We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Save Saved
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in St. John's
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just came back from our Honeymoon at Blue Waters, and it was wonderful!! Since we were on our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a Beachfront Suite with Concierge service. The resort is beautiful, immaculately kept beaches and pools; everyone was so cheerful and friendly, it was like visiting with friends. The Concierge service was first class: Gwen, Karen and their team were on top of our every need, made all of our dinner reservations. The Breakfast buffet was incredible, we stuffed our faces every day!! The Palms restaurant was great, the service top-notch. The weather was perfect all week, and as it was slightly out of season, the resort was quiet and extremely relaxing. We will definitely be going back hopefully for our anniversary or next long holiday...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon at Blue Waters, and that you enjoyed our concierge service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    199
    60
    37
    16
See reviews for
251
639
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful peaceful private bay. There are two small beaches of very clean soft white same with plenty of sun beds and ample shade. In addition the gardens and pool area are so relaxing.
The staff are the friendliest I have come across. They all seem to know and remember your name , Be it first name or surname. Nothing is too much trouble. Even when the garden team are busy they will acknowledge you.
I think because the staff were so happy and friendly that this made the guest feel that way too.
I travelled alone but have never been made to feel so welcome to join other guests for a drink and chat. Not intrusively but in a good way.
The food was amazing and varied every day in choice. Breakfast was heaven. Lunch was so good and dinner even better.and then the cocktails ummmm.
Night life was dinner and then some really good Antiguan bands or wonderful singers and of coarse the cocktails.
My room was literally on the shore line overlooking the bay. Wonderful sunsets from the balcony and the lapping of waves. I loved every minute and look forward to my return.

Room Tip: Sea view upper floor near to the boat house. On the shore line and quiet. Wonderful veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We're thrilled to hear you had a pleasant stay at Blue Waters, and that you found our staff accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We returned to Blue Waters after a gap of 8 years. It was like going home, the welcome just as warm, the staff like greeting old friends.
Since we last visited the Cove suites had been built, very nice, but as there is no beach in fron t of them, found the beach and pool around the old hotel filled more quickly, however small price to pay as the Cove restaurant was stylish, with a great menu, and a really good addition to the resort.
the Palm restaurant is fine for breakfast and lunch, but a bit over reliant on buffets. Vivien's restaurant has been renamed Bartleys, but is essentially the same, not much atmosphere, but good food and service.
The grounds are delightful, and well tended, everywhere is in good order, but the thing that sets it apart from other hotels we have visited is the wonderful staff who go the extra mile to make your holiday enjoyable. Carolyn the beach bar tender is wonderful, her laugh is like sunshine, and Tremaine is a rising star, and Pearl is unforgettable.
The new management team of Andy (General Manager) and Vincent ( F & B manager), are going to be a winning combination.
Hello to all the new friends we made, we are already planning our return.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper floor of the Luxury Oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We're thrilled to hear your third stay at Blue Waters was another pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I talked to Tasean Moore trying to book a room for my parents couple of weeks ago. He is an awesome guy and he was very helpful. I really felt comfortable and at ease when I was booking. I live in Antigua for the past two years and I must say that BLue waters from outside looks awesome and I can't even imagine how it looks inside. From the talks that i have with my friends, they all say nice things about this hotel. I will let you guys know after their stay in couple of weeks. But overall, I am confident blue waters will not let me down. Thanks to Tasean and Can't wait to meet all these awesome people in the hotel that these reviews mention.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope your stay at Blue Waters lives up to your expectations!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having visited the Caribbean before in November and January/February we were not expecting such good weather in June. We were however pleasantly surprised. As it was slightly out of season the resort was fairly quiet which made for a very relaxing holiday. There are several beaches to try and many swimming pools and at times we had these to ourselves. It was like having our own private paradise. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Our room was amazing with super king size bed, large settee, flat screen TV with DVD player ( not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We're thrilled to hear you had a pleasant stay at Blue Waters, and that you found our staff accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having just returned 2 days ago to a dreary UK, we miss Blue Waters already. This is our 2nd visit, we came last year and if possible, our return to Blue Waters was even better! The gardens are stunning, the Palm Court has been re designed beautifully and the terrace still gives you that outstanding view. Everywhere you walk you will want to stop and admire the view-make sure you take the time to walk around the resort, it truly is stunning. No negative comments to Blue Waters, if you were unsure, don't be-you won't be disappointed. The staff are truly genuine, and you are felt so welcome from the minute you arrive to the time that you leave. If you get the chance, treat yourself to outside dining, Marlon the restaurant manager will ensure you receive an unforgettable experience. The Island is fantastic, visit Nian at the tour desk who will gladly talk you through all the various options, but a visit to Cades Reef for snorkelling is a must. A rum Collins made by Tramine will delight you, give it a try. A smile by Mark every day will light up your morning, and the attention by all staff will make you feel special. I don't remember one time in the restaurant's when we needed to request another drink, the staff were there when you glass was half full to top it up again! We will be back, all things willing. Thank you Blue Waters

Room Tip: Cove suits are in a great location, and a nice walk to all areas. Any block for the beach front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nesconset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

from the moment you pull up to the front to the second you leave you realize you are going to be very happy you chose this hotel! food is great staff is better and the grounds are sublime. do the all inclusive because you wont find better anywhere else on the island and we have stayed several places on antigua

Room Tip: every room has a great view depends if you spend a lot of time in your room or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and were particularly happy with your all inclusive package.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.