We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, but not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love it, but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Just returned from the Pineapple. We had a great time and would definitely consider going back. The place is not for everyone. If you are looking for modern rooms with no character, this is not your place. The rooms need to be updated, but its Antigua who is spending time in the room? The food we food to be good. As previously mentioned head to Mary's Outhouse for one lunch, you will be glad you did. The beach was beautiful!. All of the water sports were included, snorkeling, sailing hobie cat, and wind surfing. I'm someone who snorkels quite a bit and the reef in front of the hotel was GREAT! The staff were very friendly and attentive. To sum up this is a great place for those who want life off the beaten path. Not the Ritz, or for those who need entertainment provided for them. This is a laid back make your own vacation in a piece of heaven.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Rooms need to be udpated
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    1,119
    387
    155
    115
See reviews for
587
1,514
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed here for two weeks from 11th Nov.

I don't understand they very poor reviews for this hotel.

Yes it is owned now by Sandals but no it isn't Sandals quality nor price!

We stayed in an Ocean View room (832) which was spacious, clean, good shower, bath, with fantastic view of the bay, not suitable for those with walking difficulties but you don't need to be a mountaineer to get there!

Beach is excellent, snorkelling ok from far end, watersports good with instruction.

Food was good, with the booking system it didn't get repetative, I do wonder where some reviewers ate so as to be so daming. The only issue we had was ,if we ate late in the buffet the choice was reduced.

Drinks were excellent, good choice of many branded spirits, watered down, I don't think so!

Gardens lovely and well kept.

Mary's outhouse, great views, good ribs and chicken, cold beer.

Staff, by and large very friendly and helpful, some not so but very much in the minority.

Overall exceeded our expectaitons and most people we met were of the same opinion.

Don't expect 5 star luxury for a 4 star price and I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Great beach.
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Our 4th. visit to antigua was a little disappointing.The hotel although ideally situated is "tired" and in need of refurbishment especially as it is now owned by Sandals. Room security was a joke, insecure doors and in room safes either pooly fixed or not fixed at all.Food average but a good selection of drinks, excellent beach and water sports and generally friendly staff, unlikely to visit this resort again until brought up to a standard in line with its rating.

  • Liked — the location and beach
  • Disliked — room security
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Grand Pineapple Beach Resort in Antigua. Although we were with friends and could have a good time with them regardless of the accommodations, I would not recommend this resort. Our room was pretty much just horrible. It was dark and small - we could barely move around with the bathroom door open. We had no amenities except for a hairdryer. No coffee pot, no ironing board - oh wait! There was a television set! There was a phone too but it wasn't hooked up. We did have two lamps - that was about it. The bedspread was tattered. The help did a good job of cleaning, I will say that. Our friends had perpetual problems with the plumbing but ours always seemed to work. I did overhear a couple staying in a room above us say that they were having issues with the plumbing also.

The help - - hard to explain it but if you met someone on the walk, they always spoke and were friendly. But the reception help and the waiters and waitresses were sometimes almost rude. I usually try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt but even though we tried to be polite, sometimes we got no response or a single word reply.

I particularly disliked the idea of having to "dress" every evening for dinner. I can understand this practice for the specialty restaurants and have no issue with that. And I don't mind being required to have a cover-up over swimwear and shirts on the men. I just don't think we should have to get dressed up to eat every night - we are on vacation, after all! If they are going to insist on "casual elegance," they should at least keep the snack bar open during the evenings so that you can opt out of having to get all fussied up.

Mary's Outhouse is a bright spot - the barbecue and cold beer were worth the walk. However, the second time we went, they forgot to deliver ice so the beer wasn't just warm, it was hot! I guess the warm beer is a European thing but I like my beer ice cold and it was not anywhere near cold much less ice cold at the bar.

We all thought it was a bit ironic too that the staff wouldn't do anything early - the meals were not opened up one minute earlier than advertised . . . but believe me, you had to wait on plenty. We had to make reservations each evening for dinner but half the time, they didn't have us down. So we waited.

Another thing to consider if you are thinking of choosing this resort is the proximity to anything and everything else. The beach is pretty good but there isn't much else around. We went to Shirley's Heights and it took at least half an hour each way; we went in to shop at St. John's and that took half an hour each way; we took a boat trip around the island and the trip to the harbour took more like 40-45 minutes each way. Keep that in mind if you like to get out and around and not just stay at the beach.

