We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Blue Waters Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
litchfieldhillsCT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

If you're looking to get away and relax, Blue Waters is the spot! My husband and returned on August 4th and were very sad to leave after 1 weeks stay. From the moment we got off the plane at the airport, we couldn't believe how the culture of the country is to be polite, helpful, and whenever possible efficient. We've been to several Caribbean islands but were very impressed by
Antigua overall. The staff at the hotel was there when you wanted, but left you alone to relax when that's what you were after. You get what you give is what I say. If you're nice to them, they're nice to you.
We stayed in the 600 block of rooms which was perfect for us, being away from the restaurants and pools. There wasn't really all that many people there so even when it was busy, it still wasn't loud. There were times when we were the only ones in the pool and never had a hard time finding a chair on the beach.
LIke others have said, beach is not big but made you feel like it was a private getaway rather than a large complex. If you're looking for a Mexico-like beach, you will be dissapointed. We spent most of the day in the water, either "the sea" as the Brit's say, or one of the 3 pools. The cold towels were the BOMB! They also serve you fresh fruit some days, or ice water. It is somewhat hit or miss though if you're on the beach, rather than the pool.
We chose not to do the all inclusive since we wanted to experience other parts of the island. In hindsight we probably should have since we only left the hotel once! For those trying to decide which way to go, when you get there you can opt for the inclusive at $100. per person per day. When you consider dinner at either restaurant ran about $130. and 2 daiquiris at the pool about $20. (w/ tax and tip) it works out about the same but you can eat and drink more on the AI! The Breakfast plan does come with afternoon tea, which didn't seem like many took advantage of. It comes w/ fruit, cucmber sandwiches and tuna, and asstd. baked goods. It is enough to hold you over til dinner. They were kind enough to pack it for me to take to the adult pool to wind down for the day. I loved the fact that people got somewhat dressed up for dinner (but to my husband's relief, not stuffy or fomal in the least!) Ladies, you don't even need a sweater for the evenings.
Shopping at the airport is lacking be advised, so get your gifts while in town. (The same things were 2x the price at the airport) I could go on and on, but we just loved the Blue Waters and would highly recommend it. We're looking forward to a return visit at some point, maybe after the new villas are open.

  • Liked — Sense of seclusion and being in a relaxing somewhat upscale environment
  • Disliked — Lack of variety on menu at Vyvien's restaurant, tennis courts and gym could use upgrade
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    207
    63
    37
    16
See reviews for
262
662
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in May of this year. When we arrived I thought we may have made a mistake as it doesn't look much on arrival and the beach is small, but I was so wrong. The room was beautiful with a gorgeous view (see photo.) The food at both the restaurants was amazing. The service was good. St Johns is a nice little town, not much there but we managed to go 3 times. There is a shuttle bus that comes every morning to take you to St Johns and then picks you up again at 12.30 pm. We went to Shirley Heights on Sunday, a must do, it was great. Swimming with the sting rays is a good experience. We were booked originally to go to the Sandals resort but changed our minds becuase of all the negative reviews and the building works going on. I'm so glad we did as I think it will be sometime before we find another hotel as good as this one. Enjoy!!

  • Liked — Rooms, food, beach, pools
  • Disliked — Having to come home
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Stayed at Blue waters Antigua for 2 weeks. From the 12th - 26th July. Our travelling party included 3 teenagers and 1 disabled person.

This hotel suited everyones needs, we asked for a room with easy acess and found that we had been up graded to a beach front deluxe room. One way was the beach, the other a pool. It was fantastic for the kids and made our lives a lot easier. Theirs a free mini fridge, great air conditioning and spacious rooms & bathrooms. Also brill maintance & maid services.

The 3 pools were very clean and good fun to be around, but some of the surface floors of the pools are very ruff so watch your feet! The beach and water sports are also very good!

