We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Waters, Antigua Evans, Redhill, Surrey March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Blue Waters Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blue Waters, Antigua Evans, Redhill, Surrey March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just spent an idyllic fortnight holiday a t Blue Waters. It was our second visit, following a gap of several years, but the resort was as marvellous as we remembered it from our first trip there.

The hotel lies at the foot of luxuriantly wooded slopes where the sparkling blue Caribbean washes over white sandy beaches. Facing north-west, the site enjoys beautiful sunsets, more than matching the vivid colours which streak the eastern sky during the morning dawn. The main hotel is enclosed between two small headlands which shelter its two principal beaches from the open ocean, ensuring safe bathing conditions at all times. One of these promontories is capped by Rock Cottage, the hotel’s most prestigious accommodation, operated as a private adjunct to Blue Waters, and to which it belongs. The other terminates seawards at the hotel’s wedding gazebo, the location for several unostentatious but attractive wedding ceremonies. There is a third beach beyond this second headland; it is rather rocky and is more exposed to the open ocean itself, and although it therefore experiences a rather more lively sea than the other two, bathing is still possible here.

Arrival at Blue Waters is an occasion in its own right. We were greeted by Paulette and Margaret, invited to relax in the attractive Reception area, and served a chilled rum punch while simple formalities were completed and our luggage was taken to our room. Such efficiency and helpfulness begins the process of de-stressing, an objective of any holiday. Paulette appears to be around most of the time; she cannot do too much to please and help, and we soon learnt that nothing was too much effort or inconvenience for her when it came to attending to our needs.

The Pelikan bar, the hotel’s principal social gathering venue in the evenings, faces and benefits from warm breezes drifting off the open sea, while its numerous roof fans swirl silently above. In this attractive and comfortable space, friendly waitresses serve an almost infinite variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Shanella (Sunshine) and Raoul (Red Passion) are names to remember here. There is also Veronica’s , a small and pleasant open-air bar overlooking the beach, ideal for a pre-lunch drink; Wingrove, the regular barman here, prepares an amazing range of cocktails, as well as the ubiquitous rum punch. Almost on the sandy strand itself is the tiny Beach Bar, usually staffed by Carolyn, long associated with Blue Waters, and always cheerful, always efficiently helpful.

Our room was classified as deluxe beachfront accommodation. It afforded us a delightful view of the hotel’s principal beach, and was sufficiently close to allow us to listen to the waves breaking across the sand; what luxury on an early, sunny morning! The room has a flat-screen TV with a good range of channels, ample storage space, and a large comfortable double bed. The bathroom is well equipped, and furnished with Elemis products. Our room was spotlessly cleaned every day by a smiling Ritsa, and linen was changed on a frequent and regular basis. There are a range of room types at Blue Waters, ranging from Hillside rooms to the ultimate luxury of the Cove Suites, whilst none are far removed from the Pelikan Bar and the restaurants in the hotel itself.

There are three restaurants in Blue Waters. We preferred the Palm, tranquilly decorated in cool colours; it provides a superb buffet lunch at midday, afternoon tea later, and a la carte dinner in the evening. The waitresses are constantly happy, polite, and obliging. Gaye never seemed to give up attending to our needs. There is also Bartley’s, serving a la carte fusion food, and perhaps the ultimate experience of the Cove Restaurant, where we dined on a number of occasions, gazing out over a floodlit sea and listening to the music of the breakers on the rocks below. A few, very few, guests, wanted to sample restaurants outside Blue Waters; they returned converted in the knowledge that the hotel has a more than brilliant selection of restaurants of its own, serving meals unequalled outside. The chef, Roger, is constantly around, mixing with the diners; he is a genius of invention and presentation.

Blue Waters provides an excellent range of entertainment for its guests, most of which occurs in or around the Pelikan Bar. There are, as might be expected, several steel bands, but also cool jazz, modern vocal, and other musical offerings to please most tastes. Not an evening goes by without something to please and enjoy.

Finally, we re-discovered the gardens. They are beautiful and extensive. Colour abounds everywhere. And for the curious, like ourselves, the gardeners are only too willing to pause and explain the plants, and to advise on their maintenance. There are birds flying and singing everywhere; the pretty sugar birds/yellow breasts appeared to dominate, but we obtained equal pleasure watching humming birds and other species too.

