no live bands, or pool staff trying to get you to dance, or play poolside bingo. It is very quite here, probably too quite for some. The entertainment is whatever you derive from interacting with the staff and your fellow guests. It is like living in a private villa, in which you are a guest. And that, I sense, is intended.

The rooms are clean, well appointed, and they look like new. The best view is from the patio off the dining room – every guest gets that view.

A tip for wine lovers: As stated, the food is exception. But the included wine is not, and there is no choice. If you enjoy decent wine with an outstanding dinner, then get Ryan to drive you to the liquor store (the Villa will drive you wherever you want to go, and like the food, it is included in the room price). Then give your wine to the Villa. They will serve it to you, white wine in an ice bucket at your table, the whole nine yards.

The Villa is not on the beach. But Ryan will drive you, and pick you up. My wife preferred to walk down (less than 10 minutes) and have Ryan drive her back. Personally, I found the beach stuffed to the high-tide mark with cruise ship passengers, hauled in by the bus load. I preferred the Villa’s pool, with a cold Wadadli in hand, and a sense of having arrived.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
70
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We searched and searched for the places we wanted to stay for our holiday to Antigua. We wanted a bit of luxury and a bit of authentic Antigua so first we chose Villas at Sunset Lane for the authentic part as we could see that we would experience the real island feeling as well as learn where to go/not to go from Jackie and Ryan. First mistake, we got all of what we expected at the Villas but the luxury was here also and despite going to "The Inn at English Harbour" for the second " luxury" part of our trip, after Jackie's cooking and overall hospitality of Jackie and her team we were never going to top this experience. I could go on and list all of the fantastic food we enjoyed and talk about the best Rum punch on Antigua but everyone has already said that and more. This is friendliest, cleanest, most welcoming hotel we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world and we have travelled a lot of places and paid much higher rates to stay at a lot less comfortable hotels. Food, we have never tasted food which makes your mouth go "zing" and "pop" and all those other superlative words that cooking critics come out with. We felt "smug" that we had been able to enjoy this superb food hosted by the wonderful Jackie.

Room Tip: Jackie has 2 rooms with lovely big beds and jacuzzi hotubs which are probably the ones to go for but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the moment we began planning our trip to Antigua, Jackie treated us like treasured members of her family. She advised us on our plans, arranged for a charter boat excursion and made sure that our Antigua experience was beyond perfect! Ryan met us at the airport with some paperwork that we needed and took us anywhere we needed to go - and even got us into exclusive places that tourists don't generally get to see! Evelyn took care of us with great warmth and good humor - getting us a cold drink or a sandwich before we even knew we wanted it!

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with spacious baths and lovely views. The air conditioning is individually controlled in each unit, but we always slept with the (screened) windows open for the wonderful night breeze.

The beautiful beach is about a 5 minute downhill walk, and a 10 minute walk back up the gentle inclined hillside - but Ryan is always available to give you a lift if you are feeling lazy. There are chairs on the beach for reading, nice little bars for a cool drink and we were never hassled by anyone on the beach! Everyone was friendly and eager to help us have the best experience.

Ryan took me into St. John's to shop one afternoon and I had a great time exploring the little touristy shops and street vendors. Without exception, the vendors were friendly and never pushy. I felt totally at ease shopping alone for little gifts for friends at home. Ryan also took us to the other side of the island one afternoon for a great lobster lunch on the beach. We felt comfortable, safe and welcome wherever we went.

But the star of all Antigua is Jackie! There are almost no words to express how warm, welcoming and wonderful Jackie is! She made sure we wore the right shoes for the adventure of the day, packed sandwiches for our lunch at the beach, gave us a cooking class, reminded us to apply mosquito repellent (although the mosquitos are worse in Wisconsin than in Antigua!!), filled our tummies with gourmet meals, and filled our hearts with happiness.

We wanted to stay forever! Thank you Jackie, Ryan & Evelyn for taking such good care of us. We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A small but very special place. Very close to the beach, but up the hillside with a spectacular view!
Jackie the owner also is a wonderful chef and had special fresh meals daily! Ryan had my coffee ready every morning and only needed to be asked once(open the blinds and it was there in minutes). Ryan drove us wherever we wanted and got us there safe even though people drove crazy there. Jackie took care of all our special needs and arranged whatever we needed., I also want to thank Evelyn who cleaned the suite and helped at meals. We will miss talking with you while we had our coffee on the balcony. I hope your little one is feeling better.. We already miss you guys! (and the FOOD!)

Room Tip: The suites were large and had a complete kitchen that we never had to use. The other smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here overnight whilst I was in transit to Montserrat. If it wasn't for the fact that I had already booked my onward flight, I would have stayed right here for the duration of my holiday.
Jackie is the most fantastic host. I travelled as a single female and was made to feel welcomed and part of the family. I sat with her and her sisters in the kitchen whilst she prepared an evening meal for me fresh. We talked and drank local juices. I was then shown to my table out on the balcony, where I seduced by the view and the delicious meal.
My room was top class and I can’t thank Ryan enough for clearing the mosquitos that followed me in with his tennis racket looking tool, he took care of the others before I even got there.
I had an early start the next morning and Jackie made sure I had something to eat and take with me.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!
If you are THINKING about staying here, DON’T THINK, JUST BOOK YOURSELF IN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort atkinson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We first set foot stressed out when we arrived in Antigua. Our first two nights were at a hotel on the other side of the island. When we left our Hotel and arrived at the villas we new all stress was gone. Jackie and her staff greeted us with a lunch and drinks! Her food was the best and we never needed a menu. I think we took a picture of every meal. The view of the ocean from villas during the day and night is breath taking. Yes the water is really that clear and the staff is as amazing as everyone one has said. A special thank you to Ryan aka "Superman". The only downside that I can think of is that no other vacation we have can measure up to this one. First vacation I never had to plan a single thing. Jackie took care of it all and it was great to get to talk Jackie, Ryan and Evelyn. They felt like friends and made it hard to go home. Both my wife Emily and I want to truly say thank you again for the memories of a lifetime.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were very fortunate to get to visit this resort while in port on a cruise. Ryan met us at the cruise port and brought us to the resort and later to the beach at Dickenson Bay. We were highly impressed with the facility and the picturesque views from the main house veranda. The beach was also fantastic. The owner/chef Jackie could not have been more hospitable and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with her over a great shrimp pasta lunch (which happened to be on Thansgiving day). They are just starting to accept day visitors. It is well worth contacting Jackie prior to arrival to see if such a day visit is being offered. I guarantee you will enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Sunset Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Sunset Lane

Address: Sunset Lane | McKinnons, PO Box 403, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Sunset Lane 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Sunset Lane is Antigua's #1 All-Inclusive Boutique Hotel located on the beautiful island of Antigua. Nestled on a hillside above one of the most scenic beaches and with an ever-present view of the tranquil turquoise Caribbean Sea, this 10 Room Boutique Hotel is just minutes away from St. John's (Antigua's Capital) and a 5 minute stroll to one of the most attractive beaches (Dickinson Bay) on the northwestern side of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas at Sunset Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Sunset Lane Hotel St. John`s
The Villas At Sunset Lane Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Sunset Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.