The hotel is good for teenagers as the adults can stay around the adult only pool, while the kids go to the beach bar pool where they can chill in the pool, on the beach and get drinks. The games room and tennis court are also very good, although tennis at 10am in the blazing sun it not the best idea!

The staff were amazingly friendly and very helpful.

The food was great, breakfast had a great choice of fruit and other things, and the menu choices for lunch and dinner had something for everyone. Vyviens resturant is just amazing. Wine and champagne in the glass are free!!!!

I highly recomend a boat trip round the island, especially on the Wadadli Cats boat, it's fantastic! Its also well worth the effort to go to shirley hights lookout point, and to the carnival.

All in all a great holiday, although i advice to go all inclusive otherwise it could turn out quite costly.

  • Liked — mini bar, tv, sun!!!, beach, pool ect.!!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed at Blue Waters for 2 weeks in July, and also got married there.

Before booking I read endless reviews on the hotel and was expecting it to be luxurious and amazing based on what I'd read - this wasn't the case. It was nice, the room was fairly basic, but nice and bright, and the small beach was pretty.

We found the food at the Palm restaurant to be a bit hit and miss, some nights, e.g. bbq night, were good, but others were average to poor. Vyviens was much better, although the menu didn't have a great deal of choice so after 3 meals there we'd tried everything we wanted to. We also found the service in the Palm restaurant to be quite poor, bordering on rude on some occasions.

However, if you're going to Antigua, Blue Waters is probably one of the better hotels on offer. I was surprised by the lack of other modern bars/restaurants on offer across the island, with the vast majority being within other large hotel complexes. I was disappointed not to be able to walk out of an evening to choose from a selection of restaurants to eat, as they just didn't exist. Outside the hotel grounds there is very little, and even the town of St John's didn't have very much to offer.

I don't want my review to sound really negative, as we did actually enjoy our stay in Antigua - I'm just trying to paint a realistic picture of the holiday. Overall we had a lovely time and the wedding was fantastic, just don't expect luxury and amazing service.

  • Liked — Lovely hotel beach
  • Disliked — It was isolated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

My boyfriend and i stayed at Blue waters in May and never wanted to come home!
We flew with Virgin who were great, nice food, great flight entertainment, i would strongly recommend them. After the long flight we were greeted but a serge of heat as we stepped off the plane, and had been advised by other to make a very swift dash to the terminal as you would have to Q for ages, and they were correct, luck that we were one of the first 60 or so people.
It is only a short ride from the airport to the Hotel but hold on as the roads are so bad!! most of them half finished!
We were greeted by big smiles and a well needed cold towel and cold drink of rum! We were shown to our rooms after a short introduction to the hotel and directions as to where things were. Our room was lovely! The bed as so comfortable, the room spacious, big bathroom, lovely balcony with comfortable furniture. Decorated in white n beige, it looked and felt clean and fresh. We did experience one problem with the room tho, about 6/7 days in to our stay we notice that our air conditioning was leaking and making the floor and everything around it wet. We called reception and within 5 minutes someone was out fixing it, it took about 10 minutes to fix as it needed draining.
The pools were lovely although we mainly stayed round the same one during our stay. We had a great little bar next to the pool, with great staff. In the morning and afternoon staff would come round with fresh fruit, water, cold towels and it was much needed. The pineapple and strawberry crushes are a must at the bar!!!
The beaches were not very big but suited the small intimate hotel. There were plenty of sun beds, however if u wanted shade on the beach you will need to get up early! There are 3 beaches in all, 1 is very small, but the others a nice size.
The food at the hotel was SO nice. I am a very fussy eater, not liking fish at all so i was a bit worried that i wouldn't like anything, but i was so wrong. Breakfast was a big buffet with so much to choose from! There was fruit, cereal, cooked food, cakes, to name but some. Lunch was either from a menu, that had so many different choices from burgers to salads. other days it was a buffet, with lovely cooked food like beef, rice and sea food for those who like it, which according to my boyfriend was amazing and fresh. There was also a BBQ on selected days that too catered for everyone. Dinner again was varied, from menu to buffet. On the menu there was normally a fish, meat and veggie dish on each course. The dinners never looked a lot when they come up, but were so filling and some of the best food that i have had. We were AL and it was 100% worth it. I can safely say that i never had a bad meal during my stay.
Many people have commented on the staff at the hotel, and i must say we only found one of them who was unable to raise a smile. The rest of the staff were so friendly, and keen to know your name and greet you when they saw you around.
The age group of the people there varied a lot. My boyfriend and i were very worried that we were going to be the youngest there by a good 15/20 years, as we are only 20 years old, but although it was apparent we were the youngest couple, the age gap was not that great and was not a problem.
Entertainment at night is nothing amazing, but suits the hotel perfectly. There were steal bands and singers mainly. But was lovely to sit in the bar with a cocktail listening to the singing, totally chilled out!
We ventured in to St Johns one day for a bit of shopping. Its only a short ride from the hotel. There are lots of market stalls and millions of jewelery shops. I wouldn't say it was somewhere you would come back from with loads of shopping. But there are a few bargains to be found.
During our stay we also done a helicopter ride around the Island, i would 100% recommend this. It was not very expensive and what you were able to see was just amazing so much more then you would from a boat.

