We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Antiqua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Save Saved
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best of Antiqua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at Blue Waters Hotel last week and the hotel is just getting better and better. The service is immaculate. The staff are extremely professional and help full, the setting of the hotel is beautiful with a lovely beach and pool overlooking the Caribbean sea. The food is the best I have ever had in Antiqua for years - well prepared and well served. the rooms are spotless and everything is just so clean and tidy. the price of the hotel is very reasonable for what you get in return. So if you are going to Antiqua this is the place to stay and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    860
    196
    60
    37
    16
See reviews for
229
624
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of May. We were recommended to this hotel by friends and we were not disappointed. We had a fabulous holiday from start to finish. A lovely welcome from the beginning which just expanded throughout the holiday. Great room with sea view, block 200. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and overall, the food was to a very good standard and varied, as sometimes with AI, it can be repetitive! The Cove restaurant made a pleasant change in the evening and we loved the complimentary buggy rides from the main hotel. All the staff were very attentive, we were fortunate to be there for the naming of Carolyn's bar (well done Carolyn, you were great fun) by the beach pool, a nice experience and just shows how the management/owners look after both their staff and residents. We enjoyed cocktails at Veronica's bar, however just open for half an hour longer to enjoy the sunset as it is the perfect location for this spectacle. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a few weeks ago with my wife on a 2 week vacation:

Overall I thought this was a really nice resort with superb staff who try hard to make sure you have a good holiday.

Locationwise it is good. 15 mins from airport and with a private beach with lovely white sand and clear blue water.

The hotel itself has some great swimming pools with pool bars and a nice bar atached the hotel itself. The restauarants are good, too. You can book the Cove, which overlooks the ocean, a day in advance. It seemed to be open about 4 nights a week. Bartleys seemed to be open a few nights a week, too, and this is bookable a day in advance also. The main restauarant, The Palms, is a la carte and open 7 nights a week. They do a BBQ every few days (lunch or dinner) which was great with lots of fresh fish.

We were based in the '1 block' at one end of the complex. The rooms were comfortable and relatively basic and cleaned to a very good standard by housekeeping every day. Our initial room had an adjoining door and we could hear everything from next door (normal noise like kettles being boiled and talking etc) so got moved to one without an adjoining door. This was much better and the front desk were ok about it.

The thing that really makes this place is the staff. There are so many to mention but Andy the manager is a good guy. In the restauarnats and bars Andre, Paulette, Shane, Melecia, Pearl, Delisa, Jenny, Sheneke, Emmanuel, Rosamund and Romaine spring to mind but there are so many staff it is hard now to remember all their names. All lovely people. Jason on the travel desk was really helpful and well mannered and a pleasure to deal with.

Special mention must go to Jason, the Head Chef. I've never seen anyone work so many hours every day. He must work around 16 hours a day and is extremely welcoming to all the guests, taking time out of his day to come over and speak to you on a 1:1 basis. He is always dreaming up new ideas for the menu too, which is great. Eating the same food every day for a few weeks could get quite boring but this wasn't the case here. The variation on the menu was great and his beef wellingtom was superb (better than what we had at the savoy grill before we left)

There was some building work going on in the 2 block, next to us, which was very noisy. We spoke to the desk and they were great about it too, ensuring the work started a bit later in the morning and offering to move us. We had moved once so didn't want to move again. The manager sent us some canapes and champagne as a gratuity for inconvenienc was which a really nice touch.

Overall this is a great resort with great people and you could do a lot worse.We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again if we were to visit Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that the staff helped to make your stay even more special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a truly fabulous time at Blue Waters. The whole place is beautiful and extremely well kept. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Penthouse in one of the Cove Buildings and it was stunning, the view was spectacular as was waking up to the sound of the ocean every morning. The staff here are friendly, funny, knowledgable and do all they can to make sure you are having an enjoyable time. We were all inclusive and were apprehensive as we like to eat out but the restaurant choice was great and food of a high standard. All inclusive wines were good standard too including their champagne! Read and believe as with all the other reviews we thought Blue Waters really was excellent.

