We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff here take some beating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Save Saved
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Pineapple Sale!
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in St. John's
hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Staff here take some beating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent a nice 2 weeks in November at the GP, almost all the guests were fellow Brits which was nice to make new friends.
The location is lovely, right on the beach, pure white sand, but not very far to walk either way with cliffs both sides, but out of the hotel, turn right, pass the Verandah Hotel, turn left to Devils Bridge, about 35 mins, stunning coastline.
On the right side of the beach there is some great safe snorkelling to be had and very clear water, lots of fish.
A trip which is a must do, Stingray City, safe fast boat trip is good fun, the Stingrays are so tame and no risk whatsoever,Marvelous Marvin will no doubt offer his services, he's one of the vendors on the beach.
Our beachfront room 117 was in a lovely location, 5m from a sunbed, 30m from the Aqua Bar, pure bliss. Air Con was really good, plus a ceiling fan, so, nice and cool, bed was big and comfy, telly ok, as was the bathroom, but the bath needed replacing, wardrobe door fell off twice, and no wall pictures as were in other rooms, towels were plentiful and lovely and fresh.
Sunbeds are plentifull, bit dated and saggy though, but easy to drink a beer in comfort, lots of shade from either the umbrella's of palm trees.
Dining room seems short of tables when the hotel is nearing capacity so expect a short wait to be seated when busy. Food quality is very good, breakfast is spot on, dinner service can vary especially when busy, I would have thought more guests mean more staff required, simple really. Birds are no problem, we are their guests, just cover your table or don't leave food or drink unattended.
Entertainment was good but nowhere near enough seating to watch it, we never had a seat once in the 2 weeks.
Bars are a bit of a problem, the barmen do their best with amazing speed especially Allie and Eddie, but only 1 bar in the evening is a problem, they are rushed off their feet, hence the beer quality can vary from great to undrinkable most likely cause is glasses are not dried, but all other drinks were great, the wine was of very good quality.
Pineapple grill was excellent, super service and food served to the highest standard, had 2 meals there, really nice evenings.
Mary's Outhouse did nothing for us, a bit like sitting in a garden shed, but a cold beer or two was nice, wit views to die for, well worth the walk.
Worth taking Mosquito spray and after bite, you don't see the blighters, but they see you, leaving you scratching little bites in the morning.
The staff here are all friendly, extremely hard working, from gardeners to cleaners, any problems just tell them, they do their best to sort any issues, reception being the exception, we had to vacate our room at 11am, when the pick up for our return flight was 3.45pm, no courtesy room was offered, very strange.

Room Tip: Some Beachfront rooms have been updated, worth the extra money, lower garden view would be an altern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. It seems you had a great time at the resort. We appreciate all of your feedback, it's always very important to know what our guests think.We hope to welcome you back soon.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    907
    998
    343
    140
    104
See reviews for
489
1316
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 night stay at the Grand Pineapple resort and we had a wonderful time and we will not hesitate to go back.
The first thing you will notice about the Grand Pineapple are the staff; everyone of them has a smile on their face and they all can't do enough to make it a fantastic holiday. .
I would like to make a special thank you to Donavan and Barbara who went out of their way to sort out my wife's dietary needs; Joanna also needs a thumbs up for her help with the food. All the Bar staff and waiters / waitresses work incredibly hard and I will mention a few Felicia, Lorina, Eddie and Cato on the bar.
There are plenty of sunbeds on the beautiful beach and you don't to get up early to get one.
The hotel also has a waters ports team who provide sailing lessons wind surfing lessons, you can loan snorkels and fins a big respect to Bobby and Bjorn.
I have read some negative things about this Hotel and in my opinion they are totally unjustified.
we booked a trip on the beach to Shirley Heights on the Sunday night (not to be missed); we used Pat Taxi (taxi number1297) nice new vehicle and a really great guy
His number is 268-785-7943; we even got him to do our airport transfer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach front room so we had a fantastic view. The room was quite big and even had a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. It's great to know that you had such a wonderful time at the resort and I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you both again in a near future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wonderful holiday, beautiful location. Our room was clean and spacious with great views. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you, particularly the lovely Barbara who went out of her way to help make our stay a happy one. The food was more than adequate with plenty of choice and every effort was made to vary the dining experience. I would definitely go back and if you are going....lucky you! :-)

Room Tip: Ocean view - but really the place is beautiful, although I did hear that some of the rooms were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had seen and questioned poor reviews prior to leaving for Antigua and did check them out with the hotel and travel agent and were assured that any problems we experience would be taken on board and sorted and if not to mention them when we were there.

