We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Antigua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Siboney Beach Club to your Saves list
Siboney Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

On an Island that seems to suffer a bit from "arrested development and high vacancy rates" we found the Siboney Beach Club to be well maintained and well managed. Staff is helpful and polite, the adjacent bar and restaurant, Coconut Grove, is lovely, especially for breakfast and dinner/evening bar. The local breakfast, when it is available, is good, otherwise standard fare well prepared and nicely served. The local fruits were disappointing considering that Antigua has abundant sweet black pineapple and local bananas, tamarind, mango, etc. Dinner is the same with a few good dishes on nice table linens for an outside site. You can order meals to go if you plan to picnic or take an outing, however many of the popular beaches have small food stands or bars. It is important to know that Dickenson Bay beach is also populated by a large Sandal's couples resort and the Halcyon Cove resort, as well as some smaller hotels and condo developments. The beach is open in front of all properties so access is not a problem and the crowd makes the area an easy location for excursions and watersport rentals, but if you want quiet and solitude this may not be your cup of tea. That said, the Siboney has a private quiet garden surrounding a nice pool which offers a shady escape from the beach. The 1/4 mile of beach going away from the other resorts is undeveloped and lovely. Swimming is great but no local snorkeling. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance for the intrepid (Blu Pineapple is a short ride up the hill and tasty, but in need of more customers), and a new casino recently opened to cater to the big resort crowd. We used taxis to get where we needed to go and it was quite convenient though it could be pricey if you came for a week. The roads are not well marked nor particularly well designed around the main village of St. Johns, so the best part of the taxi fare is the knowledge of how to get where you are going...We found Siboney to be a great base as we ventured out sailing with Antigua Adventures one day and took advantage of the weekly Sunday sunset party at Shirley Heights (overlooking historic English Harbour) on another. You can hire a driver for the day at a very reasonable price in Antigua and you will not regret the decision.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, but ground floor is convenient to the garden/pool. Only 2 rooms real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    69
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
127
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

All you need to do is walk through a lovely garden arbor and see paradise! Quickly feel all the stress drain from your body as you see a green turquoise sea vista framed in lush foliage. Yes, we loved staying at Seboney for 11 days in mid November. Tony has created an intimate, terraced, Antiguan feel boutique hotel framed within a lush tropical oasis.Perfect for us! We enjoyed a second floor, ocean view suite. Comfy bed, tropical decor and a useful kitchenette.
We met several other guests, who have been happily returning to the Seboney year after year saying it is the best place to stay on the island. Tony, the visionary, builder, owner and manager is on site and has assembled a helpful, friendly and accommodating staff. He calls his spot on Dickenson Bay, magical and it felt that way to us.
How often do you hear your daily maid service ladies, laughing and light hearted while tidying up your room for the day....guess you have't met Georgette, Nina and Caroline. a terrific group of
ladies. There is a delicious restaurant on site, as well as Putters within walking distance. A terrific fish and chips wagon shows up nearby on Wed and Friday eves. Martin, the cab driver is on site, and will take you wherever you would like to go - like the huge Saturday market in St.
John's or one of the other 300 plus beaches or out for a good meal like fish and local rim punch at Papa Zucs .We spent one day sailing,just us, onThe Zorro, with Capt. Nash. What a wonderful day with a Personable, capable,knowledgeable captain. We enjoyed, this special place, the Seboney Beach Resort and will definitely return to this magical spot on Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at this comfortable and exceptionally friendly resort - 1 night en route to USVI and 1 night on our return as it was close to the airport. The room was very clean and comfortably furnished - lounge area, kitchenette adequately equipped and bedroom and bathroom. The resort provided shampoo, conditioner and shower wash - enough for a 2 week stay!! The restaurant next door had a varied menu and we had very good breakfasts, lunch and evening meals. We had 2 very enjoyable evenings in the bar, entertained well by Jeremiah the barman and Yolanda who prepared some excellent cocktails for us. All the staff without exception were very friendly and helpful and keen to have a chat. On the day of our return we had an evening flight but had to check out of our room by midday. The hotel was busy but the reception staff were very accommodating and allowed us to move into the Tree House room to enable us to spend the afternoon on the beach and have access to bathroom facilities until our departure - all at no extra cost. We would have no hesitation at staying here again on our next trip to Antigua - and probably for a little longer to enable us to fully enjoy all that this small and friendly resort has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just back from a holiday at Siboney and had an amazing time. It's small and not particularly plush or modern, but the rooms are large, comfortably furnished and clean, plus you get a living room and kitchen in addition to you bedroom and bathroom. The garden around the pool is lush and tropical - we could sit on our balcony overlooking it, watching hummingbirds in the trees. The beach is a small cove with clear water and the Coconut Grove restaurant and bar are on the beach. Really charming spot that has the most amazing sunsets. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were fantastic - genuinely friendly and helpful, had lots of nice conversations with them. I left my holiday feeling utterly relaxed and already thinking about when I can return.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After coming down a little track, you arrive at the Siboney Beach Club. Close to the airport if you're only here for a short time. Received a cheerful welcome from reception and shown to the room. Sadly the room was a little dirty and I found unmentionables under the toilet seat. Furthermore, the toilet didn't flush at all. Eventually I solved the problem by turning the water on next to the toilet. A short while later, a maintenance man arrived and asked if the toilet was working. I said I had figured out the problem and he said the toilet was constantly filling but he wouldn't be able to fix it while I was in the room. As the hotel was pretty empty, I was unsure why they'd given me this room. In any case, the hotel staff were friendly although the staff at the restaurant next door were very un-friendly. I needed wifi for work but none of the many different wifi domains worked. After talking to reception, I eventually found an exact spot where it worked but this did involve standing still in 1 spot next to reception. Having said all this, the water is lovely and the pool is nice to sit by. My room was big and I slept well. Be careful of the insect bites and the sunburn! The other thing to say is that this is a small hotel and a little dwarfed by the big Sandals resort next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is just perfect for a nice holiday getaway stay as this is located near to the beach and provides a nice and relaxing accommodation. It also has a nice restaurant close by. The staff is friendly and helps to make the stay comfortable by listening to your needs and trying genuinely to avoid any complaints. For food I depended on the nearby restaurant which was pretty decent and nice

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice and cozy little place close to the beach and also has a restaurant next to it. Rooms were nice and spacious with a kitchen and nice sized bathroom..Make sure u hv ac in the bedroom and living room it gets real hot on some days.. Staff is friendly and the beach is wonderful clear water
nice to take a swim when the sun is coming up or going down. overall worth the time and effort..
will go bck......

Room Tip: first floor room one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siboney Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.