We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Save Saved
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Blue Waters fully inclusive. Although we are well travelled this was our first visit to a Caribbean destination and we wanted something special because we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Blue Waters did not disappoint ! We had booked a Cove Suite which is lovely accommodation in itself, but we were upgraded to the Penthouse ........thank - you so much! The Penthouse was amazing and the views over the Caribbean (and the sunsets) were fabulous. Each block of cove suites has its own pool which is great because it means the pool is never over-crowded. Wherever you are on the complex, including the beach, there is always a member of staff to offer you fruit, sorbet and drinks. The water sports team were great and enthusiastic. Overall the staff were excellent, friendly and attentive without being over-bearing. It is also true that they learn your names very quickly. In the restaurants the service was good and the quality of the food at all meals was excellent with a varied lunch and dinner menu. As this was our first all inclusive holiday we were worried that the restaurants might be like canteens but they were not at all. The Palm and the Cove are in particularly lovely locations. The gardens are immaculate and beautifully tended. All in all a fantastic location for a relaxing break away from it all. Looking forward to our return!!!

Room Tip: Cove suites with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the Cove Penthouse exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    887
    197
    60
    37
    16
See reviews for
246
632
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed seven days and had a wonderful time. The concierge was very helpful in planning and coordination, the staff were attentive, courteous and accommodating. A very relaxing atmosphere, the restaurant was excellent. The floating sun deck and pool areas were never oppressively crowded. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone considering a holiday in Antigua.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the resort's facilities were to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We travelled with our 3 year old daughter to Antigua and stayed in Blue Waters resort in November and all I can say is "wow". We had an amazing holiday thanks to the absolutely exemplary hospitality of all the staff there. Never have we been to a hotel with the level of friendliness and helpfulness, from the moment you arrive you are greeted with rum or fruit punch while you check in. Cove suites are beautiful, we stayed on All Inclusive Plan and was really worth it, my husband was very impressed as he could fill in his mini bar wish list and it was re- stocked following day.

We thought food was excellent, you are never going to please everyone but the choice available is brilliant and we were certainly very happy. The Cove restaurant is particularly good and the lobster to die for, we were there for two weeks and the choice and service were in all three restaurants great.
The management and staff of Blue Waters deserve the greatest credit, they call you by name, they work so hard and are so incredibly friendly and go out of their way to accommodate your every need. Our daughter was treated so well there, she was thoroughly spoilt. The management are always available and extremely helpful, special mention to the lovely Margaret( Assistant Manager) and Gwen ( spa and Concierge ) and also Vincent ( food and drink). Karen is also incredibly helpful and lovely.
I visited the spa for an Elemis facial and the spa is in the most beautiful location. Therapists are highly trained and very knowledgable and the whole experience was worth every dollar!
We cannot wait to return to this amazing hotel and we fell in love with the island of Antigua and it's people. We have been to quite a few 5 star hotel resorts around the world but nothing compares to the welcome,hospitality and location of Blue Waters.
Highly recommend this hotel, well worth every cent!

Room Tip: If you can afford it stay in a Cove suite, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the staff made your stay feel extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just come home from a fabulous holiday in the Blue Waters Resort and cannot praise the place the staff and the atmosphere enough.

As previous reviewers have mentioned the staff make the place but also the gardens are fabulous and are immaculate, every day a new flower or bird can be seen. The view from our Cove Suite 3 was blissful to wake up to each morning. The room was spacious, well aired (you could use the air condition or there was a large fan on the ceiling) and well equipped. I had a problem with the voltage but when we went to the desk the lady there could not have been more helpful. I was going into town to buy a suitable appliance but she contacted someone in the resort who brought us a converter type thing which did the trick immediately.

The Palm restaurant was so full of life and the staff so bright and engaging, with a morning kiss from Andre!!! Yes there was the occasional cat and the little birds flew in and out but with an open-air restaurant what would you expect and personally I thought it added character.

The Cove Staff, headed by Gwen, could not have been more helpful and suggested local places to eat out including Papa Zouk's and Hemmingway's. Thanks, it made our stay even better.

