We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place - if you go with sensible expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leamington Spa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic place - if you go with sensible expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Although a Beach Front Room was actually booked and paid for, on arrival we were allocated a Tropical Waterfront Room instead.

Room was spacious, with a private balcony, located on the ocean edge and within a few metres of the main bar, pool, restaurants etc. recently refurbished, air con and a fridge. Excellent room.
Resort itself was fantastic, good food options with multiple restaurants, snack bar etc.

The beach is actually a public beach, however the resort is private (and has security guards protecting access to the resort from the beach). This does mean vendors can access the beach and will approach you, they are not too pushy and usually happily accept a polite "no thanks".

Despite what is posted on Trip Advisor etc. I personally would NOT book trips etc. through beach vendors such as (the seemingly famous) "marvellous Marvin". Firstly it is difficult to know if they are licensed/INSURED for these trips, secondly the resort appears to have dedicated taxi drivers etc. so you are really taking business from them rather than the resort. We met a couple who were on the their 5th/6th visit, and went with them to "Shirley's Heights" on the Sunday night for the sunset party. The taxi driver "Bos" was excellent, took us via Nelson's Dockyard and waited an hour or so, then took us up to a view point where you could see Eric Clapton's house, then up to the Heights for the night. All in all he was with us and driving us around for 7 hours - cost us $20 (US) per person, and a couple of cans of coke. We used the same driver for a trip to St. John's and our return trip to the airport.

Breakfast was fantastic (re: all the "birds" comments - yes they fly around, people do discourage with sticks, ultimately though a big resort has been dumped in their habitat - get over it!!!), lunch at Mary's and/or the snackbar was our usual choice as we didn't need a buffet lunch as well and were both really good.

Dinner in the buffet was perfectly nice with a decent enough variety, Chef Pietro was nice for a bit of variety as well, nice to mix it up.

Pineapple Grill was disappointing on our first visit as they had no steak, and the Italian sausage for the mixed grill was also out - when you only have 4 or 5 choices for main this makes things a little difficult! The service was excellent though and Jason was extremely attentive and eager to please. He did keep calling me "Mr Nigel" (rather than Neil) but I found it quite amusing and couldn't bring myself to correct him!

Our second visit to Pineapple Grill was better, all food options were available, unfortunately we got our order in after the table for 8 did so had a long wait for our mains (nearly an hour!)

The reality is, that as you're not paying extra for it, it is fine and makes a nice change from buffet etc. but if you were paying for it in the UK or elsewhere as an al a carte you would probably not be overly impressed.

Drinks were good and obviously free flowing, all bar staff speedy and attentive, occasionally you might be at the bar with a few people at the same time but they take orders from 3 people at a time and still get it right!

Remember - you are it the Caribbean on holiday, relax and chill out, don't stress about waiting 2 or 3 minutes for a drink!

All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the pool was lovely, beach beautiful, everything fantastic. Laid back atmosphere with generally lovely people, not a five star resort but a great price and offers all you could want. I fear that you would pay a lot more just for the finer details and potentially be met with a much more pretentious set up if you did!

In short, as long as you are travelling here knowing what to expect - a good standard, lovely people, fantastic beach and all the facilities you need, then you will be happy. If you go expecting 5* Sandals, you'll probably be unimpressed. This place has a real rustic charm to it, well worth a visit!

A quick note for those considering getting married here - we saw at least 3 or 4 weddings in the week we were here, there may have been even more. The one thing I would say is that whilst the resort etc. is absolutely lovely, any wedding will NOT come with much privacy at all. The wedding gazebo on the hill overlooking the resort and the sea is lovely, however it is on the path to "Mary's Outhouse" and this path is NOT closed during a wedding! A sign is placed to say a wedding is happening but nothing to stop inconsiderate people walking through if they want to! Additionally photos then taken in the gardens/beach etc. are not private areas so you can and will have people standing and staring, walking through the background etc.

All in all an extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay - we would definitely go back if there wasn't so much of the world left to see!