Overall our holiday is one we will never forget! It was pure relaxation! The hotel was perfect! It was full when we stayed but it was never crowded and you would have thought i was only half full. I recommend this hotel to anyone who just want to relax in pure bliss and enjoy the sun. Its not for anyone looking for great nightlife and a lively resort. We really hope to return here one day in the near future!

  • Liked — Small, intimate, clean, friendly....
  • Disliked — Having to come home!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

My wife & I stayed here at the end of June for 10 nights - it was by far the most relaxing holiday we have ever had and we have stayed in some nice places.

We had a beachfront room which was in block 200 - the room was a bit small but after all you are only sleeping there.

The food ranged from very good to excellent & the staff were hit & miss but overall they were all pleasant.

Would deffo come back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My husband and I just returned from 7 nights in Antigua, 4 of which we spent at Blue Waters (the other 3 were at REX Blue Heron - you can check out my review on that as well). We ended our stay in Antigua at Blue Waters which was great because the Blue Heron left a lot to be desired. All in all we had a good time at Blue Waters and would recommend it but it wasn't EXCEPTIONAL and for the price I really expected EXCEPTIONAL...

Below is The Good, Bad and Ugly of Blue Waters:

The GOOD
**spotless, well-manicured grounds
**three pools
**nice rooms (although a tad small for the price) BUT beachfront wasn't truly beach front and the AC was very noisy
**food was good...not great but good
**room had a fully stocked fridge with soda, juice, water, beer and pantry/bar with coffee, tea, gin, rum, and whiskey - nice

The BAD
**the beach; while it was pretty to look at, it was cloudy. We have been to some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean (St. John, Turks & Caicos, Cayman Islands, etc.) and this did not compare - for us a beautiful beach is CRYSTAL CLEAR with nothing floating around (seagrass), and no patches of 'stuff' on the ground
[this was not 'Antigua' but rather the 'Blue Waters' beach...at the REX, the beach was beautiful
**we were on the all inclusive plan but still had to pay a 'supplement' at Vyvien's for some of the entrees... I'm sorry but that's ridiculous. Blue Waters is by no means cheap an d

The UGLY
**if you want to get a lounge chair in a prime location...you better get up at the crack of dawn to lay your towel down. People wake up early, leave their towels and disappear for hours. It's a real shame that people are so rude and inconsiderate.
**we were the only Americans AND the only people of color (outside of the staff); while that typically doesn't bother us, there were some instances where we felt slighted by both guests and staff; we didn't dwell on it because we were there to enjoy our vacation and because our money was just as good as the next person but it was a bit annoying
**the game room is a joke

  • Liked — the pools
  • Disliked — the beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.