Blue Waters is a haven. It is an unpretentious but marvellous hotel. Whilst what it offers cannot be praised too much, mention should be made of the staff, who ultimately help make the place what it is. They are always warm and welcoming, helpful, obliging – and always joyful. They are too numerous to name individually, although some have been referred to already. Deserving of special mention, too, however, are Anderson Howard, Blue Water’s General Manager, who clearly runs a brilliant show. But most especially for us, Margaret, the Assistant Hotel Manager, in constant attendance, always laughing and cheerful, always so very helpful, so missed upon our departure.

We hope to meet them all again when we return very soon.

Evans, Redhill, Surrey. March 2013

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and enjoy a sea view. For the ultimate in luxury, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ifor,

Thank you for such a kind and heart-warming review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with and that our team here so enhanced your holiday experience. I will of course pass on your regards to each of them.

We are all looking forward to your return and hope to see you very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    207
    63
    37
    16
See reviews for
262
662
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Blue Waters for our honeymoon and stayed in a Cove Suite. All I can say is that is was the best hotel experience I have had. Staff couldn't do enough for you. I loved the fact you could get a golf cart back to the suite. The food was the best I have had at an all inclusive resort as well. The Cove Suites are a good size and the private pool and bar were awesome. If Antigua wasn't such a boring island I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Damian,

Thank you for your positive review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Blue Waters and hope you will return to Antigua and see us again.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family of five stayed at Blue Waters during our recent Spring Break trip. We were not disappointed. The resort is absolutely beautiful with plenty of water activities to choose from. The staff were great and ready to help out at any time. Blue Waters is not one of these oversized resorts, its quaint and elegant. My children ages 11, 13 and 16 were able to roam the resort independently (safe and homey feel to it) which my husband and I appreciated. We played tennis, sailed, kayaked, there is a games room with table tennis and billiards. We opted out of the all-inclusive plan as we did venture off the resort for dinners, zip-lining, shopping. As with all resorts, the gift shop is pricey so try not to forget anything, like suntan lotion. Also, the beach is a small cove so you can not go for those long walks along a stretch of sand, but I think all of Antigua beaches are like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we're delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay, it sounds like the water sports were a particular highlight!

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Blue Waters very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton Bay, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Forty years ago, Pat and I were married and our first home together was Antigua. I was USN and stationed at the Naval Facility. In 2013, we decided to bring our entire family (two children, spouses, and 3 grandchildren to relive those first months of our married journey. We chose Blue Water Resort and it is AWESOME. THE most friendly staff we have ever encountered and an incredible Turtle Cottage make everyday a joy. The chef creates fabulous meals, the staff serves with joy and laughter. Every day is worth every penny we invest in this paradise.
Dan & Pat Smith

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Dan & Pat,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a touching review, we are delighted to have been part of this special holiday for you and your family and hope to have the pleasure of your company again very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Cove Suites,with which we were very pleased. We liked the privacy afforded here and the pool was excellent. Evening entertainment was first class. Spa massage was the best ever experienced. Bartleys restaurant and the Cove were very good but lacking a little in atmosphere. Felicia in the Palm restaurant was so courteous and polite and always had a cheerful disposition. Tremaine was always attentive in serving drinks around the pool at the Cove Suites and Tario and Pearl were excellent in their service at the Pelican Bar. Conscierge personnel were always helpful. The gardens here were the most lush and well kept that we have seen at an hotel. The hotel and staff made our first visit to Antigua special and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Cove suites were our choice but some people might not like the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back to Antigua.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our 3rd visit to Antigua, but our first to Blue Waters. From the moment we arrived you could not help but be impressed by the friendliness and quality of the staff who do everything to enhance your stay. The 3 restaurants are lovely and the views from the palm restaurant at breakfast are beautiful and prepare you for another day in paradise.

We were there to celebrate my 65th birthday and everything was done to make it a very special occasion.

If there was one negative it was that the de luxe beach villa room bore little resemblance to that portrayed on the blue waters website, and the bathroom in particular was not 4.5 star standard.
It appeared to me that the best rooms were in the block nearest the sea. This apart I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: I prefer the deluxe beach villa rooms in the block nearest the sea, which are lighter and are the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time celebrating your 65th birthday with us.

We have taken your comments on board, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We thought we’d died & gone to heaven!!

Fabulous holiday, lovely secluded resort, wonderful friendly staff too numerous to mention. We have never stayed at a more welcoming hotel.

Would we return??

Yes please!!

Heaven on earth!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe beach front room - (Block 5) - & awoke every morning to a wonderful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Eve,

Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waters Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.