Having paid twice as much to visit the Maldives the past, the standard, service and location are pretty much the same!

p.s. look out for Bill's plaque on the main bar area, he was there when we were and is a top man! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. We always want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay with us and I'm glad you had such a fantastic time visiting our resort. We appreciate your feedback, I will be sure to send it to our general manager and staff. We hope to see you both in a near future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    1,090
    382
    153
    113
See reviews for
567
1,471
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good value for money holiday when you take advantage of the virtual half price offers for later in the year. Great beach, but as it's on the Atlantic coast the waves can often be challenging, (no life guards). Watersports consist of two Hobie "cats" and two kayaks. Well equipped small gym at the very top of the complex, quite a climb! Staff well motivated and helpful. Hygiene problems in the open dining room due to the quantity of birds which attempt to share your food. Food rather repetitive, occasionally have to queue to get seated. Joanne at the breakfast egg station is a real star. Mary's Outhouse is a nice experience and a must visit, don't tread on the Mongooses. Well cleaned room, basic but OK. Very effective air conditioning unit. 19th century fuzzy TV set. Excellent easy to use decent sized safe in our beach side room. Internet access costs $15US per hour, no it's not free like most other places! Hotel checking in procedure is antiquated and keeps you in a non air conditioned room for far too long after a days travelling. New general manager is out and about the place every day and most approachable, I'm sure he'll make a difference. Location is remote, about half an hour from the airport over typical Caribbean roads. Insect gassing takes place at dusk so keep doors and shutters firmly closed, you'll hear him coming. Public garden areas are well kept and attractive. Photo shop is very expensive, $42US for 6 photo's! Always plenty of beach sun beds available, no need for early morning towel reservations. A good shaded area also.
Bar hygiene needs attention, plastic glasses get a cursory rinse only, suggest disposable ones would be more acceptable, bar staff good, quick and friendly.
Lots of good things at this place but needs tweaking a bit in places especially as they are attempting to attract more visitors from the USA.

