We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Country
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent ten days over Easter at the Grand Pineapple. It was our first visit to the Caribbean, and we weren't disappointed. It has very much a family vibe. We had upgraded to the Beachfront rooms, which, to be perfectly honest, needed a little updating...we had a few problems with our toilet continually flushing, but the maintenance guys came quite quickly to fix it. It was also sometimes challenging to get the time right for a hot water shower...But the views were stunning, the rooms were kept scrupulously clean and, despite the best efforts of some playing Shuffleboard at nearly midnight, it was also very quiet. The standard rooms are a hard uphill walk, so no good for those with mobility problems.

The beach is lovely. You needed to be up with the lark to get a sun bed with an umbrella (I rarely sleep late on holiday) and being on the beach at 6am just after the sun was up was stunning.

You get approached on the beach by trip vendors. We chose to go with Garth to Nelson's Dockyard (I found very cheap rum there in the local currency Crab Hole Liquors off licence/ grocers) and Shirley Heights (much less busy on a Thursday than a Sunday) and on the stingray trip (if you only do one thing, do that, it is amazing). There are other vendors too selling aloe vera (excellent if you have sunburn...we bought ours from "Love Sponge"), jewellery and massages. There are are guards on the beach too belonging to the hotel, so there is no trouble.

The food was good...I have to say that the buffets were a lot better than the various themed evenings, but they were fine. We had one meal up at the Caribbean restaurant, which was different. Note though that their idea of fish cakes is about half to a third of the size we would have them. The one thing that jarred slightly was the hotel's insistence you be seated at mealtimes. I can understand it during busy times, but at times we were left waiting for a good while before being able to sit down. They really need more waiting staff too.

The shack up the hill above the wedding pergola does a good line in ribs, chicken and salad. Good to go up there of a lunchtime (get there in good time to get a table in the shade). The mongoose population is more visible up there, especially if you happen to have some chicken skin...they vie with the cats for your leftover treats.

The staff were very nice, but particular mention must go to Mykayla on the entertainments team. She went the extra mile to include our daughter in activities and made her feel really special. It made all the difference to her holiday.

The water sports were good, although the current is quite strong at times. My daughter was caught out by the sun on the first day, mainly by being in and out of the sea without reapplying suntan lotion. The sun is incredibly strong and we didn't underestimate it again after that.

Would we go back? Possibly, if we knew the rooms had been upgraded a little. Maybe, if the rumours about Sandals buying it are true, that might happen. But I hope they don't lose the spirit of the place.



Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    1,120
    387
    155
    115
See reviews for
587
1,514
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were unsure when we saw some reviews about here but rest assure it was fabulous. Friendly staff it felt like home. Yes it is a bit dated and tired in places but well worth the money. In fact returning again this year. We stayed in the ocean view rooms stunning views and the room was fine. We were in in contact with Sanjay Ambrose who helped arrange our private meal on the beach.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela A, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, yesterday
We really appreciate you posting about your wonderful stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua! Providing excellent customer service is very important to us and even more making you feel just like home.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 weeks. The beach is amazing. Staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble. Special thanks to Errold. The rooms have a colonial appearance, feels like stepping back in time in a really good way. The buffet meals in Topaz were very good. Trips booked by the tour operator in the hotel were too expensive and I would recommend using Marvin, who resides on the beach, to book your tours. He has an excellent reputation with fellow holidaymakers who have come back to this hotel year after year. We used him and it was fine. For airport transfers we decided not to book through our tour company, such a rip off. We simply exited the airport terminal and got a taxi from the dispatch desk outside and booked a taxi back to the airport through the reception a the hotel. This is the cheapest way and you just pay the state legal fare, which was about £20 each way.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are quite a climb, but tend to be free of mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back for the Grand Pineapple and had such a brilliant holiday. The Hotel was lovely and perfectly situated on its own beach, the staff were all lovely and plenty of them, the Food for all inclusive was amazing so much choice and we never got bored of the buffet. Even having Menus some evenings. Lots of vegetarian choices too.
The birds in the morning at breakfast were sometimes a nuesence but not a great problem and very little can be done when you are situated in such a lovely place on the beach, so certainly didn't spoil anything. The water sports team were great with the kids who got to ride Hobies and kayaks daily with them in the sea which they loved and Kerry and the rest of the team were just so lovely, Getting the kids involved in volleyball, pool etc.
The beach was beautiful, a couple of odd characters to keep our eye on when near your kids but security is always around and quick to usher unknowns away.
We used Rodney from Sunshine tours as our main taxi for our 10 day duration and we cannot recommend him enough, he knows his island and has so much to tell you about it and show you if you wish, we used him constantly as was cheaper than others and always reliable. He took us to Shirley Heights, Around the island, he ferried the men to and from the cricket and back to airport and made our holiday so much fun.
Marys outhouse was everything people say it was a fab experience with the most amazing Ribs and chicken.
Staying in the tropical Waterfront rooms we were perfectly situated and the kids had so much freedom to enjoy their holiday while we could relax knowing the were very near and safe.
We also did a trip with the Sandals foundation to the local school which I cannot recommend highly enough, it was a wonderful experience for us all especially our children, if you are thinking of doing this take books and colouring things with you to take to the children as we had to go and find somewhere and that was not easy but luckily Rodney found us a stationary shop as they rely on donations and you get to read to the children which is so lovely.
I would recommend this hotel to families and couples its a great holiday for all.
Beaware there is nothing near the hotel so you would need a cab to go anywhere

Room Tip: Tropical waterfront or Beach front highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne M, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there,
Thank you for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. It's wonderful that you had such an amazing time staying with us and enjoying the beautiful Caribbean landscape! From start to finish, it really seems like you had an absolutely fantastic holiday and we're so delighted to hear it! Your feedback is exactly the kind that we love to receive. We would love to welcome you back for another awesome trip in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from a week at the Grand Pineapple Resort. We were there from 04/18 through 04/25. What a gem! Unlike most large all-inclusive resorts, this is a small resort that is just perfect to sit back and enjoy. It probably is not for everyone but it definitely works for me and the group that I was with. There were eight of us. Unlike the large resorts where there are so many people, you actually get to know the people that are staying there for the week. It was just one of the benefits of being a small resort. We talked with people who have been coming here for years and I can definitely see why.

