We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Grand Pineapple after reading many reviews about the place, so we had an idea of what to expect. We arrived to a well needed rum punch, but just as many people stated, we were not given the room we had reserved. We asked for a specific ocean front room and were “upgraded” to the beach front room.

Grounds:
The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. There are two pools, one larger and more exotic, and one smaller for adults only.

Beach:
The beach was small but gorgeous. There were always plenty of seats and shade from palms and from tables with umbrellas. I would suspect when the place is more full it might be more challenging to get your shady spot, though. Because of open bar, there was A LOT of trash on the beach and under water. They removed the trash from the beach each day, though. Snorkeling was reportedly great on this beach, but we though it wholly uninteresting. We are divers and there just wasn’t much to see. The water was nicely warm and ranged from completely calm to a bit choppy when the wind picked up. There were sport things to do like kayaking and hobie cats, but we didn’t use any of it.

Rooms:
Ah, the rooms…Our rooms (I think it was number 240) was indeed right on the beach, which was nice. However, the upstairs had a shared balcony and walkway, so we could never really have our shades open as everyone who walked to get to their room could look into ours. And, children were often playing on it. The room is decent, but nothing fancy at all. The bathroom was rather small and motel-like. The blower fan in the bathroom was always on with the light, so if you turned on the light, it was REALLY loud. I was usually awakened by the one downstairs coming on in the morning. When we arrived at the room, the smoke alarm was beeping. The remote for the TV didn’t work either. The blanket on the bed looked to be many decades old (I am picky, but even my husband thought it was nasty). However, they were really nice about it and brought me a newer cotton one.

The newer rooms (blocks 700-900) are really quite nice. However, they are quite a walk to get to everything. The third and fourth floors have views of the sea, but I don’t think the other floors did.

Food:
The food was extraordinarily plentiful and mostly good. We don’t eat meat or chicken (only fish) so we felt that we were mostly paying for food we were not interested in eating. While it’s not five star eating, it is quite good.

Service:
We thought all the service was both polite and good. The reception desk, housekeeping, wait staff, cooks – all VERY nice.

Evening Music:
The quality of the evening entertainment ranged from really good quality musicianship to fair. We enjoyed sitting in the bar having a cocktail and listing to the music.

We paid about $430/night for two, all inclusive. Since we just don’t eat that much and the rooms were not that great, we really felt that it was wasn’t the greatest value for us.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    1,119
    387
    155
    115
See reviews for
587
1,514
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey GB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

We have just returned from a week at the grand Pineapple and had a fantastic time. We did however book when Virgin had some very good deals on which made it even better!!

Arrival
check in was efficient but the room was not available until 3pm so we went to the beach for 1 hour.

Room
we had an oceanview room which was large and clean and had a nice balcony and view. the tv was not great but we did not go to watch tv!! If you want a fridge in your room it needs to be requested but it is nothing special when it arrives.

Food
The food was good and plenty of it. all meals had a good selection and food was fresh and restaurants were clean. the pineapple grill was closed and we were not told about this -we assume because the hotel was quiet. We did not have any problems with the service. Staff were polite and helpful but could have interacted more at times. We went to Mary's outhouse which was very laid back and a great place to get away from the rest of the hotel. The birds were a problem at breakfast but we soon got used to covering all food/ cups/ glasses when we left the table!!

Beach
We did not use the pools as the beach was so lovely. there were plenty of sunloungers and lots of shade on the beach. We saw lots of maintenance of the garden and beach area. also, lots of security staff around all the time who were friendly. You can snorkle from the beach around the rocks to the right and is good enough for a beginner like me or you can go further out if you are braver.

Entertainment
We did not participate in the entertainment as we were too busy reading and relaxing but the staff seemed friendly and enthusiatic and made a real effort to entertain on the day it was overcast.


Overall we had a great time. If you are wanting somewhere plush this is probably not the place for you.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

My husband and I visited the Pineapple Beach Hotel during the first week of August 2006 with our two sons ages 19 and 15 along with their eighteen year male friend . As some other travelers have stated we too were some what apprehensive about staying at the hotel after reading some of the negative reviews. We found most of the negative reviews to be unfounded. With the exception of the Mexican night, the food was quite good. We ate three meals a day and enjoyed each meal. The drinks were excellent and when I requested an extra shot, there was no problem.. I must agree that the hotel MUST improve on the towel situation. On several occasions, we did have to request that they replenish the towels and they were somewhat slow in honoring the request. The beach is absolutely clean and beautiful . Yes there are birds at breakfast but they never bothered us. I would rate the hotel 3 stars due to the quality of the furnishings in the room and the towel situation. We are from the US and our kids absolutely loved making friends with the kids from the UK. They had a ball each night and at the beach during the day. All in all a great time was had by all and we would definitely return to this resort. Signed B from New Jersey

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Lack of towels
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex,england
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

From the moment i arrived in antigua, i felt like royalty everyone is just so nice!! in the hotel no-one hesistates to do anything for you, the beach is spotless, the water is crystal clear, i was worried about stepping on something dangerous but the waters have nothing in it. the water sports is great!! really fun, they have plenty of trips to go on but if you have a big family it will be expensive so make sure you go with lots of money!!

everything is free there which is nice, there is a snack bar which serves burgers etc. if you ever feel hungry and its open until 1 in the morning.
in the restaurant they do lovely food lots of new different things i would never have had here in england such as marlin, swordfish. etc..
one annoying thing is in the morning at breakfast there are birds flying all around the restaurant because it is all open if anyone leaves their plate unattended.. straight away a bird will come and peck your food. if you get a seat by the windows its amazing!!

there is a legend there called jules, you should go just to meet him!! ha

for kids the place is great as there is all sorts of activities going on everyday, volleyball, waterside footie, waterside cricket, and all the watersports. they also do activies to win trips such as throwing water balloons to each other without bursting them and kayak races!!

if you go try to get a beach room as you will be literally on the beach and the sound of the waves sends you to sleep everynight.

the weather is gorgeous, it sometimes gets a bit cloudy but still really hot and it rains for about 5minutes which is nice!
i would recommend taking a snorkel with you as you can snorkel all through the coral reefs out there and it is amazing!!

i cant explain how nice this hotel is, perfect if you just want to relax! but if you don't there is plenty of entertainment that goes on at night and you MUST try the fruit punch ;)

also, the tap water is 100% safe to drink.

