We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation, but..........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Antigua to your Saves list
Blue Waters Antigua
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation, but..........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Cove Suites at the Blue Water in Antigua. Would definitely not return.

The Cove Suite we stayed in was beautiful and in a lovely location with our patio doors leading straight out to the pool and sunbeds. Nearly all the staff are also extremely pleasant and friendly but unfortunately that's where the positives end!

The biggest disappointment by far is the food, both the quality of the food itself and also the level and speed of service. The best of a bad bunch is Bartley's, the Asian restaurant, but on our second evening in this restaurant we sat for just over half an hour without our order even being taken and decided to leave without any dinner. In fairness to the hotel, the duty manager called our room and apologised and arranged for us to see the manager the following day which we duly did. We pointed out our main grievances and he was very apologetic and offered us a complimentary dinner in The Cove that evening by way of apology. Unfortunately this meal was also dreadful - the service was still extremely slow with a 50 minute wait between our starters being cleared and our main course arriving. My lobster was very over-cooked, dry and tasteless and mu husband's filet was totally cremated! Breakfast every morning was an ordeal as we didn't once have all the requisite cutlery and there was always something missing from the buffet which was not topped up regulary enough. We also pointed this out to the manager who spoke to the staff and the next morning there was none of the correct cereal on display (had to wait 10 minutes for this), had to ask twice for coffee, no orange juice out, no apple juice, no muffins, no butter!! The manager himself was lovely and clearly embarrassed about the inadequecies of the staff, but this didn't help our situation.

In addition to the food problems, we had to wait an hour for beach towels, half an hour for someone to come and remove an enormous cockroach from our ceiling, we were told the non-motorised water sports were complimentary but were then asked for a tip (we would have tipped anyway, but it isn't nice to be made to feel that this is obligatory), the games room is appalling - stifling hot and equipment in extremely poor condition.

Due to the lack of any good food in the hotel, we ventured out to Le Bistro one evening and La Bussola another evening. The food in Le Bistro was okay but very slow service again and a very dated ambiance. La Bussola had a much nicer loacation and ambiance with very friendly and welcoming staff, but not very good quality food, just adequate.

Also, do not waste any time going into St John's as it is awful - extremely dirty and smelly and only about two shops worth calling in to.

In summary, we thought our accommodation was lovely, the Antiguan people are extremely friendly but the quality of food and service are very lacking and this is why we will not return to this island.

Room Tip: If you do decide to go here then definitely choose a Cove Suite - the other rooms looked awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    220
    67
    40
    18
See reviews for
283
724
30
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I only stayed at BW for one evening in March so keep in mind our review is from limited experience. We occasionally like to stay at numerous resorts on our first visit to an island. It's fun to experience many locations and we chose this resort to be our first stop after traveling all day. We wanted a comfortable resort close to the airport that would ensure reduced time from shoes to bare feet.

Reception: We received a wonderfully warm reception here. The kind people who met us at our taxi, took our bags, watched our bags, took us to our room, offered a tour, and checked us in, were exceptional..

Room: Our room was on the second floor in the least expensive category. It was basic and clean. I was happy to see the bedding was as pictured on the website. I do appreciate the coolness of white linens instead of faded flowers- and the bed was comfy. The view was better than I had pictured. Since we were on a hillside, the building in front of us was downhill allowing us to see the ocean over the top of the building. Our water temperature in the bathroom was impossible to adjust and we both had bothersome showers. We did mention this to the staff upon checkout.

Grounds/buildings: Just beautiful. The landscaping is lush and the interiors of the main restaurant, Cove, and reception were simple, tastful and beautiful.

Pools and beach: Gazing over the pools and beach was delightful. We didn't use the pools because of our time limit and, anytime we can, we head for the beach. The beach was small but definately fulfilled our goals of the day.

Food/bar and service: We found the food to be fine except for our one lunch on the main restaurant patio Our food was disappointing and the server that day was more quiet than the other staff we encountered. She offered little eye contact- but maybe this was an off day for her. Our one dinner at the Cove was nice but I'm not sure it was better atmosphere than the main restaurant-just different. The Cove has an ocean front setting with more modern decor and the main restaurant has a landscaped hill/pool/ocean view with island colonial decor.
After dinner drinks in the main lounge with live island music was so nice after a long day. Again the server was great.

Ammenties: We declined a tour offered to us so we were unaware of a coffee bar that was supposed to be in our room. If it was there, it was hidden in furniture. That said, we really missed making coffee in the morning and sitting on our balcony. We were also disappointed that there was nothing in our fridge. I believe if you choose the all inclusive plan that you may choose items to be stocked but it's my opinion that all rooms in this price range should offer at least bottled water or drinks to be payed for as used.

