We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what was expected” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Bay Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Marina Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Cornwall
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not what was expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Marina Bay Beach Resort

Hi I have just come back from Marina Bay Beach Resort on Dickinson Bay Andtigua.
We went there using the RCI timeshare exchange programme, having used RCI for nearly 16 years we were expecting accommodation of a very high standard like I have had in many properties throughout the world. I can honestly say this was by far the worst that I have come across! Using the RCI description:- (Situated amid the serenity of Corbinsons Point, between two of Antigua's most famous beachside resort areas, Dickenson and Runaway bays, Marina Bay Beach Resort offers something for everyone, from peace and quiet to area attractions nearby. Watersports of all kinds are also available. Casinos and restaurants are all within walking distance.)
Serrenity definition repose: a disposition free from stress or emotion.

On arriving at the resort we grounded our hire car in the driveway to the resort car park. We were warmly welcome at reception and shown to our flat which was on the second floor. That evening we noted that the furniture and kitchen units were dated. But we were happy to just have a quick meal and have an early night so that we could enjoy the next day resting. Unfortunately the next morning Sunday we were woken up by hammering from the flat below, it turned out the workmen were fitting a new door frame. So not only were they using a hammer but also a nail gun with the room below being empty it acted like a loud speaker and the noise was deafening. We had breakfast and went to the reception to complain. The receptionist was very sympathetic there was little she could do. We tried to phone RCI but the were closed on Sunday at that time, the receptionist said she would phone the manager and see if we could be moved. We went back to our flat and went out on to the roof terrace to escape some of the noise however about 15 yards away the workmen were pressure washing and using a power tile cutter so we were unable to hear the returning phone call from the receptionist. After half an hour we phoned her and she said that we could contact the other timeshare resorts on Monday and also showed another flat on the complex. We did look at the other flat but in was in not better condition than the one we were in. On returning we took a closer look at the flat we were in and took numerous photos to show the condition of the flat as follows-
• Kitchen units hanging off there hinges
• Broken Freezer unit
• Filthy cutting board
• Filthy patio table
• Rusty and dirty cooker
• Broken plates
• Fly screen hanging on by tape only
• Rusty bathroom window
• Broken mirror
• Broken and dangerous table lamp
• Broken tiles on roof terrace
• Broken bottles on path access to beach


So to say our experience at this resort was very disappointing to say the least. Go here and hope you get a refurbished flat but be prepared for a lot of building work around the resort. there are more photos if required

  • Liked — The Pelicans
  • Disliked — Almost everything about the resort
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We made our booking through RCI and once again we were confronted with a third rate foreign accommodation. RCI does not seem to have the same standards in foreign countries that it has in the USA.The photos which I have posted tell a lot about the place. The staff was very courteous and helpful. There is no pool but there is a beach area close by. The resort is basically a place to eat in your unit and sleep, there are no restaurants or other amenities on the premises. There were a couple of chaise lounges just out side each unit along with a patio table and chairs.

The use of the WiFi in the room was at best sporadic if it was working at all. There are several dead zones. We even changed rooms to get better reception but it didn't help much. When we were connected we often only had 1 Mbps (and we could see the antenna out the kitchen window). Then at another time we would get up 54 Mbps. We would often connect, read one email and then lose the connection. Of course ACT would provide no type of refund for lost service.

There were three excellent restaurants within walking distance (Coconut Grove, La Bussola and Leah's) but it was very dark walking along the unpaved road at night, which was full of potholes. The prices for dinner for two were well over $100 USD and that was without any alcoholic beverages, just a three course meal of appetizer, entree and dessert.

Thanks to Sylvester Scotland and his very reasonable taxi service rates (268-464-6950) we were able to get groceries, do some sight-seeing on the island and visit some other nice restaurants (Home in St. John's and Bay Restaurant at the Trade Winds Hotel). He even accommodated us for midnight mass on Christmas Eve (Marina Bay Resort is about a 15 minute drive from downtown St. John's).