A huge thank you to all the staff at Blue Waters, we had an amazing time and can't wait to return :))

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Cove Suite if you can they have their own pool, are spacious, beautifully furnished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose Blue Waters based on earlier recommendations from guests on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel completely matched our expectations-the setting was sublime, the staff exceptionally friendly, the room (a Cove suite) perfect for our family to share and the facilities and ambience outstanding. We learned to snorkel, took Hobie Cat 'joyrides', were taken snorkelling on the reef, Kayaked as well as exploring Antigua through a rental car (through Tropical Rentals; newish, though a bit dented!). Standouts were:

1. The Cove Restaurant- a fantastic setting to watch the sun go down.
2. The staff- Garry at Breakfast (with Doreen) and Andre stood out but absolutely all the staff were charming and made us feel completely welcome- nothing was too much trouble.
3. The Cove suite- a superb view over the Caribbean sea that was impossible to get bored with.
4. The breakfast- full English and continental in the Palm Restaurant- we're returning considerably heavier than we left!
5. The setting, beach and grounds of the hotel- really these were just beautiful-exactly what we expected of our first Caribbean trip.

What to look out for:

1. We went on the breakfast plan rather than all inclusive- it made more sense for us, but the menus are expensive : $20-40 for most main courses in the evening. The "All day" menu is better value during the day ($15 for a wrap and salad, or a Club Sandwhich). I think this reflects that food is expensive overall on Antigua. The price difference between The Palm restaurant, Cove Restaurant or Bartley's isn't too much- go for the Cove Restaurant where possible, though the menu doesn't changed often. Bartley's is nothing too special- best to stick to the Palm or Cove, I would say.
2. The children's menu is very good value (e.g. a good Burger etc for $8)- and can be delivered to the Cove or Bartley's restaurants.
3. St John's is worth a visit briefly- but it’s crowded with traffic and pretty run down, with not many shops worth visiting. Avoid Cruise ship days.
4. Stingray city is expensive ($50 each, free for under 5s) but worth it: it was a fantastic 1.5hr experience.
5. Fryes Beach is superb, with Dennis's bar nearby for a cocktail or Tonic. Half Moon Bay is also great, though wilder with more waves.
6. Devil’s Bridge was not really worth the trip, though it's near English Harbour and so easy to combine on a trip out.
6. The road signage is appalling- all the words have faded from the signs. That said- the island is small and its not too hard to find your way about with a map.
7. The Epicurian is a really good supermarket on the way into St Johns. It even has a small 'Waitrose section'!

Overall we had a fantastic stay at Blue Waters. The hotel is idyllic and the staff outstanding. It's not cheap but so much better than, for example, the St James Club (we visited for lunch one day- it was like Butlins).

Thank you to all at Blue Waters for making our stay live up to our high expectations. The other guests were also all friendly, laid back and made the whole visit a pleasure. A superb holiday that will be hard to match.

Room Tip: Cove suites, blocks 1-3 are quiet and directly on the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were able to take advantage of the variety of water sports we offer at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled with family for a special occasion earlier this month, I have been here before but this hotel exceeded my expectations. The service here is incredible, they look after you but are genuinely friendly and want to ensure you have a great time. The pool bar attendants are great, we were there just a short stay and they knew exactly what drinks we wanted at what time. The food is the finest, the best beef/steak I have had in a long time. Our room was in the cove suite which was just fantastic with great view and a pool belonging to each cove suite. I will definitely be returning to this hotel, thank you so much blue waters.

Room Tip: Book a cove suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that you were pleased with the resort's facilities, including the dining options.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been to a more perfect hotel. A room in the 100 block overlooking the sea is a must!! View is absolutely idylic and you can fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves.

My friend and I booked this as a 30th birthday present to ourselves for ten nights at the end of June. Weather was wonderful, staff helpful and friendly.

We were greeted on arrival with smiley faces and rum punches. Our room was perfectly situated and we were shown around the hotel on arrival. Ignore all negetive reviews of this hotel. I have stayed in hotels around the world and this really was a great stay.

This resort is suitable for friends as well as honeymooners. Shirley heights on sunday evening is great to go for a dance if with friends, but beware of the rum punches, they are strong! 3 is more than enough. C&C wine bar in St Pauls is also great for a few drinks or dinner in the evening. Taxi's cost 30 US for a round trip into town.

The only comment I have for the hotel is that the safe's are not big enough for i pads. Everything else in the room was perfect.

We had the bed and breakfast plan, which includes afternoon tea. I would advise this if you want to get out and see more of the island and try the local restaurants.

The staff all have their own personalities and majority have been there for years. Pearl, Vincent, Rosamund, Wingrove, Jason and Jason and Pauline were stars!

Can't wait to book my next trip to Blue Waters!

Book now! :)

Alice & Hannah (London)

Room Tip: 100 block beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's amenities and level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.