I guess you get what you pay for but I have stayed at other resorts for about the same money and have had much nicer accommodations. Looking at the others' pictures, I would guess that we were in the "cheaper" rooms but they weren't THAT cheap! The entire resort is in dire need of some updating and improving. Some of the staff were friendly but some were just plain unfriendly. And pretty hung up on the "rules."

I think it's safe to say that I probably won't return to Antigua - - too many more islands to visit! If I do, I can guarantee you that I won't go back to the Grand Pineapple.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steeton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

After reading all the varing reports on the hotel we were not sure what to expect ,but it was exciting thinking about them all! Well most are very true it does need renovating ,there are birds at breakfast , the bedrooms are plain but the food, the drink ,the beach and most of all the staff are super.
If you want five star pay for it but if you want fun ,relaxation and a great time go and let it all flow over you ,take a little time to get used to it and you will have a great holiday.
Yes the moaners come and go , yes you never know what to expect at dinner time or indeed which reataurants are open they were all for our visit they just did not say! or indeed what menu was going on in each one. The main restaurant was great buffet one night and a la carte another!
Remember this is a small hotel but it does mean that guests talk to each other also that it is not a Sandals even though they brought it two years ago.It will close at sometime and be Sandalised and open two years later but go now if you want a holiday to enjoy.
Beware there are sand flies and mosquitos and they do bite some people.
If you want a great trip around the island ask Joanne ( she cooks the great breakfast eggs ) her son has a large taxi and it will cost you a fraction of the organised trips and be personalised for you .
Lastly dont be surprised if the water goes off the main tank burst while we were there but was repaired in four hours . Also towel supply can fluctuate from loads to zero.A few dollars spread thinly oils all the wheels and gets you good service everywhere. Failing that try please and thank you works a treat!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My husband Mark and I just got back from the Grand Pinapple Beach Resort. We had an absolutely wonderful time.

The breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of fruit, omelet bar, pasties, juice etc. For lunch you could go to the buffet restaurant, to Mary’s Outhouse for Ribs and Bottled beer or to the snack bar. The snack bar had excellent fish and chips, chicken fingers, ice cream, pizza etc.

Suppers were amazing as well. There were two buffet theme nights. The rest of the nights we had al le carte meals at one of the three restaurants. There were always chicken, fish, pasta and vegetarian choices. I recommend the soups as they were always tasty. The staff were very friendly and attentive and made sure your glass of whatever you were drinking was always filled.

We did the Circumnavigation Tour thru our Travel Guide at Air Canada Vacations at $95 US per person. This all day boat cruise was lots of fun. Snorkeling off the boat wasn’t the greatest, but we did see some fish. Lunch was fish or chicken. The private area that we swam at was beautiful. The boat took us thru English Harbor and around the whole island. We got lots of great pictures.

We also walked from the hotel to Devil’s Bridge which took about 35 minutes. We walked back thru the Verada Hotel so that took lots of time off the walk back. I would recommend seeing this naturally occurring rock bridge across the ocean.

One of the mornings from 9-12 we took at shuttle bus from the hotel into St. John’s at a cost of $15 per person round trip. There is a market with lots of T-shirts, hats, island jellery etc. There are lots of higher end jellery stores and clothing stores. It was worth spending the morning there.

The beach and pools were great. There was a quiet 18-plus deeper pool that you could do laps in. There were always lounge chairs available at the two pools and on the beach. The beach was about 700 meters from one end to the other with beautiful sand. The ocean water was very warm and we had a great time swimming in the ocean.

The hotels rooms are standard. The hotel looks slightly dated but the staff makes up for that. The hotel is small and had a good layout making getting around very easy.

The evening entertainment starting every night at 900ish. There was a karoke night, a night with a band and fire dancers, a piano player, etc. There is a disco that started at 1100 but we never stayed up late enough to attend. We heard no one went. The hotel is more low key so it is not a happening night spot. If you are wanting all night dance parties like Cancun this is not the place to go. We however loved the relaxed atmosphere and had a most excellent vacation.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We have just returned from a virgin all inclusive holiday at the grand pineapple, and had an absolutely fantastic time. It was just what we were looking for. An utterly idyllic location, gorgous beach, good snorkelling, if you're willing to swim out far enough, and a resort very much in a local style.

