We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best red snapper I have ever had ,and my wife had the butter fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Zouk

Papa Zouk
Hilda Davis Dr., St. John's, Antigua
268-464-6044
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 77 restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Raymond, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best red snapper I have ever had ,and my wife had the butter fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were on our last day of the car rental and we hadn't really had good food by the resort so we saw the sign out by the entrance to the resort and made the decision to go out one more time and we were so glad we did ,Bart the owner was the one that took our order and his staff was excellent ,He has a rum bar with 150 or more. The conch fritter had a spice to them and they were exceptional. Make sure you have a reservation cause it is limited space but well worth the wait if you have to .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    66
    28
    5
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“...a must visit place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

All week staff at the hotel (Blue Waters) said we should try Papa Zouk and there were right. This is a great, honest local restaurant that serves very good food.

We'd spent a week exploring the island on a scooter and found everyone so friendly and welcoming - Papa Zouk encapsulates the Antigua you see outside of the hotels, if you like the sound of that you'll love this place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and delicious food ! Fish was delicious and conch fritters were very good - nice friendly staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had read such great reviews of this place but ended up very disappointed. The restaurant is not in a great area and felt a little unsafe as we drove to it. Definitely take a taxi if you are going at night, it is hard to fine.

Please note: cash only!! No ATMS even nearby, so make sure to bring enough cash to cover about $40 per person with drinks and food.

Rum punch was awesome. Stuffed crab was not great and didn't contain much crab meat.

Seafood Carnival was very buttery and creamy, which was not expected. The shrimp and calamari was fine but again, didn't live up to the reviews others had posted. No real options if you don't want seafood, have to ask for a special chicken order if needed.

Overall, fine but wouldn't recommend going out of your way to eat here on your trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Caribbean
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a good time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is hard to say what if the best thing about this restaurant. The atmosphere is great as the walls a literally crammed with interesting and eye catching treasures. The food is fantastic no matter what you order and make sure you have some of their famous rum drink it is amazing. But perhaps the best thing about the place are the owners who make you feel completely welcome and at home and always like you are visiting old friends.

In my opinion this restaurant is a real treasure and if you are visiting Antigua you must go. But, if like me you live here you must go often. You wont regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Zouk also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Papa Zouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Zouk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.