We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for doing business in Antigua” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Heritage Quay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada (YOW)
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location for doing business in Antigua”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hotel is nothing special, but the people are very nice, the room is clean, the internet is screaming fast, and the breakfast is free. Located a few steps from the cruise line terminal. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Came to your hotel after a bad experience the night before. Just want to say thank you for making my first visit to your country more memorable. Your front desk persons were very helpful and accommodating and most pleasant. Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

while the heritage hotel is nothing special, it has a great, centralized location if you are in town for business and not leisure.

i stayed at the hotel for four nights during a business trip to the island. while the hotel is not close to any beaches (you would have to take a cab at least 10 minutes), i really enjoyed the location. staying in the heritage and redcliffe quay areas, each less than a block away, i could try a number of restaurants, walk to the supermarket/convenience store (across the street), shop at the market (directly below the hotel) or numerous boutiques and get to where i needed to go relatively quickly. everything felt safe to explore as a solo female (and i do not look like a local), although i didn't walk around that much outside of the quays areas after about 8pm, since st. john's is rather poorly lit. i found the redcliffe quay, which is the older of the two, to be more charming and useful than the more commercialized heritage quay. the australia homemade ice cream is absolutely delicious and the big banana had tasty options. also, if you are a roti fan, you must try the roti king up the street from the hotel; their vegetarian option was addictive! keep in mind that few businesses are open on sundays, which can be really annoying.

the only downside to the location is that the area can be a zoo when cruise ships are in town, which is most days of the week. fortunately it clears out at night, but i still found the area to be quite noisy then (i think someone was selling pirated discs out of his truck and there was a club nearby). it seems to be the norm for the caribbean - things are generally louder and the walls are usually thinner. luckily i was not in town on a friday or saturday, but i would imagine the noise level and sleep quality for those nights would be really bad.

the hotel was basic, but my room had a wraparound balcony (with a view of the city), loads of television channels, and a good internet connection. however, they do not offer wifi in the rooms, which was a real pain, as i normally like to surf the internet, etc. via my phone. if i needed something on my phone, i had to go down to the lobby. i also found the room itself to be kept clean, although the shower was pretty gross (so i used flip flops).

there are really not many options at all for the business traveler to antigua, so unless something new opens up within the us government's per diem price range the heritage hotel may be your only option. while it is not a 4 star property, i felt safe, the location was great, their were plenty of food options nearby and the hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This Hotel was booked for me by my client.
You would expect to see a hotel with "regular" general conditions but this place is really something. It is a building that have different separate rooms and is completely open. From the front desk, there is quite a walking distance (specially if you are coming alone to carry your luggage around) and you have to accommodate yourself. Each room have separate keys and you feel in the outdoors.
If you like this kind of independence; this place is definitively for you! but if you prefer one to one attention an pampering... stay away!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were put here on Valentine's Day after our Winair flight to Barbuda was cancelled. They were originally going to put us at the Amaryllis, but the managers at our resort in Barbuda requested we go somewhere "nicer". The front desk staff was incredibly helpful and kind, told us to have whatever we wanted for dinner and breakfast the next morning. He showed us to our room on the 4th floor (I think), and to the restaurant. The room was actually not as bad as I expected, air conditioning, fairly large, tiled floor, king bed. The bathroom was ok, no stopper for a bath which we wouldn't have needed anyway. There was rust in the tub, but other than that, the room was basically clean. Like a previous reviewer mentioned, very loud music well into the night/morning, I finally fell asleep about 3:30 AM and it was still going strong, sounded like it was just under the window. The restaurant was actually not bad at all, we had a 3 course lobster dinner. The taxi to take us back to the airport was waiting for us the next morning a few minutes ahead of schedule. I certainly would not choose to stay here, but I think alternative "airport hotels" would have probably have been much worse, as we've experienced in both Puerto Rico & Barbados.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

We had to stay at the Heritage with 11 other poor souls after our flight from Antigua to London was aborted due to a pilot error.
Arriving quite late at night (10pm), we were far from impressed by the entrance and the lobby. The lady at reception did her best to provide us with a decent meal at this late hour, keeping the kitchen opened. She then sent most of us to our rooms in the annexe, down an intimidating back street. By then it was close to midnight. Bedrooms had metal doors which worried us a bit. The shower was broken and lying at the bottom of a very dirty bath. The water was brown when we turned the taps and nothing else but a bar of soap and a couple of towels were available. The room consisted of a lounge/kitchen area and a bedroom with 2 beds. Sheets were rather doubtful and we preferred to lay on the top of the bed.
The worse was an all night rave taking place some 50m away with shootings, enthusiastic DJ and music so loud than we did not sleep a wink all night. The racket stopped at around 7.30am.
By then we were all gathered, unwashed in the small lobby.The whole place was quite shabby.
The men restrooms were unavailable and had to share with the ladies. The only good point was the free internet access.

During daytime, with shops opened under the annexe and the place buzzing with tourists from cruise ships, it did not seem as bad unless you are stuck in the lobby for hours waiting for news of your flight and feeling unwanted by the new receptionist who managed to get rid of us by 2pm as the airline sent us to an other place .
The few other people in our unfortunate party, 2 of them lone women, were not terribly impressed by their room and had the same problem sleeping.
The food, kindly provided, was surprisingly honestly prepared and some of the staff very nice.
I suppose the Heritage is probably a business hotel not suitable to stranded tourists and to anyone on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Good business hotel right in the middle of town. Spacious rooms with balcony, free and fast Internet in rooms, complimentary breakfast, The only problem is that the hotel's website does the place no justice, and the one e-mail address I found and tried was never answered.

  • Liked — fest free Internet
  • Disliked — lack of response to e-mails!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: Heritage Quay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.