  • Liked — The quiet
  • Disliked — The resort is old; it needs to be updated.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Marina Bay is a great place to stay while visiting Antigua's Runaway Bay area. Like all condo establishments some owners really update their places while some just keep the basics. If this is important request that up front. Either way get ready to enjoy a spacious layout if you choose the units that offer the crow's nest. Because of the sloped roof design of these buildings you end up with this very private small closed in balcony perfect for sunbathing. The unit also offers another private larger balcony with patio table and chairs for alfresco dining. Extremely large bedroom with 2 queen size beds side by side and a pull out sofa in the living room. More than adequate sized bathroom and good size full kitchen combo living room. Staff very helpful and quite pleasant. Liked it so much before we left we booked for next year!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We were displaced from our original hotel and were lucky enough to get a room (the crow's nest) here at Marina Bay. The accomodations were great and the staff VERY friendly and helpful. Wish there was a pool though, but the close proximity to the ocean was just fine.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

If one has been to the Carib. before, Marina Bay is above average in many areas. My wife and I spent ten days here from Oct to Nov.
Positives:
weather.. perfect high 80s, a three minute shower each day
beach: had the 1/2 mile white sandy clean beach to ourselves 7 out of 10 days
check in and office staff : super helpful
units: VERY large, VERY clean, fully equipped
eating out: near by, Coconut Grove at least 4 stars, Curry's a "wagon" that appears on Wed and Fridays for fish and chips($22 US for two included fish chips cole slaw shrimp)
eating in: modern super market about four miles away
price: about one sixth of Sandles.
staff: very friendly and helpful and eager to converse about their wonderful island
Cedar Valley golf course nearby..some difficult holes but FUN
Not so positives;
location:, should have a car, lots of construction(Sandles) going on up the road, with heavy truck noise all day
major resort about to be built to the west may (?) make the beach populated
rooms: could use a bit of T.L.C. BUT remember this is the Caribbean!!!

Great place to relax, read, enjoy the GREAT beach, and enjoy some wine.

  • Liked — size of rooms and price
  • Disliked — construction noise "up the road"
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring OFF for the "no see ums" bugs at sun down
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

Our stay at the Marina Bay Beach Resort was wonderful. We had originally been booked to stay in an apartment above a local artist's home, but a tropical storm washed out her road. She moved us to Antigua Village which was okay, but too small for our family of five plus my father-in-law. After a couple of days we moved down the road to Marina Bay Beach Resort. The outside of the buildings are in need of some painting, but the woman working at the desk said that they were waiting until hurricane season was over to do repairs. Our apartment was spotlessly clean with two very large bedrooms (two queen beds in each) and two full bathrooms. The kitchen was fully equiped and had a table that sat six. Our apartment had large windows in the livingroom and one of the bedrooms with stunning views of the ocean. We watched the most beautiful sunsets from our balcony. The beach was right there and we only saw two other people on the beach in the four days that we were there. The beach was great; sandy and calm. For all of this we paid only $185 a night. We were very pleased and highly recommend the Marina Bay Beach Resort

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

Great spot at the start of Dickenson Bay, a hot reesort area...Suites have full kitchen (all utensils+appliances- even a blender) and AC and Cable TV...There is a great balcony with chairs and even a barbeque- not to mention a view of the dolphins since it is next to the place you can swim with them (although rumor has it that the dolphins might soon be removed)...Very friendly and helpful staff with a lending library of books, internet you can pay to use on a computer and cold drinks and a few necessities for sale in the reception area...Has own strip of white sand+turqouise water beach with free chairs for guests...You only need to stroll a bit down the bay to watersports areas to rent equipment or sign up for other water activities...No restaurant there but 3 and a small varietry store are in walking distance (others accessible by taxi)...I highly reccomend this spot, especially for extended stays...I eagerly await my next visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Beach Resort

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Beach Hotel St. John`s
Marina Bay Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.