The staff is great and I have no complaints whatsoever regarding the food. There were two restaurants open while we were there. The grill and the main dining room. One night, they had a red snapper on the menu which I have to say was one of the best red snappers I have ever had. All the staff in the restaurants were great. Kudos to Joy at the bar. Her personality matches her name!

Because the resort was not full when we arrived, they had automatically upgraded us from an Oceanview Room to a Beachfront room. What a nice surprise. The beach and the ocean were right outside our door. Even with the door closed at night and the ceiling fan going, you could still hear the waves all night long. What an amazing way to fall asleep. I see a lot of reviews where people complain about the rooms. How much time do you really spend there???? We used the room for sleeping and showering. What else do you need?

Overall, Antigua is one of the more underdeveloped islands that I have been to and I absolutely love it. We did go to Shirley Heights on Sunday night which is a must for everyone. We also did the boatyards and sampled some local restaurants which were fabulous. The yachts were awesome. Some took a catamaran and snorkeling trip around the island and said it was unbelievable!

All in all, it would be shame for Sandals to change this resort from what it is. Yes, it could use a little updating here and there but please keep it as it is. As I said in the beginning, it is such as gem. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne M, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there,
We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua! We are dedicated to providing outstanding vacations to all of our guests and we're delighted to know that our efforts were evident during your stay. We can see that our staff's warm hospitality made a great impression on you and that's exactly the kind of feedback we love to receive. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our resort. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another amazing vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first visit to the Caribbean..to Antigua..and to the Grand Pineapple...and it was absolute heaven!! I would recommend it to anyone. Cliche but true! Grand Pineapple is so full of character and warmth. I wouldn't change a thing. The beach is stunning, beautiful gardens and really characterful buildings. I can't praise the staff enough - so friendly and welcoming. The food and drink was varied with several restaurants to try..great quality and wonderful views of the sea while you eat, not to mention the hilarious birds who chirp and flit about! Our room was lovely - clean and well furnished with gorgeous views of the gardens and own veranda, just a few steps away from the beach. There was always a sun lounger to be had on the beach or at the pools. The range of water sports (all included) was brilliant and my boyfriend and I never had to wait for equipment. Evening entertainment was varied and fun! The on-site disco was such a laugh...you could request any song you wanted..while your drink was refilled endlessly! The tours run by the Grand Pineapple were great too - it meant we saw more of the island and its history. We had 11 nights - and it didn't feel enough! It got rid of all our stresses and we truly didn't want to come home.
What was terrible to hear were the rumours that Sandals was going to knock this wonderful place down and turn it into a Sesame Street themed Beaches resort for kids/families. This would be a tragedy. I hope that Sandals take note of the reviews here on Tripadvisor and will listen to regular Grand Pineapple customers who do NOT want this.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela A, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello and thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate it. It seems you had a great time at the resort. At the moment, the plans for Grand Pineapple Beach Resort is still being worked on and no firm dates have been selected for this project.

Once the project details are finalized, we will be announcing the information immediately to all of our valued guests. Please feel free to speak with our agents at 1-888-SANDALS for more information in regards to future travel. They will be more than happy to assist you in any way possible. Have a nice day and we hope to see you again in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a seven night stay at the grand pineapple. Gutted to be home!
we had a beach front room (226) which we paid extra for and it was totally worth it. lovely spacious room with kingsize bed and huge wardrobe. AMAZING view of beach and sea.I have seen in previous reviews people calling the rooms shabby and basic......ours certainly was'nt!!

The restaurant which sits on the beach with lovely views is ran by very friendly and helpful staff and we always found something nice to choose. Local fish and chicken always available with lots of other things,i even found some cheese that tasted exactly like stilton!!!
The pool snack bar serves burgers,pizza etc and a visit to marys outhouse is a must! my husband loved the ribs and biscuits and i loved the views.
The bar is great serving everything you can imagine,i had lots of different cocktails and one night they even made me a pimms! very british lol. The staff are great and always make you feel like nothing is to much trouble for them.

We went over for the cricket and while we were there the whole hotel was pretty much full with brits. Everyone i spoke to agreed that the hotel and staff were brilliant! .If you have booked to go here and are nervous by some of the negative reviews please dont be you will have an amazing time!

If the rumours are true and sandals are going to knock it all down and turn it into a beaches resort its a real shame. I love how authentic it feels, you really feel like your in the caribbean.
The only negative i have is the wifi, you have to pay extra for it and its hard to get onto and then really slow!
ive only been home two days and i want to go back!!!

Room Tip: we paid extra for a beach front room, well worth it! lovely big rooms with nice decor and great loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela A, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. At Grand Pineapple Resorts, we take pride in providing a friendly and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Grand Pineapple Antigua did just that!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.