Room Tip: Cove Suites 1, 2, and 3 were the best as they had their own pool with an excellent view out to sea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that you took pleasure from wandering through the resort's landscaped gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a blissful week at Blue Waters. We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanview room which looked out over the sea. The room itself was a reasonable size and initially we were given a room with an adjoining door to the next room. This meant that everything that went on in next doors bathroom at every hour of the night could be heard very clearly in our room. Quite unpleasant. So on day 2 we requested a room change and were given a room which although was slightly bigger, the bathroom was of a far worse quality. It was like stepping into something from the 1970's. There was more enamel missing from the bath than actually on it, and as the bath was on a raised platform, stepping out of the shower over the side of the bath was like dicing with death every day.
The rest of the room was perfectly pleasant, hardly boutique design, but large twin beds pushed together to make one giant bed, and a nice large tv. The terraces face out onto the sea and have comfy seating.
There are 3 restaurants on site, the Palm being the only available choice for breakfast and lunch buffet. The food was fabulous, my only criticism being that sometimes the food was a little cold, despite the fact we were often first in for breakfast or lunch. And although the stated time for breakfast opening was 7.30, you could rarely attract any attention at the egg station earlier than 7.45. And even then the hot plate would simply ruin my eggs and force me to ask the chef to start again rather than serve me an eggy disaster.
Dinners in the palm most nights were a la carte and the standard was generally fantastic. We ate one night in the Cove and were underwhelmed. The lobster thermidor was weird, the sauce contained mushroom and onion and the whole thing was overwhelmingly cheesy which made it far too rich. The setting of the restaurant is beautiful, overlooking the ocean, although with sunset at 6.30 you couldn't actually see it! And i found it difficult to find - some more signposts around the resort would be useful.
The one thing that really bothered me a lot were sometimes when a stray cat entered the Palm restaurant and would sit by our feet. On one occasion i even saw it jump onto a diner eating their food. The staff do nothing to discourage this, and i found myself on edge whenever i saw the cat around. Not very hygienic!
The staff are generally fabulous. Extremely friendly. Most of them remember your name which is a great touch, although the questions about how my day has been started by the end of the week to seem almost robotic in nature.
The pools are great, a nice temperature for cooling off, not too cold. The sunbeds by the main pool are very comfy and luxurious, less so by the infinity pool but still passable. The pool bars could open earlier than 10.30 especially because i was on my sunbed by 8am and wanted a cool drink by then. And towels were rarely available before 8.30am even though the pools opened at 8am. But they are lovely places to relax, mostly peaceful except for when 2 different types of music drift over - one from the restaurant, and one from the pool bar.
The resort is extremely well maintained. Stunning manicured gardens, and pools and surrounding areas immaculate.
We are not the sort of couple to return to somewhere twice, but if we were, i would return to Blue Waters in a flash. I came away totally relaxed, happy, and very well fed.

Room Tip: don't get one with an adjoining door!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the staff made your visit feel extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

OK it didn't start too well as due to a mix up between our agents and the Hotel we were not booked into The Cove Suites as arranged. Andy ( Gen Manager) and Margaret (Asst Gen Mgr) sorted us out and arranged for a penthouse Cove Suite for the first 5 days until another suite became available.

The rooms are large and well furnished as well as immaculately clean but this hotel is not just about the rooms - primarily it is about the staff. The staff are uniformly great - the use of your name even from day 1 is amazing and they all seem genuinely happy in their work. This is not just 'a front' as a brief story indicates. I was having breakfast in Palms when two guests and a small child passed who were greeted by a maid with a big smile and a greeting. When she had passed she was still smiling several steps later - the smile was not just for show.

Some reviewers have been a bit negative about food - OK it is not The Fat Duck or Quatre Saisons or The Waterside all of which we have been to but it is pretty good. We ate in Palms but more often in The Cove. Breakfast in Palms is all you could ask of it. Dinner in The Cove, with a stunning setting overlooking crashing waves, was very good. Yes there is a tendency for the main course to arrive too soon after the first but if you mention it they go out of their way to ensure that you are happy. The crab cakes and lobster were good and my wife enjoyed the escargots. Again the staff are wonderful and arrange buggies to take you back to the bar in the reception area. Look out for the backlit menus - great innovation.

We did not use the Spa or the Gym - there are plenty of pools and there are never a shortage of loungers. The beach is not huge but it is more than adequate as can be seen below. The Water sports guys took us out in a sailing boat to the reef - the snorkelling here was better than any other we experienced on the island with more fish and live coral than elsewhere and just 15 mins out by sail. Thank you Robert.

There is a concierge service for Cove guests that includes mobile phones so that they can sort out any problems that might arise and they also sort out trips and usually pop in to see you over breakfast to make sure all is well. Thank you Gwen, Karen and Adrienne.

As I have said everything here is good but the staff are great and in the end this is a testimony to their selection and training - it is a credit to Andy and Margaret. Andy is ever present at meal times just ensuring that everyone is having a good time. This sort of management is a case study for all hotels. There are other Hotels that have this ethic - Raffles and Chewton Glen spring to mind - but it is the sort of service that makes you sad to leave. Thank you everyone for a great week.

Room Tip: Cove is in 4 buildings. Nos 1,2,and 3 face over the sea whilst 4 is set behind them and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Blue Waters and that the staff made your visit feel extra special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Bluewaters is a lovely property. The setting is fantastic, beaches lovely and gardens are perfectly groomed. Didn't get a chance to look at all rooms however stayed in the Cove Suite Penthouse which was well appointed, extremely spacious and had a marvellous balcony / outdoor area with views across the ocean. Staff at the resort are hard to fault, exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel provided us with a mobile telephone and point of contact at all times; fantastic idea and saves a lot of hassle. The gym could probably use an upgrade but not everyone is concerned when on this type of holiday.

Where the hotel can improve is with the food. Whilst the selection (at breakfast and lunch) is wide and varied the quality could be improved. The Cove seems to be the choice restaurant at Blue Waters. The food is better than that of the other two options (The Palm and Bartleys). The Pelican Bar is a nice post dinner venue and, on particular evenings, there is relaxing live music.

Overall, a very nice resort. A food upgrade away from being a top Caribbean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that you were pleased with your Cove Suite Penthouse accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.