We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to crash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dickenson Bay Cottages

Save Saved
You added Dickenson Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dickenson Bay Cottages
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to crash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Pros:

• A really polite, helpful and responsive staff (thanks Karimah, Chris, Forbes and Thor!).
• Clean, quaint and quiet, away from the touristy crowds down the hill.
• Beautifully landscaped grounds.
• Great access to the beach (5-10 minute downhill walk).
• Guest very mindful and respectful of the privacy of others.
• Kitchenette available for preparing meals, great for those travelling with kids or on a budget.
• My cottage had a nice private, garden-level patio.
• Clean swimming pool with a nice view of the sea.
• Rental of a safe for valuables available upon request.
• Outdoor gas-fired grill available upon request.
• Taxis readily available down the hill at the Halcyon Cove.

Cons:

• Unless you are driving (UK-style), it is somewhat difficult to access other sites and conveniences such as groceries from the Dickenson Bay area.
• I found the interior furnishings somewhat outdated.
• Although there are lots of cable stations to choose from, the television was only about 13 inches – very difficult to see from across the room.
• Spotty Internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we really enjoyed our week here. we had just come from a hotel stay in St. kitts and decided to cook for ourselves 6of the 7 nights. It had a great kitchen and also a gas grill out by the pool. they do have a slight charge for the grill but that was ok as the staff would clean and prepare it for your use. Go to Epicurean grocery store and stock up as it's a $12 dollar cab ride there. but the store is huge and has everything. There is also another large grocery store that you can hike to. The cottages are clean and comfy. the staff very friendly. Kremilita (?) is in the office and she is amazing. If you want something or want to tour or fish, whatever, she is the go to woman. I enjoyed just lounging around the pool and enjoying the quiet.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are available and what the configuration of it is. Different floor plans available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at Dickenson bay cottages for 10 nights this february and found them to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The cottages our 15mins walk from dickenson beach and a good choice of restaurants the best for breakfast and dinner we found to be was coconut grove nice fresh food reasonably priced it has a french chef and it shows.The is a great store and veg/fruit seller near beach but it is worth going to the big supermarket to stock up walkable if fit or 10 mins by taxi.First time in antigua found to be much nicer than barbados (less hassle and friendly people) met an Italian couple who were very nice and they also said they would return again. Staff great, manager does need to remember to smile very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here two nights on a business trip. Cottages are sizeable (mine was a duplex) and well maintained, good-size swimming pool and ample car parking space. A daily charge is made for wi-fi (why?) but not excessive. Watch out for the very tame bananquits which can get into your room given half a chance.

Not cheap, but I was travelling in high season, and Antigua has very little in the way of cheap, decent accommodation. I was allowed a couple of extra hours to check out for the late-afternoon Virgin flight. Reception staff could try to smile more often.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at DBC and what a fab place to stay if you like peace and quiet using a venue as a base to explore the island. The cottages were very clean, well equipped and had both air conditioning and ceiling fans. It is not mentioned on their website but beach / pool towels are provided and can be changed whenever you want. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was about a ten minute walk away with bars / restaurants so you could stay all day. The restaurant, Opus, opposite the cottages served very good food but was not that busy so lacked a bit of atmosphere.

This is a place that we will definitely stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from our 2 week stay hadn't been to antigua since 1994 and was really pleased to find it still unspoilt and empty beaches are still to be found. Cottage was fab and had everything we needed, very spacious and well equipped. My husband was on crutches and being a small place we could totally relax and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at the Dickenson Bay Cottages for one night over the xmas break. I actually have family in Antigua hence why it was only one night. As many times as visiting Antigua, I never really ventured out into the hotel scene and was used to seeing the usual Sandals hotel around the island, however, this place is very cozy and the price is great. The rooms are villa style which make your stay more comforting which include a full kitchen. All cottages are self-catering. Our room was right outside of the pool which at night you could just sit on your veranda and enjoy the quiet, airy feeling of dickenson bay. The closest beach is only a 5 minute walk down the hill which is a rather active beach with watersports, a local beach bar and locals selling antiguan items. Dickenson Bay Beach is one of my favorite beaches in Antigua. If you like to vacation where hotel staff don't bother you and like alone time, the cottages is the place to stay. The only thing I would not recommend is if you have small children. The cottages is very quiet and the noise of screaming children takes away the surreal soothing feel of the area. The only thing I would recommend is the rental of a car. To purchase groceries, the drive is a good 10 minutes and town is a 20 minute drive. And if you want to visit the other 364 beaches of antigua then driving is the way to go. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 20 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Pool, Bar/Loung...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Ocean Point Residence Hotel & Spa
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Club
Coconut Beach Club
#7 of 20 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 20 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#3 of 20 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickenson Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickenson Bay Cottages

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dickenson Bay Cottages 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dickenson Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickenson Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dickenson Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickenson Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.