We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Bay Beach Resort
Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place; great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Marina Bay is a great place to stay while visiting Antigua's Runaway Bay area. Like all condo establishments some owners really update their places while some just keep the basics. If this is important request that up front. Either way get ready to enjoy a spacious layout if you choose the units that offer the crow's nest. Because of the sloped roof design of these buildings you end up with this very private small closed in balcony perfect for sunbathing. The unit also offers another private larger balcony with patio table and chairs for alfresco dining. Extremely large bedroom with 2 queen size beds side by side and a pull out sofa in the living room. More than adequate sized bathroom and good size full kitchen combo living room. Staff very helpful and quite pleasant. Liked it so much before we left we booked for next year!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

We were displaced from our original hotel and were lucky enough to get a room (the crow's nest) here at Marina Bay. The accomodations were great and the staff VERY friendly and helpful. Wish there was a pool though, but the close proximity to the ocean was just fine.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

If one has been to the Carib. before, Marina Bay is above average in many areas. My wife and I spent ten days here from Oct to Nov.
Positives:
weather.. perfect high 80s, a three minute shower each day
beach: had the 1/2 mile white sandy clean beach to ourselves 7 out of 10 days
check in and office staff : super helpful
units: VERY large, VERY clean, fully equipped
eating out: near by, Coconut Grove at least 4 stars, Curry's a "wagon" that appears on Wed and Fridays for fish and chips($22 US for two included fish chips cole slaw shrimp)
eating in: modern super market about four miles away
price: about one sixth of Sandles.
staff: very friendly and helpful and eager to converse about their wonderful island
Cedar Valley golf course nearby..some difficult holes but FUN
Not so positives;
location:, should have a car, lots of construction(Sandles) going on up the road, with heavy truck noise all day
major resort about to be built to the west may (?) make the beach populated
rooms: could use a bit of T.L.C. BUT remember this is the Caribbean!!!

Great place to relax, read, enjoy the GREAT beach, and enjoy some wine.

  • Liked — size of rooms and price
  • Disliked — construction noise "up the road"
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring OFF for the "no see ums" bugs at sun down
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

Our stay at the Marina Bay Beach Resort was wonderful. We had originally been booked to stay in an apartment above a local artist's home, but a tropical storm washed out her road. She moved us to Antigua Village which was okay, but too small for our family of five plus my father-in-law. After a couple of days we moved down the road to Marina Bay Beach Resort. The outside of the buildings are in need of some painting, but the woman working at the desk said that they were waiting until hurricane season was over to do repairs. Our apartment was spotlessly clean with two very large bedrooms (two queen beds in each) and two full bathrooms. The kitchen was fully equiped and had a table that sat six. Our apartment had large windows in the livingroom and one of the bedrooms with stunning views of the ocean. We watched the most beautiful sunsets from our balcony. The beach was right there and we only saw two other people on the beach in the four days that we were there. The beach was great; sandy and calm. For all of this we paid only $185 a night. We were very pleased and highly recommend the Marina Bay Beach Resort

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

Great spot at the start of Dickenson Bay, a hot reesort area...Suites have full kitchen (all utensils+appliances- even a blender) and AC and Cable TV...There is a great balcony with chairs and even a barbeque- not to mention a view of the dolphins since it is next to the place you can swim with them (although rumor has it that the dolphins might soon be removed)...Very friendly and helpful staff with a lending library of books, internet you can pay to use on a computer and cold drinks and a few necessities for sale in the reception area...Has own strip of white sand+turqouise water beach with free chairs for guests...You only need to stroll a bit down the bay to watersports areas to rent equipment or sign up for other water activities...No restaurant there but 3 and a small varietry store are in walking distance (others accessible by taxi)...I highly reccomend this spot, especially for extended stays...I eagerly await my next visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Beach Resort

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Beach Hotel St. John`s
Marina Bay Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marina Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list