I feel this is the kind of place you either love or hate, and I met lots of people who fitted into one of the 2 camps, If you're looking for a total escape, with a laid back atmosphere, then this is for you. If however you're looking for an immacculate resort, with lots of entertainment, you'll be sorely disappointed.

I guess if I work my way through each aspect of the resort you can read what you're most interested in and ignore the bits you're not.

ROOMS - are a little shabby around the edges, but clean and totally functional, and to us added to the charm of the place. We were upgraded on arrival (for no obvious reason but low occupancy) and had an ocean view room, and these are quite definately worth the extra cost as are twice the size of all the other rooms in the resort (even the highest cost upgrade rooms - beach fronts), and have magnificant views, but do require a little walk up hill to access them.

FOOD - generally good and varied - the pineapple grill is very variable in the service given - totally depends how busy it is, and only has the one menu, but we liked it there most, though it's not open every day. The Topaz serves a good breakfast and lunch buffet and in the evening is sometime buffet and sometimes al a carte, it's best al a carte, as buffet seems very repeatative of an evening. The pelican snack bar serves burger and chips etc all afternoon and re-opens late night and is pretty good. The best food is at Mary's Outhouse which only opens for lunch and is up the hill behind the ocean view blocks. It is incredibly charming, has fantastic views, and serves amazingly good ribs and chicken off the BBQ, and little else. Well worth a the walk and what you don;t eat you can throw to the mongeese you hang out in the ungrowth near by.

STAFF - Almost all of the waiting staff are incredibly friendly and if you are relaxed and friendly you get incredibly attentive service. Everyone was incredibly friendly and welcoming and tried to do all they could for you, or suggest ways to over come any issues you might have ( e.g. one couple were a little too infirm to go on the tours but wanted to see the island, so one of the catering staff offered to hook them up with her son to take them around the island and show them the main sights.) Though there were 2 points within the resort where staff were obviously over worked (just too much for one person to do it all)- these being the pelican snack bar, and seating staff in the topaz and these 2 members of staff were invariably the one who were at times less than perfect in the manner - though as I say they were over worked so it was totally understandable.

ENTERTAINMENT - Excursions are very expensive, and there is not a lot going on either by night or day (if you have children you, you need to be wanting to enjoy your time together, rather than expecting a 'kids club' to be babysitting for you). That said there are watersports available to try as much as you like (with limited instruction), some activities pool side each day, lots of games to borrow from the activities centre, some form of entertainment each night, and the TV in room has lots of movie channels.

Excursions wise we went:
- shopping to St John, it's small and little more there than you can get in the huts nexts to the resort and pretty much the same cost - duty free are cheaper and there far more options here than at the airport - but you have to take your passport or a colour photo copy with you. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip though some people weren't keen due to the hassle from sellers in the markets - they are no cheaper than the shops, so just don't go near the stalls is my advice, unless of course you like haggling and people trying to sell you hideous tat your not even vaguely interested in.

- Eco-island safari, which incluudes a tour of the south of the island off road in jeeps- lovely to see it all, kayaking in the mangroves - interesting but not nearly long enough, and lunch and snorkelling at bird island - fantastic, but not nearly long enough snorkelling, if we'd did had time did have gone back on the trip to just bird island as this truely was the best snorkelling to be had on the island.

- Circumnavigation of antigua on the excellence - catamaran trip right around the island stopping for 3 hours mid way on green island for lunch and snorkelling. Great to see the island like this and a really enjoyable day, but not much to see snorkelling, mainly due to the sheer numbers going to the same place, but staff were very unimpressed by my swimming off from the group, and still there wasn't much to see.

GUESTS - Mainly the guests at the hotel were older (retired) or getting married/on honeymoon, and there were very few children. Most people seemed to be English or American, though there were a few other nationalities. Due to the friendly atmosphere generated by the staff, everyone was very chatty and friendly, especially when the hotel was quieter at the beginning of our stay. It was ever so saddening towards the end of our stay the lack of respect some guests showed by failing to clear away the cups etc, accumulated during the course of a day around their loungers, but there were staff cleaning around the pool and beach area constantly.

Finally I would recommend using virgin holidays for this trip as there service was great, including lounge at gatwick, transfers to and from the hotel, reduced price excursions, and check-in to the return flight from the hotel so time at Antigua airport was minimal (truely a bonus).

  • Liked — Relaxed, atmospheric, scenic, snorkelling (out to the red bouys and take a right)
  • Disliked — Other guests leaving mess on the beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.