We arrived in torrential rain and were worried that this would be there for the remainder of our holiday. However, having arrived and welcomed with a drink and cold flannel we went to our rooms which were on the beach and were very pleased with what we had been allocated. Rooms were cleaned and fresh towels provided daily. The weather after our arrival was mostly dry apart from one quick daily shower and several overnight ones. The staff were excellent and very concerned when one of the party hurt a shoulder and provided a sling etc. Food was varied, hot and plentiful and we couldn't find fault at all. Entertainment was varied and more than adequate and after poor reviews we experienced some brilliant shows which we could not understand why the reviews had happened. Usually we are so tired that we don't even survive for the entertainment.

The cocktails are wonderful and the pina colada to die for.

We used the services of a taxi driver recommended called 'Daniel' and everyone knows him. He escorted us on a part day trip around the island where we wanted to go and then to Shirley Heights. This is worth visiting in the daylight as it is breathtaking and we did find the Sunday evening trip to be very busy and although the music was excellent we found there was too many people there and mosquitoes!!

We experienced no bad tummies, no sunstroke or anything else other than some individuals swimming too far and having a bad back overnight!

Will we return - we would definitely as the resort is lovely and the beach amazing. All the staff are so friendly and all the beach sellers are honest and friendly. However, Antigua is so stunning that it would be lovely to go to another beach as we didn't want to explore the other 364 beaches as Long Beach is so lovely - you can wander along to the other end where the water is shallow and so calm and stand in the waters watching the fish and snorkelling.

A big 'thank you ' to Barbara and her staff who looked after us and I received several calls during our stay to ensure everything was ok for us - more than ok I would say after such differing reviews. It isn't deluxe but value for money it was excellent.

Room Tip: The room was perfect for us as was on the beach but others moved to an Ocean View room which was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at Grand Pineapple Antigua and that our staff took excellent care of you! We take great pride in providing the best Caribbean experience to our guest. Our beach is one of a kind and it's great to know how much you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

my wife and I love this place may again 2014 this will be our 4th return, recommend the beach waterfront apartment's right on the beach, accommodation is great the food well plenty of choices, pineapple grill/ Marys for lunch main restaurant, the bar plenty of cocktail choices and all international brand drinks, great staff eve entertainment could do with a fresh makeover. The weather is good in may /June trips I recommend the following circumnavigation around the island, also inland safari and if you can afford it monserat in the helicopter that was an experience never to miss my wife doesn't like flying at the best of times but she loved it and the views are fantastic, The first time my wife and I went to grand pineapple Antigua we stepped out of our beach waterfront room for the first time back in 2006 stood on the beach and it was like stepping into a picture postcard didn't seem real but there we where and looking forward for our next return may next year Doug n Wendy (W)

Room Tip: our preference is as always beach waterfront room, but its up to your budget all rooms have a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Doug and Wendy!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua!
Those pictures of your previous trip were simply gorgeous!
We cannot wait to make even more lovely memories with you!
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The rooms are nice and very clean although as already mentioned, lack of a fridge is a major drawback. We called reception and requested one but it never arrived and our request was never followed up on. We were only staying for a week so didn't let it upset us.
The beach was outstanding, plenty of beds and security always on patrol.
The breakfast was very nice and anyone that complains about the birds being a problem should be ignored. Before I traveled, my understanding was that keeping birds off my table was a serious issue and that my health was going to be at risk as a result. This couldn't be further from the truth. There are 2 hotel employees walking around making sure birds are kept clear and even when they do miss a bird or two, they never go near a table with a person sitting at it so it really is nothing to worry about.
The pineapple grill was very nice but having the same menu every night its open is a bit much, some variety would increase its quality ten fold.

Room Tip: Ocean view all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, Darren.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua! The island is indeed beautiful and the staff at the resort will do anything possible to make sure you have the best stay ever! We appreciate all of your feedback and will be sending your suggestions to our resort management team.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A great resort beach is fab and the staff do all they can to make your holiday a good experience Am fed up with people trashing this resort - it is not 5 star but for what you pay it is very good If you want 5 star go somewhere else This was our 4th visit and we will be returning next year in November

Room Tip: Ocean view with a sea view are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are so excited to hear that you had an amazing time at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua!
It's wonderful to hear that on each visit, you have always thoroughly enjoyed the resort, the gorgeous surroundings and our friendly staff!
We look forward to welcoming you back next year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.