We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Excellent staff a bit out of the way but still nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deep Bay, P.O. Box 976, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel Excellent staff a bit out of the way but still nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

At first glance you would think no one else was in the hotel, considering it was the off season some of the resorts actually close until the season starts again in Oct at first we were the only ones on our floor but after a few days others had arrived, the hotels does need some good TLC but all in all hotel has plenty to offer, they do have wifi but it is not free they do have an area with free computer use a small gym room a pool on the way to the beach

Our room was fine the sliding doors did not quiet slide smoothly but maintenance was there directly and we got a room change and a lagoon view instead of your mountain view, staff was on point every morning at breakfast which was the perfect start to the day they were very friendly even when we bumped into them in town a quick smile and hello.

The beach was so nice no big waves was always calm and beach staff also very nice and friendly told us which parts to we could snorkel and to be care of the lion-fish which are rather new to the island which only swim at the rock edge, on a clear day you can see Montserrat we got a few pics of that we could also see the steam coming from the volcano

We even spoke with the manager a few times who was also so nice and extended a anything we can do to help just ask gesture which was nice of him, staff also book a few tours we were interested in and was always on hand if we needed anything

We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again we did pass by a few other hotels during our stay that were open and some came over a bit commercial not sure how many people want to play bingo while on vacation in Antigua

Room Tip: Best tip we can give is book transport from the airport or hire a car makes life sooo much easier g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    51
    61
    82
See reviews for
28
66
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is a little worn and some areas need to be either renovated or pulled down, but the staff are a bonus. So is the set-up it is spread over quite a big area with a lake on one side and Deep Bay on the other. The beach has good amenities, and the waves are very small, great for snorkeling, swimming or beach combing. It is only 10-15 mins walk from Fort Berrington, where on a clear day you can see Montserrat. There have been management issues which appear to be the cause of the lack of reinvestment, but from what we saw this is not echoed by the staff

Room Tip: Higher up the building at beach side for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The resort is old, under terrible conditions, the service is awful, nobody want to help you and nobody cares about you as a guest. The rooms are in terrible conditions, and the food is really bad. Flyes all over the places. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from that choice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were placed there by Liat after our flight was delayed the staff were super friendly and food was tasty although it was late at night, and we left early in the morning so I did not get to see much of the hotel, but it does look quite Grand from the air.

Beds were comfy , I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After our flight home from our honeymoon was cancled 3 times, the airline suggested we stay in this hotel for the night. Our entire flight stayed there and when we all arrived, we were shocked to realize we were the ONLY guests at this hotel. It was so weird and creepy! The staff seemed overwhelmed by our arrival but were very nice and tried to be accomodating. The rooms were not the nicest and needed some updated decor. The furniture in our room was new, but the bedding looked like something I had during the 80's when I was a kid. The bathroom was pretty old, rusty and needed a major update. I will say that the room was VERY clean though. The one good thing about this hotel was the secluded beach and the AMAZING view. We had just come from a week at Sandals where we paid top dollar for a beach and view that didnt even come close to what we saw at this hotel. Our most beautiful pictures of the island came from the beaches at the Grand Royal on our last day stranded in paradise. If you are looking for luxury, this is NOT the hotel for you, but if you dont mind staying in a room that needs some serious updating and tlc then go for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Put up here overnight by LIAT after flight SNAFU. Saw very little of the property due to late arrival & pre-dawn departure, but from what I did see it looks like the property is well past its prime, even with some recent cosmetic improvements. Rooms were pretty basic, bathroom was dated. Food at main restaurant was decent. Staff was friendly, other than the night watchman who was absolutely worthless. Also, a bit disconcerting that they insist on having a security guard escort you to your room upon checking in (particularly given some of the sketchy areas that you drive through to get here). I would be really cautiou about booking a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Where do I start
Kids pool always filty
Getting something to eat - huge problem
Air conditioning is terrible

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Address: Deep Bay, P.O. Box 976, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.