We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday but resort itself needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deep Bay, P.O. Box 976, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Chauvin, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday but resort itself needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Four of us (2 middle-aged couples) visited this resort from January 30 to February 13, 2013. We had a very relaxing vacation in which our room (8th floor, lagoon view) was great, linen and towels were changed daily, no musty smelling room, working air conditioning. The beach was fantastic and the food, while a bit repetitive, was very good and nicely prepared. For example: in two weeks, we had steak that you could cut with a table knife on 5 occasions, barbecue on 4 occasions, etc. The staff was absolutely fantastic. By the time we left, we knew most of them by name and we felt like family. Everyone ( manager, night manager, bar tenders, waiters, waitresses, chefs, maintenance and cleaning staff) was friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The pool, while hardly used, was always clean.
Yes, there are few people staying at this resort. In the two weeks we were there, the total number of 'guests' ranged from 20 to 40. This made for the awesome feeling of family but it did have its ramifications. Food selection, as mentioned, was a bit limited and a bit repetitive, and was available only during the stated meal times - i.e.: no snack bar, only one restaurant open at a time, fresh fruit only available at breakfast times, etc. There was no scheduled sports activity or evening shows, although 'Papa Les' did have snorkel and non-motorized water equipment available. We did have professional musicians at supper on several occasions. Depending on who you are, you would either love this place (example: two couples with 5 boys aged 1-6 who could play on the beach, build sand castles, run to their heart's content, etc) or hate it (family with two teen-aged girls with nobody else their age to associate with). The resort itself is generally in dire need of repairs. The rooms on the bottom floors are still being renovated. A number of 'villas' need to be demolished. Tennis courts, while there are lots of them, are not in good shape and the only thing we saw using them were some goats. Overall, we LOVED our vacation because we enjoyed the location, the uncrowded atmosphere where you never had to wait in line for anything or fight to get prime location loungers by the pool or beach, and above all, the staff. If you want a relaxing vacation, and you want an uncrowded atmosphere, albeit with limited choices, I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Book a mountain view (cheapest) because they will likely upgrade you to a lagoon view anyway since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    51
    62
    85
See reviews for
28
68
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As airline crew I've stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world, but never seen such a hotel in such a bad state like this one. The bath /shower is from the 50s and in depeserate need of renovation, the bathroom on whole. The lobby, restaurants and public areas are uninviting. It looks like a ghost town, there're about 7 guests here and they look very unhappy here. One woman arrived and 30 mins later checked out again. We're leaving after 1 night, THANKGOD.

Room Tip: other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days, Yes the hotel is dated but it was clean and comfortable. It was a little strange as there were very few people staying there. The staff couldn't do enough for you with big pleasant smiles. The pool was absolutely gorgeous and just the right temperature. I described the beach as Heaven on Earth. I have never seen anything more spectacular. The beach was super clean and I swam in the warm ocean each and everyday. Lunch was always offered at the beach restaurant overhanging the beach with beautiful views. The lobby and bar were very nice but being upgraded. There was no entertainment offered but a truly relaxing hotel. I would go there again for some down time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that the resort is under new management and so there are still stores to open, etc. and rooms to fill. That said, the beach is exquisite, the pool sparkles and has a swim-up bar, lunch is served in an open restaurant hanging over the ocean. The food was fantastic for every meal, made to order omelets, fish, pork, jerk chicken (my personal favourite), homemade soups, fresh salads etc. etc. etc. The staff was second to none for friendly service, helpfulness. Our room was spotless. All four public bathrooms I attended were immaculate. There was no night-time entertainment (due to the low attendance) but there was live music with every dinner. The age of guests varied from families with children to seniors. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms see the ocean, the lagoon, and the pool from the balcony - not to mention the cruis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Like some of the others, we had the ''pleasure'' of having to stay there on the night of 25th when our BA aircraft developed a technical fault. we had stayed here in the early 90's when it was a Ramada resort and it was lovely, well now....

The resort looks shut most of the time, we arrived at 2am in the morning, after a time we were given a room that looked towards a hill and no balcony. The room was stale and damp but at least the bed was clean. When we woke up we went for a walk pre breakfast. The beach, though still lovely from our memories was now a quiet closed up beach bar and a closed beach side restaurant. The pool looked the same except there were a few frogs swimming around!

The hotel appared to only have a handfull of guests (my estimate 30) when about 100 of us were sent there, so breakfast was limited as they were not prepared. The food looked ok but then it went down hill, lunch was awful, a very limited buffett, all greasy, no real salad to speak of, the evening meal just as bad.

The male receptionist on the evening of our departure tried to keep us informed but alot of people were unhappy. We could not sign any drinks to our room ( a strange system) cash only or a credit card for every single drink you ask for!!

This hotel needs investing in if it is to survive which I doubt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I, along with five other unfortunate travelers, were taken by bus there by LIAT when there was yet another LIAT airplane failure.

First, one can tell that the place used to be exceptional but has fallen on difficult times. The grounds were unkempt, the lobby was uncared for, there were rooms off the lobby that were blocked off and complete shambles.

The key card system did not work so whenever you wanted to get into your room, you had to go to the lobby and they would call security who would eventually show up to let you into your room. The in-room safe did not work, the room felt like no one had been in there in months and there was NO HOT WATER.

The pool was dirty, there was even a hermit crab swimming in the pool.

The front desk and the restaurant and the bar had no cash so we had to wait for over an hour while the staff pooled there money together to make change!

It's obvious the management ran out of money to take care of the resort a few years ago. I've stayed at some pretty nice places and some dumps but this is the worse than the dumps because it used to be a proud place that has been completely neglected.

Avoid unless you want a horror story to tell when you get home.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend on my way through Antigua. It looked great on the website and appeared to have everything I needed - a great beach, waterside bar/restaurant, pool, great rooms and nice grounds.

In reality it was awful and I couldn't wait to leave. It is a big hotel and without many guests (there were 6 when I was there), it feels really eerie. The pool was closed, there were no sunloungers laid out, and the area had a really derelict feel. The beach was absolutely deserted (sounds great in theory, but eerie in practice!) and the waterside restaurant was boarded up. There were only a couple of sunloungers on the beach, which were being policed by an elderly security guard from the hotel. There are two good things about this place: 1) the restaurant staff were lovely and 2) there is free internet access from 2 computers in the reception.

I got the feeling that this hotel is used for delayed flights staying one night only, and conferences during the week when out of season.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Address: Deep Bay, P.O. Box 976, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.