Value: I loved the resort. I can understand how the people who stay in the Cove Suites would be totally impressed. I wished though, for the amount we did spend, that there would have been more room amenities and possibly some room remodeling (maybe dark scupted wood like the beautiful main restaurant chairs?)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I got married at the Blue Waters a few months ago, and found the whole holiday a great experience.

The wedding itself went very smoothly, Mandie the wedding co-ordinator is a great lady, very helpful, friendly and organised, the day went without a hitch and with what felt like very little planning on our part as it was all taken care of.

I also had hair and makeup done at the spa/salon which were done really well considering there was no "practice" done before hand. We also went for a massage which was really nice as well.

The food at the hotel was lovely, although it seemed a little pricey if you had not chosen the all inclusive option. There was however a wide variety of choices, with a BBQ and buffets also being available on various nights.

We had chosen the Cove Suite rooms, and were very pleased, it was spacious and the pool was shared with 5 other rooms which meant it was relatively private. There was also a waitress by an attended hut nearby so we didnt need to keep walking down to the main bar to get a drink, and she did come to us by the pool as well.

The hotel itself is quite large and a few minutes walk depending on where your room is to the restaurants etc, however there are golf buggies zipping around and you can order from reception to carry you around if you dont feel like walking.

The sea and beach are lovely, as are the pools around the hotel, however compared to some other hotels the pools did seem a little small, however when the sea is nearby this doesn't really matter that much.

Overall the hotel stay was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were great. I have no regrets about choosing this venue for my wedding, and would especially like to thank Mandie for all the help on the day.

If I am ever in Antigua again I would not hesitate to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: The cove suites are definitely a nice upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing such a positive review!

We are delighted you chose to have your wedding at Blue Waters and are even happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We hope you will return to Antigua soon so we may welcome you back to Blue Waters.

Kindest Regards

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just returned from a 7 night stay that was everything we hoped it would be. From the moment we were greeted in the reception area with a cool towel and a rum punch, we knew the service would be exceptional and we were not disappointed. The staff is unfailingly courteous, eager to please, and always ready with a warm smile.

This hotel is tucked away in an idyllic location away from crowds and other hotels, and we loved the peace and quiet. We stayed in the deluxe beachfront rooms which had a fabulous view and were just steps from the pool and beach. Since the hotel is away from the Atlantic side the surf is nearly non-existent and the water is an indescribable shade of blue. The beaches are small but clean and uncrowded, and watersports including kayaks, sailing and snorkeling are provided at no extra charge. We were treated to a nice guided snorkeling trip out to Boon Reef just over a mile off the shore, and our hotel guide even dove down to recover our camera when the strap broke.

Breakfast was good, but we did not choose the all inclusive plan because we wanted to get out and enjoy the local restaurants and island "flavor" for dinner. There are some great restaurants in St. John's and English Harbour and we enjoyed the chance to get out and learn more about the culture and the people who call Antigua home (I wish I was one of them).

Thank you to the entire staff at Blue Waters for a memorable stay and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everyone here at Blue Waters is looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Having Just returned from our 17th stay since 1988 we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was great to see our dear friend "Woody" back on the Management team well done! The new Spa and Cove restuarant are ideal. All the staff are as delightful and friendly as ever and make you feel so wecolme nothing is too much trouble, just like a second home. Be back soon.

Room Tip: We prefer the Deluxe beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have had the pleasure of welcoming you to Blue Waters since 1988!

You can be assured of a warm welcome from us all upon your next visit.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

i have stayed here three times and loved it each time, but onteh last occasion, I took the Penthouse in the Cove and teh service was lacking, for a room of this price. The locasion is great, teh staff are great adn watersports people, are only too willing to help ! great snorkling on hotels own reef, or so it feels, what a great place to unwind when in Antigua even for work.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went to the Blue Water Resort for a wedding, my friend chose it and it was the best place she could have chosen for such a special occasion .. everything about the resort is magnificent and constantly impressive. from the food to the staff you cant fault it.. The place is like paradise, the staff feel like friends and keep you constantly cheerful. Pearl and her sister behind the bar, Jamal on the golf buggies, the smooth guys in the boat house looking after the watersprts were just a few of the fun characters that helped to make the holiday perfect. always smiling always friendly they are just what you want on holiday! i could go on for ages about the amazing buffet, the chilled out beach bars and the accomodating reception staff but you need to go and find out for yourself YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED .. WELL APART FROM WHEN ITS TIME TO GO HOME :(

Room Tip: all rooms look great but we had a perfect beach view from room 108 our friends stayed in a suite whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your friend had such a memorable wedding day here at Blue Waters.

We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.