Room Tip: Choose a beach side room with evening sun or ocean view room with morning sun, many of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Grand Pineapple. Had excellent views across the sea from our room. The whole of the hotel was very clean, our bedroom was large, with a very comfortable bed. The service we received from all the staff was always first class. The food in the restaurants was always varied and plentiful and the drinks and cocktails in the bar were amazing. We can recommend the trip round the island on the catamaran, we also went swimming with stingrays, another amazing experience. The beach by the hotel is fabulous just like a picture postcard.
Would definitely love to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went to the grand pineapple in March 2012 and decided to return this November. We were not disappointed, it was just as lovely as our last visit. Fabulous ocean view room again, which we could see the whole beach. Plenty of fabulous food, great eggs for breakfast from Winsome and Barbara, who remembered my vegetarian husband. Mary's chicken and RIbs were great, but was nice to just sit up there with a beer. Booked several times at the pineapple grill with some lovely friends we met. Even tried the disco on the only night we managed to stay awake after 11 pm and stayed til 1 am! 2 great Sundays at Shirley heights, thanks to Garth on the beach, who organised our cab with Pat, who also took us to St Johns one day. We booked all our trips with Wesley last year, who turned up on our first day again, but we decided that this year was all about getting some sun and relaxing in November,ready for our winter months. Loved it again so much that we have booked again ( with friends we met out there) for November 2015 . You cannot fault the staff on this site as they are all so lovely and helpful and will do anything they can to make your stay the best. We were lucky to share the new assistant manager, Donovan's first day at the managers garden party, I think he will certainly liven things up, as he has a great sense of fun. Ignore the bad reviews on this site and go and see it for yourselves, in our eyes the grand pineapple is as rustic, real caribbean you can get, with it's own beach and extremely friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are fit, go for the ocean view rooms, they seem to be the biggest with great views, but are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a fabulous holiday with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations the second time around and to hear that you will be coming back for a third time on November 2015! Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate it.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent a nice 2 weeks in November at the GP, almost all the guests were fellow Brits which was nice to make new friends.
The location is lovely, right on the beach, pure white sand, but not very far to walk either way with cliffs both sides, but out of the hotel, turn right, pass the Verandah Hotel, turn left to Devils Bridge, about 35 mins, stunning coastline.
On the right side of the beach there is some great safe snorkelling to be had and very clear water, lots of fish.
A trip which is a must do, Stingray City, safe fast boat trip is good fun, the Stingrays are so tame and no risk whatsoever,Marvelous Marvin will no doubt offer his services, he's one of the vendors on the beach.
Our beachfront room 117 was in a lovely location, 5m from a sunbed, 30m from the Aqua Bar, pure bliss. Air Con was really good, plus a ceiling fan, so, nice and cool, bed was big and comfy, telly ok, as was the bathroom, but the bath needed replacing, wardrobe door fell off twice, and no wall pictures as were in other rooms, towels were plentiful and lovely and fresh.
Sunbeds are plentifull, bit dated and saggy though, but easy to drink a beer in comfort, lots of shade from either the umbrella's of palm trees.
Dining room seems short of tables when the hotel is nearing capacity so expect a short wait to be seated when busy. Food quality is very good, breakfast is spot on, dinner service can vary especially when busy, I would have thought more guests mean more staff required, simple really. Birds are no problem, we are their guests, just cover your table or don't leave food or drink unattended.
Entertainment was good but nowhere near enough seating to watch it, we never had a seat once in the 2 weeks.
Bars are a bit of a problem, the barmen do their best with amazing speed especially Allie and Eddie, but only 1 bar in the evening is a problem, they are rushed off their feet, hence the beer quality can vary from great to undrinkable most likely cause is glasses are not dried, but all other drinks were great, the wine was of very good quality.
Pineapple grill was excellent, super service and food served to the highest standard, had 2 meals there, really nice evenings.
Mary's Outhouse did nothing for us, a bit like sitting in a garden shed, but a cold beer or two was nice, wit views to die for, well worth the walk.
Worth taking Mosquito spray and after bite, you don't see the blighters, but they see you, leaving you scratching little bites in the morning.
The staff here are all friendly, extremely hard working, from gardeners to cleaners, any problems just tell them, they do their best to sort any issues, reception being the exception, we had to vacate our room at 11am, when the pick up for our return flight was 3.45pm, no courtesy room was offered, very strange.

Room Tip: Some Beachfront rooms have been updated, worth the extra money, lower garden view would be an altern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. It seems you had a great time at the resort. We appreciate all of your feedback, it's always very important to know what our guests think.We hope to welcome you back soon.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 night stay at the Grand Pineapple resort and we had a wonderful time and we will not hesitate to go back.
The first thing you will notice about the Grand Pineapple are the staff; everyone of them has a smile on their face and they all can't do enough to make it a fantastic holiday. .
I would like to make a special thank you to Donavan and Barbara who went out of their way to sort out my wife's dietary needs; Joanna also needs a thumbs up for her help with the food. All the Bar staff and waiters / waitresses work incredibly hard and I will mention a few Felicia, Lorina, Eddie and Cato on the bar.
There are plenty of sunbeds on the beautiful beach and you don't to get up early to get one.
The hotel also has a waters ports team who provide sailing lessons wind surfing lessons, you can loan snorkels and fins a big respect to Bobby and Bjorn.
I have read some negative things about this Hotel and in my opinion they are totally unjustified.
we booked a trip on the beach to Shirley Heights on the Sunday night (not to be missed); we used Pat Taxi (taxi number1297) nice new vehicle and a really great guy
His number is 268-785-7943; we even got him to do our airport transfer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach front room so we had a fantastic view. The room was quite big and even had a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. It's great to know that you had such a wonderful time at the resort and I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you both again in a near future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wonderful holiday, beautiful location. Our room was clean and spacious with great views. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you, particularly the lovely Barbara who went out of her way to help make our stay a happy one. The food was more than adequate with plenty of choice and every effort was made to vary the dining experience. I would definitely go back and if you are going....lucky you! :-)

Room Tip: Ocean view - but really the place is beautiful, although I did hear that some of the rooms were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.