  • Liked — our room was right on the beach
  • Disliked — mosquitos!!
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you spray yourself with mossie spray every night before u go 2 sleep!
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

I have given the Grand Pineapple Beach (GPB) 3 stars as we had a 3 star experience although some aspects of our stay were better than others

Getting There
My girlfriend and I flew out of London Gatwick on Virgin Atlantic Upper Class - the service was incredible and the flight literally flew by. We had no transfers arranged but getting through the airport, into a cab and to the GPB took no more than an hour and cost $28.

GPB
We arrived to no welcome drink at the hotel but were checked in swiftly and had an hour wait for our room. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a second floor 2 bedroom garden view room which was spacious and light. The bathroom was a little grubby but that wasn't a real concern. Over our week the air-con was vital and provided good respite from the heat - we kept ours on all night. The rooms were kept clean and towels/sheets etc changed regularly.

The grounds are nicely maintained although I think it could do with more people tidying and collecting rubbish as I noticed that odd bits of rubbish didn’t move for a few days. The pool area is lovely although the adult only pool is unimpressive. Towel service is good as are the activities if you are into that kind of thing.

The beach is the real selling point for the hotel. It is fabulous and kept in very good order. There are limited water sports available and plenty of sun loungers to go around. One gripe might be that the sea weed could be swept up when it comes ashore although this is only a small problem. A definite improvement both at the beach and around the pool is the amount of shade available. The umbrellas are fixed and quite high so it’s difficult to get out of the sun at times - we took to regular dips in the pool to cool down.

Plastic furniture in the outdoor drinks area didn't give an impression of luxury but you get what you pay for I suppose.

Food
Generally the food was good but not excellent. It was annoying that the Pineapple Grill restaurant was closed and we had to make-do with a sectioned off area of the main dining hall. There were either a la carte or buffet menus available every night and bookings were needed for the sectioned off area where a different menu was on offer for 3 nights. Breakfast was usual buffet fayre with omelettes, waffles pancakes, toast, bacon etc plus fresh fruits. The snack bar was open from midday and offered burgers, fries, nachos etc. Lunch in the main area was buffet style and often lacked imagination. Dining at the front of the restaurant adjacent to the beach was lovely at all times. We walked up to Mary's Outhouse one day but decided not to eat there - just a personal preference as it didn't look much like a ‘good food’ establishment.

Birds!
The birds are a problem here, but I have never known any different in the Caribbean. They are flying around at breakfast and lunch, often landing on unmanned plates and leftovers. It’s not nice but you have to expect it here. Flies are less of a problem and food is covered with nets to stop them getting onto food. There are no bird or flies about in the evenings - guess they are full up by then!

Drinks
They claim to be premium brand but I saw a Smirnoff bottle being filled from another bottle. Also, some of the bottles they serve from are grubby which suggests they are being re-filled. I’m not suggesting they are watered down, in fact many of the measures are large and the cocktails can be very strong. One annoying feature was the juices were not mixed correctly – they were far too sweet and strong and needed to be watered down.

Staff
The main problem is that they are indifferent, but again I have always experienced this in the Caribbean. Bar staff were generally not very friendly although they were courteous most of them time. The dining room staff were great, very attentive and helpful.

Overall
We had a great week at the GPB and enjoyed just relaxing on the beach or by the pool. If you are looking for lots of things to fill your day, then you won’t find it here, but for a relaxing break it is great. I heard that it is being taken over by Beaches next year which should see some improvements made. There weren’t many kids about, but I didn’t see a lot to keep them entertained so it’s not that family friendly at present. Worth a visit if you can get a good deal, but we wouldn’t return here as there are similar resorts all over the Caribbean to be explored.

  • Liked — The beach is fantastic and pool is nice
  • Disliked — Staff were inconsistent, food options limited on occasion
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a good book or 3 and relax!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

We had a last minute deal with Virgin flying from Gatwick for 7 days. As we had never been to the Carribean before we did not know what it would be like.
All I can say is that from the moment we arrived until we left the hospitality, the staff, the food, the lovely sea view room we had and the most beautiful beach we have ever seen was beyond any expectaions you could ever imagine.
We cannot wait to go back next year.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get a good deal
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

We had the holiday of a lifetime at the Grand Pineapple. It wasn't the poshest. There was no marble entrance way and the rooms were basic but it was spotless.

The food was fantastic and although the service was slow at times it was forgivable.

Some of the servers were sour faced so I can understand those comments but there were as many lovely people there too. When we returned and I was faced with the woman dealing with parking in the long stay I realised that we British don't have a leg to stand on when it comes to 'service with a smile'.

The outhouse was wonderful. Miss Mary was on holiday but Gloria stood in and did a grand job.

We went on the snorkelling/picnic twice because it was amazing and a good way to meet others in the hotel. The trip to Shirley Heights was worth it too. A tourist do but the music was great.

All in all great value for money.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The snack bar
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.